3/30 Zoey PMPS 301, +3 238

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily and Baby

Member Since 2013
Good Morning LL!

Yesterday's Condo

Happy Caturday! Looks like Zoey might be coming down from his bounce from last night. Tested for ketones this morning and no sign of the trouble makers! I'm on a mission today to find a LC treat that Zoey will eat consistently after pokes as he is starting to HATE them. Poor ears! Also continuing my research on the cost of making my own food for the boys as it may be best for Zoe Bear.

It's going to be 10C (50F) today with more sunny skies! Very exciting; spring has arrived!!

Healing vines to all the fur friends and their beans that need them. Be well!
 
Re: 3/30 Zoey AMPS 266, +2 240, +3 189

Looking good, Zoey! It's nice to get back to the blues so quickly. :-D And fabulous on no ketones! :-D :-D :-D You did a great job to get on top of that, Emily. Happy Caturday!
Liz
 
Re: 3/30 Zoey AMPS 266, +2 240, +3 189

Zoey's reached the blues already today :) I have to leave for a few hours so I gave him about a tbsp of Friskies 6% carbs so he doesn't come down when I'm gone, I hope that's ok? I will be back in time to test for +6 but I have to go out and get supplies for the kitties!

Hope everyone's morning is going well!

Edit: Thanks Liz!! Paws crossed that they stay away! :-D
 
Re: 3/30 Zoey AMPS 266, +2 240, +3 189

Can you leave food out while you're gone? You won't know who ate it but at least it will be available.
Liz
 
Re: 3/30 Zoey AMPS 266, +2 240, +3 189

Ok, left some out some :) The gobblers might get it but I feel better doing that!! Thanks Liz :)
 
Re: 3/30 Zoey AMPS 266, +2 240, +3 189, +6.75 193

Every body got a little before I left so all were content! Back a little later than I had hoped, the roads are packed with people out shopping for Easter! It was as busy as Christmas Eve!! I couldn't believe it! Zoey's climbing again, little gaffer is going the wrong way!

Kitties got spoiled today! Got a few toys for them to play with and a thing for Zoey to rub his cheekies on, he loves that! Oh, and more catnip!

Hoping everyone is having a lovely day and healing vines out to those in need!
 
Re: 3/30 Zoey AMPS 266, +2 240, +3 189, +6.75 193, +9.5 265

Good evening :)

Zoey's up in the yellows again... I'm working on understanding the insulin depot. Is it likely that right now, since he's just started, he's filling up his depots? Is that how it might work? And the best course is to hold for 6 cycles (tonight would be our fifth cycle at 1.00 units) and then look at an increase/decrease based on the nadir and what is written in the protocol? Just trying to slowly get a handle on all of this, I think I tried to know too much too soon and got overwhelmed before!

Moral of the story, he's filling up his depots so stay the course? :?: Lol. Please correct me if I'm wrong! And thanks! :-D

EDIT: I am home for the next two days (Sunday and Monday) so if an increase is recommended tonight/tomorrow I am around full time to test if need be :smile:
 
Re: 3/30 Zoey PMBG 301, unsure when increase required?

So I am confused what warrants a dose increase? I think my question got lost a bit earlier because I didn't put the question mark on it lol. I'm not sure what I am doing, sorry for always questioning!!
 
Re: 3/30 Zoey PMBG 301, unsure when increase required?

Asking questions is good!!

It takes approx. 5 - 7 consecutive days of insulin for the depot to fill/stabilize in the beginning. If you change a dose, it takes roughly 3 days for the depot to stabilize. Zoey has had 6 shots with one skip. For now, I'd hold this dose for a bit longer.

What I suspect you're seeing is that Zoey is bouncing off of the blue numbers. That's normal. He's probably not used to being in normal numbers and as a result, when he gets there, his liver and pancreas "panic" when his numbers come down into a better range. When this happens, the liver and pancreas excrete a stored form of glucose (glucagon) and counterregulatory hormones which cause the numbers to spike upward. It can take roughly 3 days for the bounce to clear.
 
Re: 3/30 Zoey PMPS 301

Thank you Sienne! :-D That makes sense! We will stick with the 1.0 and get clear of the bounce :-D

Zoey had a great day! He was PLAYING with a new toy I got him! Zoey never, ever plays! He was even running and flipping to get a mouse on a stick that makes real mouse noises! I highly recommend this toy! Its called Play 'n Squeak Batting Practice and it clips on the back of a door; we put it on a chair at the table and all three cats were playing with it at once! And he loves his Cat It thing that he can rub his cheeks on! Plus I found some freeze dried treats he loves!

Hopefully exercise will help bring him out of the pinks! :-D

Thanks again for all the ongoing support you all give; it's amazing!!!
 
Re: 3/30 Zoey PMPS 301

Just barely stinky pinky! That is wonderful that he is playing. :-D :-D :-D Surely a sign that he feels good.
Liz
 
Re: 3/30 Zoey PMPS 301, +238

Zoey's landed back in the yellow! It looks much better on him than pink! Even 'fluffy' Gryffin is lovin' the mouse; maybe all the boys will shed some 'fluffs' with their new diets and activities! :razz:
 
Re: 3/30 Zoey PMPS 301, +238

Nice to see that yellow! :-D Maybe some blue tonight, Zoey? I think you forgot the "3" in the subject line. Lots of kitties lose weight just moving to the wet food.
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top