3/31 Eddie AMPS 177, PMPS 224, +4/243

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Very Active Member
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=116353

Phew! That was a long night. And rounding out this AM...

+10.5 = 66
+11.5 = 88
+12.5 = 111
AMPS/+13 = 177 (1.0u - BCS)
+3 = 230
+9 = 243
PMPS/+9.5 (2.2u)
+2 = 252
+4 = 243
+5.5 = 206

Initially, with the 111 at +12.5 (which is cutting it fairly close to my leave for work time), I was going to skip, so I fed half of breakfast. I tested again on my way out the door, and Eddie was up to 177, which is probably at least in part due to food. But, since Eddie was rising before the food, I did decide to go ahead and give a 1.0u BCS dose. I will be curious to see what if any effect a BCS has. I haven't had much luck in the past with that, but then again, I suppose some insulin is better than none for the day.

Couple questions:

I fed MC (16%) or HC (21%) several times last night and it barely seemed to nudge Eddie up. Until the last two times he's dived, the one previous time Eddie hit the 30's a few weeks back, one teaspoon of HC brought him right up. When he dipped just below 50 a few weeks ago, a tiny bit of MC would do the trick. I suspect that as much MC or HC as Eddie got last night would blast many kitties right through the roof. I did give him the equivalent of a drop of Karo at one point, which did finally bring him a smidge above 50.

So, I'm trying to figure out 1) why the MC/HC wasn't doing much, and 2) what to do about it in the future. Here's my thoughts on why the MC/HC wasn't doing much to bring him up. Assuming that I got too much overlap on the PM cycle, and that the dose needs to go down for pre-shots in that range, was the HC/MC I was feeding simply not enough to counteract the exogenous insulin at work? OR do green numbers somehow stimulate his pancreas into action, so his pancreas is doing what it's supposed to do, and pulls down whatever carbs I'm putting into him. I'm a little suspicious of this for two reasons - first, if the exogenous insulin was way too much, wouldn't that typically drop him at which point he'd blast back up and bounce? That's what he used to do. But instead, he's sitting there surfing, and surfing, and surfing, albiet in the 40's. nailbite_smile The other interesting thing is that the tiny drop of Karo did finally bring him up just a little bit -- something that the HC was not accomplishing. Am I correct in assuming that HC and Karo work in two slightly different ways to raise BG?

So the next question is, what can I do to tweak how we're handling low numbers? Eddie has no symptoms surfing in the 40's but it sure makes mamabean nervous. I'd much rather he surf a little bit higher. Should I feed more of the HC/MC at a time? I'm giving approximately one teaspoon at a time, but it didn't seem to do much this last cycle. I'm wary of feeding too much at a time in case I have to keep feeding for hours like I did last night. Eddie will never turn his nose up at food, but I don't want him to puke from all the carb-laden foods. Should I try Karo rather than HC/MC if I'm trying to get him up - how do carbs versus Karo differ in how they work (if at all?) Finally, if Eddie's pancreas is in fact kicking in and doing it's thing with all the carbs I'm feeding, I imagine all those carbs give it quite the workout. Should I consider sticking with the LC to tax his pancreas less? Is it possible that Eddie's one of those daredevils that wants to surf in those numbers that make mama bean nervous? nailbite_smile

Thanks for any input. I'm kind of curious to see if the BCS does anything today. I've had just a tiny nagging voice in the back of my head that keeps saying that maybe the crappy numbers that started after we went away for the weekend were due to bouncing, and rather than gradually going back up, maybe we should have gone down? I dunno.
 
Re: 3/31 Eddie AMPS 177 (BCS)

You ask great questions, wish I had the answer. Would be nice if someone that knows, would answer you. Personally, I've never read anything about it, but I think you could very well be onto something.

I have read that Kayo is more extreme, makes them spike and drop rapidly, so you are to only use it in emergencies, repeatedly, like on the way to the vet. Most recommend it being rubbed on the gums, if the cat is unable to eat in his condition. As long as they are able to eat, the MC/HC food is a better bet, lasts longer, too and not as extreme.

Hopefully someone with more knowledge will help you out.
 
Re: 3/31 Eddie AMPS 177 (BCS)

Thanks for responding Deb. I did post a question about "sputtering pancreas" on Health, and got some good info. I'm digging through the ProZinc archives studying what other people have done, patterns, etc.

I was hoping to be able to sneak home one more time today to check Eddie to see how he's doing with the BCS, but work is crazy today and I can't get away. DH should be home in about 15 mins or so to see where he's at.
 
Re: 3/31 Eddie AMPS 177 (BCS)

Yeah, I think there is a cat guardian angel that looks over the cats of single workers that can only test 2-3 times a day. Luckily you have DH to cover it. I can't imagine working with Lucian the way he is. :o Never knowing when he'll need his shot, no schedule. Crazy.

Maybe you can give me an idea of a dosing scale for him. I'm considering forcing the 12 hr issue, but have no clue what to dose.
 
Re: 3/31 Eddie AMPS 177 (BCS)

It's definitely nerve wracking, especially when you've got a kitty that's unpredictable. When we first started doing this I was convinced I was going to come home and find Eddie in a hypoglycemic coma. I've only come home to scary numbers once, but once is enough!

Lucian seems to have sort of a similar pattern to Eddie...nice cycle or two followed by a high flat (short) cycle or two. I used to just ride them out, but then started taking liberties in shooting earlier when he was sitting flat. I'll try to study Lucian's SS this evening to try to come up with some ideas on a sliding scale. :-D

Looks like the BCS this AM at least kept Eddie below renal threshold, so I'm not going to complain. At +9, he's at 243, so going to get settled in here and shoot, which will be fairly close to normal shot time.
 
Re: 3/31 Eddie AMPS 177 (BCS)

PMPS = 224 (2.2u)

Decided to split the scale for 200's into 2.2u on 200-250, and 2.4u on 250-300, so this is a hair lower than I've previously shot in the low 200's. EDDIE - NO DIVING TONIGHT PLEASE!
 
Re: 3/31 Eddie AMPS 177, PMPS 224

I'm not sure either, but think your idea of his pancreas contributing when his numbers drop, a definite possibility. Have you tried giving him a teaspoon or two of just the gravy, rather than the food? Wonder if that would bring him up some? Some people also mix a little Karo with the gravy.
 
Re: 3/31 Eddie AMPS 177, PMPS 224

Thanks for your response Sue and welcome back! I sure hope you enjoyed your time with your grandkids! :-D

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Have you tried giving him a teaspoon or two of just the gravy, rather than the food? Wonder if that would bring him up some? Some people also mix a little Karo with the gravy.

Yep, my newest HC and MC comes in pouches, so it's fairly easy to scoop out primarily the gravy. The equivalent of a drop of Karo did boost him up just a little, so if/when he dives again, I might see if a tiny bit of Karo might bring him up just a little higher. It's great that Eddie is surfing in the greens, but about 10-15 points higher would make mamabean sleep a little better! nailbite_smile I fed MC 4 times, and HC 5 times. You'd think that would be enough to shoot him to the moon! ;-)
 
Re: 3/31 Eddie AMPS 177, PMPS 224

Nice to be back in sunny Colorado. Seattle was having the wettest March in history so grandsons were great but rain was awful. I took the 4 and 9 year old to the Lion King. What fun!
 
Re: 3/31 Eddie AMPS 177, PMPS 224

Thanks Jen

Glad to see you back Sue, seems like you were gone FOREVER! @-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top