3/30 Oliver PMPS=116,131+1,96+2,65+ 3,72+4,

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Shelley & Oliver, Mar 30, 2021.

  1. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
  2. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Especially if it's in the day! :p
     
  3. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Nice start. I hope you get a blue/green surf today.
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.
  4. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Bounce clearing cycle. :cool:
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.
  5. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    EXACTLY!!! :)
     
    Liz & Minnie and Bandit's Mom like this.
  6. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Yay! :)
     
  7. Liz & Minnie

    Liz & Minnie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Good work, Shelley and Ollie!!
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.
  8. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    51@+2, fast drop. Gave 2 tsp mc food
     
  9. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Test in half an hour. This early in the cycle, he may need higher carbs.

    What is your MC%?

    Did you manage to keep him surfing with MC on 3/28?
     
  10. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    His food is 13%, and yes, this is the same food that kept him level on the 28th. I gave it to him a few times that day. Including early in the am when we didn’t get any kind of a food bump. His 2.5 test went up considerably.
     
  11. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I saw that! Makes me wonder if that +2 test was a bad strip.

    @tiffmaxee
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.
  12. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    My husband and I were just wondering The same thing!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  13. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Ollie continues to stay low. Have given 3 more heaping teaspoon at +5. Will have hubs continue the mc each hour while I am gone, which unfortunately, wont be until just about PMPS time.
     
  14. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Love seeing these stretches of green even though I know it's :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:. Go team Ollie!
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.
  15. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    :) it’s that hypo he had that I haven’t quite gotten over. I am VERY happy to see him drop down where he is supposed to be. :). I know how much those green numbers are good for him! :)
     
  16. JL and Chip

    JL and Chip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Not sure I saw it mentioned, but I think Oliver just earned himself a dose reduction.

    I’ve been thinking he’s been toying with a reduction for awhile now but, of course, I don’t give dosing advice. Anyone care to confirm? @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.
  17. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    No. She’s using a human meter and following TR so reductions are earned by falling under 50.
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.
  18. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    You get any tests after that 55 today?
     
  19. JL and Chip

    JL and Chip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Yep, I realize 50 is the “official” number and Oliver technically hit 51 and 55 respectfully, but I have to ask ... could this not at least be considered justification for a reduction given the entire set of circumstances? And I ask this respectfully, so please everyone take it that way.

    Logic behind my question:
    * 51 is basically a 49, or 41, or 56, or 61 based on meter variance, but nearly half of those numbers lie below the official break point for reducing. A second test might have indeed given a number in the 40s.
    * Oliver is capable of large swings, so there’s not much cushion at the lower numbers
    * He has a history of seizures at low numbers
    * He’s had to be propped up with MC food just to stay above 50 recently. Had the MC been withheld for 15 minutes, or had another BG test been taken 5 minutes later, his BG might have been below the 50 threshold
    * it’s possible that he’s dropped beneath 50 and not been caught

    You can play the numbers or the “what if” game with any cat and analyze yourself into paralysis. That’s not what I’m trying to do here. I used to shoot Chip at low numbers and the data allowed me to do that. Charlie was another story and had crazy swings on small doses, so I had to tweak the rules a little more with him to keep him safe. Neither is an exact match to Oliver, but the real-life experience and differences of my crew did make me mindful that every cat really is different and that those details can affect decisions.

    Oliver has had a string of nice green numbers and I’m not suggesting making changes that will risk losing that progress. My musings are based on whether, in his particular case, it makes sense to err on the side of caution and decrease the dose ... or maybe use a slightly higher number for reductions.

    Just food for thought. I continue to learn even after all these years. :)
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.
  20. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If you don’t see the drop it doesn’t count is usually what we say. I’m wondering like Wendy if any more tests were done. I’m thinking the ss was just not updated but let’s see.
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.
  21. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Oliver is spending a lot of time in "Hi" numbers - I'd really like him to become more comfy in normal numbers, so the bouncing would reduce. Cats that actually earn their reduction have a better chance of holding them.

    Oliver's seizure was at 3.0 units, not 2.25 units and was two months ago.

    So Shelley - interesting PMPS on the spreadsheet!
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.
  22. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    I just got home to do his PMPS. Even though my husband gave him some mc along with his friskies pate while I was gone, but he is only at 53 at PMPS.
    Need dosing advice please.
    @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom
     
  23. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Have you fed yet? If not, do not, and test again in 15-20 minutes. Would love to know which direction he's going.
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.
  24. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    I did just gave him about 2 tsp of mc. He ate about 1/2 of it and is sitting here with me grooming himself.
     
  25. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    I was not home to do tests this afternoon so you are seeing them all on the SS. My husband doesn’t test. He is in charge of feeding and cat boxes. ;)
    Shelley
     
  26. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Test again about 20 minutes after the food. Next time you see a low number at preshot - do not feed. Now we won't know whether his number is shootable unless he shoots up a lot. If you can afford to delay PS, one option is a longer delay.
     
  27. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Ok I will test him again in a few more minutes. I Will remember not to feed with a low PMPS Thank you-
     
  28. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    2
    20 minutes after he ate a tsp of mc Oliver is 89
     
  29. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    How about another 20 minutes wait and test - no more food, provided you can shoot later tomorrow. I wanted to see if he's coming up on his own, or because of the MC.
     
  30. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Ok. Sure I can shoot later tomorrow. I will test again on 20 minutes 20:30 PST.
     
  31. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Looks like he's up from a food bump. How are you feeling from your dental today Shelley? What you do tonight also depends on how you are feeling. It could be a long night. Or he could bounce, hard to tell at this point.
     
  32. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    I am ok after the dentist. It was pretty routine. What do you have in mind?
     
  33. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    I want to do what’s best for him.
     
  34. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I'd try another test 20 after the last one to see if he's rising. Because you fed, we don't know if he's safe to shoot without the carb influence. If he goes up again, we know he's going up on his own.
     
  35. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Will do. Thanks-
    Shelley
     
  36. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Hi Shelley, where is he now? How long since the MC?
     
  37. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    So are you 1.5 hours past preshot now?
     
  38. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Yes
     
  39. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Mc was at PMPS, he is now at 116 1.5 hours past shot time
     
  40. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Think it's safe to shoot. Will you be able to manage with the 1.5 hour shift in the shooting schedule? You can advance your shots by half an hour a day.

    @Wendy&Neko
     
  41. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    U
    Yes, am fine with working back to normal time. I will shoot now.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  42. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Oh, and I can feed pate after shot, right?
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  43. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Yes, poke and feed.
     
  44. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    131@+1
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2021
    Reason for edit: Corrected to state this was a +1 reading
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  45. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    So far so good! That would be +1, right? Your PMPS would be 116 since you shot late.
     
  46. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Oops yes. +1.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  47. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Shelley, could please you add his date of DX and what you are feeding him (LC canned?) to your Signature? Thanks! :)
     
  48. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Sure, what’s DX?
     
  49. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Sorry, DX is diagnosis. The rules for earning reductions are different for long term diabetics (over a year) and newly diagnosed (less than a year).
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.
  50. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
  51. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    And there's the Oliver we know and love! Let's hope goes lower nice and gentle!
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.
  52. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    :) nice and gentle will be nice. I had a talk with him. ;)
     
  53. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Does he listen? Mine never does!
    Two back to back cycles in green, though! How lovely! :D
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.
  54. Liz & Minnie

    Liz & Minnie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Wow, way to go Shelley and Ollie. That's a lot of green :D:bighug:
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.
  55. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Haha. No. He does not listen. But he gives me prrrrs to let me know he’s sorry. ;)
     
  56. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
  57. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    So much for listening. Feed a little MC?
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.
  58. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
  59. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    And you can just put the numbers from PMPS in the thread title. All of them will not fit :)
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.
  60. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Up at +4, I see. Think you can feed some LC and call it a night! :)
     
  61. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Will do! Thanks for hanging with us!
     
  62. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Most welcome :)

    You can shoot half an hour early tomorrow AM. Should you wish to. That is, 11.5 hours after the PM shot today.
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.

Share This Page