3/31 Bella AMPS 225, +3 229, +5.5 205, PMPS 118, stalled 15 mins 108. +2 333

Bellas_mom_2020

Member Since 2024
Hey everyone,

I posted on the board but could use some help please.

Well little miss Bella is definitely mixing it up these past few days and of course right before we are going away. She was having lots of greens and then last night had a huge bounce. Today numbers were much better and then she really threw me for a loop when her PMPS was 118. I reached out on the FB page because I needed an answer right away because it was time to feed her dinner and was advised to stall 15 mins, which I did and she was down to 108. I’m new to TR and still trying to learn. I know it’s advised to shoot the normal dose unless she’s under 50 but I wasn’t comfortable. First she refused the food we put out (she’s such a princess ;)) but then we switched and she ate but by time she did we were almost 30 mins past her normal shoot time and I didn’t want it to mess up tomorrow.

As I mentioned in previous posts we are traveling and my mom will be watching her. We will drop her off Tuesday night and be back Saturday late afternoon/early evening. We were going to give a “vacation dose” and I was advised to come here tomorrow to confirm. Tonight I made the decision to not give her insulin. I’m not ready to deal with a hypo and I worry 0.75 would have brought her to much. I’ve been up early, and not feeling great and can’t stay up late to monitor her. I feel like I’m failing her because her numbers have been so much better following the TR but as usual I let my crazy anxiety get in the way.
 
You're not failing her! You're doing your best and that's all any of us can do. Yes, it can be very scary to shoot those lower numbers, so do it gradually if it helps your anxiety.

Just pretend it was a furshot and start over in the morning! Put N.S. in the U column (means "no shot" and that you skipped it on purpose)

As for your upcoming trip, I'd suggest dropping her back to .5 for her vacation dose. One nice thing about that is that as long as you have syringes with half unit marks, it makes it easier for the petsitter (or whoever is shooting) when there's a line on the syringe.
 
You're not failing her! You're doing your best and that's all any of us can do. Yes, it can be very scary to shoot those lower numbers, so do it gradually if it helps your anxiety.

Just pretend it was a furshot and start over in the morning! Put N.S. in the U column (means "no shot" and that you skipped it on purpose)

As for your upcoming trip, I'd suggest dropping her back to .5 for her vacation dose. One nice thing about that is that as long as you have syringes with half unit marks, it makes it easier for the petsitter (or whoever is shooting) when there's a line on the syringe.

Aww thank you. I’m just trying my best that’s all we can do. When should I start the 0.5? We will be dropping her off Tuesday late afternoon (before her dinner and shot). It’s my mom and I wouldn’t trust many with Bella, but I trust her. She’s a little nervous but she’ll do great as long as Bella cooperates. She has her magnifying glass so she can see tge half markings.
 
OK...I'd start the 0.5 on Monday night....that should drain the depot enough since she's on a very small dose anyway.

Is mom going to text you Bella's numbers? (or is that something you had considered?)
 
OK...I'd start the 0.5 on Monday night....that should drain the depot enough since she's on a very small dose anyway.

Is mom going to text you Bella's numbers? (or is that something you had considered?)

Update on tonight’s situation…+2 is 333. Now I really feel horrible that I did the to her because of my own anxieties :(:(:(

So tomorrow morning 0.75 and then start the 0.5 at night ? Yes she will be telling me the numbers so I can keep the SS updated.
 
Update on tonight’s situation…+2 is 333. Now I really feel horrible that I did the to her because of my own anxieties

You could shoot now IF you can move her shot times over the next few cycles. You could shoot 15 minutes early per cycle OR 30 minutes early per day until you're back on your usual time.

So tomorrow morning 0.75 and then start the 0.5 at night ?

Yes, especially with her bounce to the 300's
 
Back
Top