3/30 Mikey PMPS 510, +2 320 +3 199 +4 163 Dental Day

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...81-3-167-dental-tomorrow.135369/#post-1395683

We are home from the vet. I am a total wreck. Mikey had three extractions. He's feeling fine, and demanding food, which the vet said to wait about an hour to give him. His sugars were high all day, up to 600 on the vet's meter, so the vet wants us to increase him to .5 tonight. I'm home tomorrow, so I can do this. My question is, we will be starting new insulin tonight. Should we increase tonight or wait until tomorrow to see what his numbers are. I understand that I'm not making a whole lot of sense, but I'm a basket case right now. I'll come back in a little while and post more details. Honestly, this whole dental thing was much harder on me than on Mikey.:eek:
 
When Max had his dental he too had three extractions. He ate some baby food at first and seemed starving. It was late afternoon. By PMPS he wasn't interested in food so I gave him a half dose and managed to get him to eat a little more during the night. Mikey could have been high there from the stress of the day. I don't give dosing advice but based on my experience I wouldn't raise him tonight. Let's see what the pros say. I'm glad he's home.
 
I too would wait on the increase. Depending on what type of anesthetic drug your vet used, it can have a BG lowering effect. You don't want that, plus an increase at the same time.

Are you giving any pain relief meds to Mikey?

Hugs to you and scritches to Mikey. :bighug:I'm glad he's home and feeling like eating.
 
I'm trying to take a deep breath and calm down! Mikey dropped 72 points between +11 when we walked in the door and PS. Between that and the advice given here, we decided to wait on the increase. He ate everything I let him at PS, and is now waiting by the food dish for his next feeding. I took the bandage off the IV site as instructed, so he's giving that a good grooming.

Two of the extractions were tiny incisors, but one was a molar. The vet said he couldn't even see it, it was so far back, but the x-ray showed that it was infected, inflamed, and probably painful. Mikey is on clavamox and bupe for that. I'm hoping that once it clears up, he'll be easier to regulate.

Apparently the pre-anesthesia meds made him quite stoned, and he was pretty funny. He talked to the techs all day. I think he was demanding food!

This whole thing is going to drive me to drink! I was calmer about his diabetes diagnosis. Thankfully, I took tomorrow off, so I can stay home and dote on him.

Question: will the clavamox have any effect on his BG?
 
Sometimes antibiotics can upset their stomach, but as long as it doesn't have sugar in it, it shouldn't effect the BG numbers.

Have you started Mikey on a probiotic like FortiFlora? The AB kills good bacteria in the intestines as well as the bad bacteria, so they can cause diarrhea...adding the probiotic puts some of those good bacteria back

So glad Mikey is home with you! Sounds like it was a hard day for you, but Mikey did great!!

China ate fine when she came home, but I only gave her little bits at a time. Didn't want to overload her stomach in case the anesthesia made her a little nauseous
 
is the Clavamox a liquid? Do you know what is is mixed with? Sometimes they use syrup. I once had a cat who got Clavamox with orange flavouring. :rolleyes:
 
Glad to hear the dental is over, sorry to hear it was a rough day. Hopefully now that it is behind you and Mikey you can get his BG under control.
 
Um, 20o points in two hours????? Should I give some MC? I just gave his regular LC, but he's still hungry, so he'd take it.
 
*whew* you had quite a time of it! Although it sounds like Mikey had a fine time - stoned and yakking away to the vet team! :D

I also would not have increased his dose tonight. You know that in some cats, stress alone can raise their blood sugar several hundred points. And of course, Lantus doesn't work to yank down high numbers, so the increase might've been seen more in the upcoming days than tonight. Let everything calm down from his dental and then re-evaluate the dose.

I'm not surprised about his teeth. It just seems like the most crazy bouncers can have some dental issues. Not all of the bouncers do, but enough that when i see those crazy zig-zag cycles in a cat that's not long into diabetes, that's what I think of. I'm really glad you got it done. Hopefully his cycles will flatten out now and his BGs will improve.

Antibiotics usually begin to kick in in people in 48 hrs. I haven't seen people have a sudden drop in blood sugar from ABs, but a gradual effect as the cat begins to heal.

hmm, i was looking for Lucy's ss to give you and see you've just posted. Lucy had a dental 1/15 and you can see that Voula had to go up in dose afterwards, but that overall she's come down in dose and her overall range is better.

Regarding the 200 point drop - it's possible that's vet stress leaving. Yes, a little food to slow him down, although he's already dropped so fast that a bounce is probably inevitable at this point. I think LC is ok unless he's headed for low numbers. Or MC - your choice.
 
OK, since he's in a safe number, I'm going to leave it alone until +3. Then I'll test again. He usually gets his last feeding then. I'll decide if it should be LC or MC at the time, but unless he goes low, I think there's no point in using MC right now. As you said, Julie, a bounce is inevitable. Obviously, I'll keep monitoring until he naidirs tonight, because who knows what the anesthesia will do when mixed with Mikey! I was planning on a PJ party. I've got plenty of chocolate!
 
So glad to hear Mikey is home and safe- hugs to you both! You're inspiring me to pursue this for my Tiger, anything to figure out what causes the bouncing for us...:bighug:Calming vines and healing vines being sent
 
is the Clavamox a liquid? Do you know what is is mixed with? Sometimes they use syrup. I once had a cat who got Clavamox with orange flavouring. :rolleyes:

Yes, it's the white liquid. I doubt it has syrup or sugar in it, but I can't tell for sure from the box or bottle. It sure doesn't seem to be affecting his BG so far.
 
some people taste it to see if it's sweet. I'm repulsed by that, hahahahaha so i wouldn't do it. But some do. You could also call someone during office hours tomorrow just to double check. It's not uncommon for people to somehow end up with a sweetened liquid for their diabetic cat.
 
Mikey would like everyone to know that he's being starved to death. Never mind that he's eaten every hour for the last five hours. He's being starved. The boy hasn't left his food bowl since he got home, except to use the litterbox. Clearly he's much more traumatized by not being fed this morning than he is by the dental and extractions.

Yo, Vyktor, come on ober. We havin' a pj party.
 
Last edited:
Wow, look how fast he's getting back on track after that skipped shot this morning and everything that's happened to him today! :D Way to go Mikey - just make sure you save some space for some hc food in case you need it later! I'm not surprised you're having a pj party - I'm not sure I'd trust those numbers not to keep on dropping either!!
 
by the way, you might want to use either bold or color or something to note Dental Day on the ss. I see it there in the comments section, but i'm just thinking how often i look at cats' spreadsheets and try to find when the dental day was to see the change afterwards.
 
I still have some Clavamox liquid (has not been reconstituted, so keeps for a while), and I read the tiny print on the insert. The only ingredients it mentions are Amoxicillin and Clavulanic Acid.

I'm glad you got Mikey's dental done and that he seems to be recovering so well. My vet always said not to feed the first night, but Harvey, who has dentals almost once a year, ALWAYS comes home starving and wants to eat and eat. I generally give him a tablespoon of baby food at a time, spaced 20-30 minutes apart, to avoid upset tummy. He HATES that I do it that way, but I don't want him throwing up. We've never had a problem doing it this way, except that I get a cranky cat. :rolleyes:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top