3/30 Sweetie AMPS=291 PMPS=262 +2=203 +4=179

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sweeties-Mom

Member Since 2013
Previous Condo

Sweetie managed to stay in the yellow for his AMPS today. Hopefully he'll get into blues or better before PMPS. He's been very good at using the LB lately - I think he must be feeling better in spite of all of the trampoline action! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/30 Sweetie AMPS=291 +4=279 Dose Help Please?

:? I'm confused at how Sweetie went from getting good numbers and starting reductions, to the flat yellow high numbers today and bounciness in general.

In reviewing the protocol and the SS for the past week, I think I made a mistake by taking the second reduction on 3/22pm just 3 cycles after the first on 3/21am. In the protocol sticky it says:

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

I was in such a hurry to get OTJ that I skipped over reading the part about reductions being close together :sad:
This by itself leads me to think I should go back up to 1.5u tonight. BUT, just to keep me confused, Sweetie did dip to 46 bg just 40 hours ago. I held off on taking that reduction since that was the only day he had any green in the past 6 days. But as Courtney pointed out, sometimes kitties at a dose that is too high for them will have "impressive bounces."

My question: do I move the dose up or down tonight :?: :?: :?: Seems like the current dose (16 cycles already) isn't working, but I don't know which direction to go.
 
Re: 3/30 Sweetie AMPS=291 +4=279 +8.3=284 Dose Help Please?

Hi Cathy

Regarding the two reductions on 3/21 and 3/22, we probably would have told you to do the same thing because he is newly dx. While the low numbers the night of 3/22 "could" have been the depot from the 1.5u dose, Sweetie got into the 40s the PM cycle of 3/28 and that was not depot from the 1.5u dose.
IMHO, that shows you that it was a good decision to reduce again on 3/22.

So...he got into the 40s the PM cycle of 3/28; you shot through the bounce the next morning which was a good decision. But then you should have reduced his dose to 1u last night. It looks to me like Sweetie is still bouncing from the 40s. It can take up to six cycles to clear a bounce. I've often observed that kitties seem to start to clear a bounce and then go back up for some reason. It could have to do with delayed release of counterregulatory hormones that drives the BG back up. I'd give him a few more cycles to see if he clears this. If after three more cycles, he doesn't come back into green, I'd take the dose back up.
 
Re: 3/30 Sweetie AMPS=291 +4=279 +8.3=284 Dose Help Please?

Thanks Marje! I assume when you say to hold him here another 3 cycles that I'm keeping him at 1.25 and not taking the reduction now, right? So for the future, if he earns a reduction and is high the next PS test I only shoot through the bounce once and reduce the next regardless of the next PS?
 
Re: 3/30 Sweetie AMPS=291 +4=279 +8.3=284

Hi! I'm just out & about passing out easter eggs and thought I'd stop in to say hello :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top