quilterkitty
Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo
Okay. I know this is NOT the protocol, and I know Star might pay for this a bit in the long run, but I'm running an experiment with him today. Don't be mad. :smile:
Star's AMPS was 57. Now, if that had been an out-of-the-blue number, I might have stalled feeding (really hard to do in the morning, as Star is practically eating the paint off the walls by then), retested in 20, etc. But he has been spending late nights in the 50's, and I have been wondering what would happen if I skipped a shot. This morning gave me an opportunity to test a theory. I did not shoot him. Checked him at +1 (after food): an expected rise, but only to 74. Checked again at +3 (I went back to bed and got up at +1 but missed the +2--these late nights and early mornings are really starting to wear me down): another expected rise, but only to 83. I'm trying to get Star to use some of that insulin in his depot, so when I shoot him tonight (a reduced dose of .25) MAYBE he won't drop so much at the PMPS+4 mark.
It seems like the past few days I've been in a cycle of giving Star insulin, watching him drop, and then using food combinations to bring up his numbers. I know this is just good food-insulin balance management, but I would like to see Star level out in the 70's or 80's rather than the 40's and 50's.
I realize the protocols and recommendations are there for a purpose, but as everyone says, every cat is different. So I'll keep posting the numbers today and tomorrow, when I should really see the effects of the skip, and next week, and we'll just see what happens. His dose is so tiny at this point that I expect a small change. Yes, I could be wrong, but unless I try it, how will I know?
Okay. I know this is NOT the protocol, and I know Star might pay for this a bit in the long run, but I'm running an experiment with him today. Don't be mad. :smile:
Star's AMPS was 57. Now, if that had been an out-of-the-blue number, I might have stalled feeding (really hard to do in the morning, as Star is practically eating the paint off the walls by then), retested in 20, etc. But he has been spending late nights in the 50's, and I have been wondering what would happen if I skipped a shot. This morning gave me an opportunity to test a theory. I did not shoot him. Checked him at +1 (after food): an expected rise, but only to 74. Checked again at +3 (I went back to bed and got up at +1 but missed the +2--these late nights and early mornings are really starting to wear me down): another expected rise, but only to 83. I'm trying to get Star to use some of that insulin in his depot, so when I shoot him tonight (a reduced dose of .25) MAYBE he won't drop so much at the PMPS+4 mark.
It seems like the past few days I've been in a cycle of giving Star insulin, watching him drop, and then using food combinations to bring up his numbers. I know this is just good food-insulin balance management, but I would like to see Star level out in the 70's or 80's rather than the 40's and 50's.
I realize the protocols and recommendations are there for a purpose, but as everyone says, every cat is different. So I'll keep posting the numbers today and tomorrow, when I should really see the effects of the skip, and next week, and we'll just see what happens. His dose is so tiny at this point that I expect a small change. Yes, I could be wrong, but unless I try it, how will I know?

