JAAshwell
Member Since 2015
Greetings,
Two major changes this week and I need advice. One, the dry food is gone, gone and Emmy's BG has been in the greens and blues all week (well, except on a fur shot)
Two: My vet has apparently forsaken me. It was the Roomp-Rand paper that did her in. She gave me a "simplified" rule to follow as well as telling me I didn't need to check Emmy's BG during the day or even at shot time since "she is doing so well":
ALL AT SHOT TIME:
60 or less - OK to skip injection
60-80 - reduce by 1 unit
80-100 - reduce by .5 unit
100 or higher - give regular dose (2.5u)
Obviously, this doesn't address adjusting by the lowest number, etc. So let's forget that advice. I will be checking her BG often and at shot time. Sheesh.
Emmy's BG at pre-shot tonight is 85. I'm using ALPHATRAK. I gave her some food and will check again at 9 pm. Emmy's BG has dropped so much this week that I feel like I can't keep up with dose changes. She has gone from 3.5u to 2u this morning which has her at 85 tonight. I can monitor through about midnight.
1) what should her "regular" dose be right now?
2) should I reduce tonight's dose and if so, to what?
I will give her 1.5u at 9 if she looks okay. I know you folks shoot much lower than 85 but I can't monitor all night and am worried that she's at 85 +12.
We thank you!
Judy&Emmy
Two major changes this week and I need advice. One, the dry food is gone, gone and Emmy's BG has been in the greens and blues all week (well, except on a fur shot)
Two: My vet has apparently forsaken me. It was the Roomp-Rand paper that did her in. She gave me a "simplified" rule to follow as well as telling me I didn't need to check Emmy's BG during the day or even at shot time since "she is doing so well":
ALL AT SHOT TIME:
60 or less - OK to skip injection
60-80 - reduce by 1 unit
80-100 - reduce by .5 unit
100 or higher - give regular dose (2.5u)
Obviously, this doesn't address adjusting by the lowest number, etc. So let's forget that advice. I will be checking her BG often and at shot time. Sheesh.
Emmy's BG at pre-shot tonight is 85. I'm using ALPHATRAK. I gave her some food and will check again at 9 pm. Emmy's BG has dropped so much this week that I feel like I can't keep up with dose changes. She has gone from 3.5u to 2u this morning which has her at 85 tonight. I can monitor through about midnight.
1) what should her "regular" dose be right now?
2) should I reduce tonight's dose and if so, to what?
I will give her 1.5u at 9 if she looks okay. I know you folks shoot much lower than 85 but I can't monitor all night and am worried that she's at 85 +12.
We thank you!
Judy&Emmy
