3/30 Kismet PMPS 160, +1 162, +2 166, +3 167, +5 192

Status
Not open for further replies.

Courtney and Kismet

Member Since 2012
Happy Caturday, LL!

Today is day two on his slightly fattened fat dose (.4/skinny .5), and his AMPS is pretty much identical to yesterday. Sienne said that toasty insulin can do weird things, so we're going to be getting a new pen on Monday. We have the vial, and refills on the vial, but our vet won't be in until Monday so we can't get the new Rx until then. I'll see how he goes, and if I think it's necessary, I'll bite the bullet and get a new vial sooner. It's a relatively new vial we have, opened Feb. 13th. This is only the second vial we've ever used. When K was Dx in September, he was only on the juice for 2 weeks before going into remission, and I threw the old vial out after 5 months. A month later, he decided to come back from the falls so we got a new vial. So, I'm fairly unfamiliar with knowing when insulin starts to go off. It is still clear, smells very potent, no particles, and has always been refrigerated. But, these numbers are whack and blech.

Question: I called around our local pharmacies and CVS sells the pen in lots of 5, and Walgreens in lots of 3. I have the card, so I should be able to go to Walgreens and get 3 for $75. How long are the unopened pens good for? Can I put them aside and save them, or should I continue my search for a pharmacy that will sell them individually? Thanks for any insight here.

Kismet is feeling good this AM. He was very confused about why I was up so early. I'm working off about 3 hrs of sleep, as is he. I had to drop off my car for an oil change, and also wanted to get his +10 and +11 to see what's happening late in these PM cycles. When I got up at +10, he was curled up next to me and covered his face with his paw and sighed when I turned on the light :lol: He did not want to wake up, but got excited when I grabbed the treat bag. All 5 Ps, good appy, good LB action. I followed him into the bathroom to get a urine sample, but the Poo fairy was calling. He's so funny when he has to go #2. He kicks his litter around for a good minute before he will go as he likes to get down to the bare litter pan. Such a conscientious guy, he wants to bury it as deep as possible. Since his LB is in the bathroom, which is tiled and echoes quite a bit, we can often hear the "plop plop plop" from the bedroom (and sometimes, the smell :roll: ). :lol:

Sending vines and hugs out to Aseel, Mannie, Gobbles, Shadow, Stephen, and to Elizabeth, Tara, and Gene, whose precious Sasha crossed the bridge in the wee hours this morning.

I hope everyone has a great day.


Yesterday/Recap
AMPS 240
+2--- 108
+3--- 74 :mrgreen:
+5--- 60
+6--- 68
+9--- 107
PMPS 178
+1--- 211
+2--- 148
+4--- 81
+5--- 77
+10---190
+11---209

Today
AMPS 242
+1--- 226
+3--- 135
+6--- 130
PMPS 160
+1--- 162
+2--- 166
+3--- 167
+5--- 192
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet AMPS 242 Question Solostar Pen

Morning Courtney! And Kismet:) Sorry I don't know anything about the pens, I've only read about them, not used them...just wanted to say hi! Good on the poo...not so much the smell :lol: too bad about the urine sample miss. Hopefully you can get one later today! Maybe you can catch some zzzzz's in a nap, 3 hours isn't enough for me for sure @-) . Have a great day :-D
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet AMPS 242 Question Solostar Pen

'morning, courtney!

seriously, from the looks of kismet's numbers... the insulin looks like it's working well. imho, he just needs more of it. i wouldn't bother buying new at this point. you increased the dose yesterday. i'd continue with increases (if necessary) until you get his numbers where you want them.

pens: unopened pens will last until the expiry date on the box. opened pens have been known to last 6 months. some use pens to the last drop. we've found lantus is not as fragile as we once thought.
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet AMPS 242 Question Solostar Pen

Just like the vial, the pens have an expiration date. Usually, it's a couple of years from date of manufacture. I've never run into a situation where I'm even close to the expiration date on any pens I've purchased. The date should be printed on the pen.

That's really weird that Walgreens would sell 3 pens (they come in a box of 5) but not one. If you got a price of $75 for three, buy them now! That's an incredible price.
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet AMPS 242 Question Solostar Pen

Our hospital pharmacy sells one pen for $55. We are going to give the pens a try after using a vial for 2 years.
Liz
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet AMPS 242 Question Solostar Pen

Hi Courtney. From your description of the insulin you're using it sounds good to me but I am FAR from being an expert on insulin. As for the pens, I agree with Sienne 100%, if you can get 3 pens for $75 buy them now and then go back and see if you can buy 3 more. I just bought a box of 5 at the Walmart Pharmacy and the original cost was $250 but I have a " forever coupon" that brought the price down to $220 or $44 per pen. That would be $132 for 3. I have gotten at least 2 months from a pen when PF was first DX because I was always drawing so much extra and then discharging it t get to the correct dosage. Over time I have become a bit better at it and don't waste nearly as much so a pen last a lot longer. It looks like I'll get at least 3 months from the current pen.

Have a great weekend Courtney and a Happy Easter.
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet AMPS 242 Question Solostar Pen

FWIW, the pen was suggested to me right off the bat and I really like it. My CVS pharmacy sold me 1 pen @ $25 using the Solostar savings card (regular $71). All of the other pharmacies I looked at (Walgreens, Walmart) only sold the 5 pack of pens. I use the pen with the U100 syringes, not the attachable needles as I was told the pen click dose may not be very accurate. I don't shoot any air into the pen like you would a vial. I just press against the plunger on the syringe before I put it into the pen and then draw out what I need, maybe a little more, remove and adjust after I've taken the syringe out. From what I understand, the pen works with the negative pressure principle which is why you don't have to shoot air into it like a vial. In fact, as I've used the pen, it appears that there is a stopper or plunger inside the pen that comes down as you draw up the insulin. I'm no expert, but from what I've read here and all the feedback I received, I really like it so far.
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet AMPS 242 Question Solostar Pen

Hi, Courtney.
That is an AMAZING price. My Walgreens only sells by the 5-pack ($258, w/the savings card!). My Target sells by 3s ($215). I have yet to find a local pharmacy that sells individual pens... My first pen lasted about 50 days, used almost every drop.

I'm glad Kizzy's doing well today.
I hope you're able to get some rest.
How you helped Sasha and her family was WONDERFUL last night. I found myself unable to sleep, so I hopped on the board and followed their heartbreaking journey. That's twice yesterday that you've been in the right place at the right time, ready with VERY helpful info. You deserve a big bouquet of flowers :-D .

I hope you guys have a great day.
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet AMPS 242 Question Solostar Pen

Hello Courtney and Kismet! We use pens in this household too, and I have not found your great coupon deal! Please link me to your great Walgreen's coupon! I would love to have it. Perhaps you can scan it into an attachment to this thread? Or is it a 'personal' coupon. Thanks in advance!
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet AMPS 242 Question Solostar Pen

Morning ~O)
I saw a little blurb on the news yesterday that CVS charges the most for their prescriptions and Costco was the lowest ( all around).
Maybe that will make cvs deal with competition. :lol:

Hope Kismet gets down to some better numbers.
Happy Caturday.
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet AMPS 242 Question Solostar Pen

Jill & Alex said:
seriously, from the looks of kismet's numbers... the insulin looks like it's working well. imho, he just needs more of it. i wouldn't bother buying new at this point. you increased the dose yesterday. i'd continue with increases (if necessary) until you get his numbers where you want them.
this was my thought too. Even a cat that is well regulated can need dose adjustments from time to time.

My other thought was to wonder if there is any reason why not using Allerplex would have made his numbers increase. I have no idea, but the fact that his numbers went up just after discontinuing that product made me wonder.
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet AMPS 242, +1 226, +3 135, +6 130

Hi Rachel, thanks for stopping by! It's no biggie about the urine sample, I usually get several a week. Since his LB is in our bathroom and he likes to use the bathroom at the same time as me, it's fairly easy to catch him ;-)

Hi Jill, thanks for the suggestion! The earliest I could get the script for the pen is Monday, so he will have a few more cycles with the vial at the very least. I may get the pens anyway, and still stick with the vial depending on how he does. I was planning on taking him up to .5u the day of his dosecrease, but wasn't going to be around in the morning yesterday to monitor very closely so I only fattened it a bit to a skinny .5u. I might take him up to .5u tonight considering these numbers today.

Hi Sienne, I called both Walgreens near me and they both said they sell them in lots of 3. I was just assuming it would be $75 because of the lantus card I got, the price was not confirmed. But you're right, if I can get them for $75, it will be a steal!

Hi Liz, best of luck with the pen! I hadn't thought of checking a hospital pharmacy, we live just up the street from a hospital so I will check prices with them, too.

Hi John, Thanks for your input! Where do you get a "forever coupon" for Walmart?

Hi Katie, thanks so much for stopping by and for sharing your experience. We've had good success with the vials in the past, but like that the pen is less expensive and has less insulin which translates to less waste. I get the vials from Walgreens for $160 :shock:

Hi Josie, as I mentioned, I am making a quantum leap with assumptions. I didn't get a price confirmed for the pens from Walgreens, just figured it would come out to $75 with the lantus savings card. I will have to double check. I got a nice long nap in between +2 and +6. I'd meant to only sleep for an hour, but conked out until DH woke me up to go get my car ohmygod_smile Fortunately, DH had the wherewithal to grab the +3 for me. ;-) Thank you for your kind words... I thought I was the only one on last night. As you say, it happened twice yesterday. I don't know how much help I was to Aseel or to Elizabeth, but just wanted to be there for support at the very least. How frightening to go through something like that alone.

Hi Mary, No coupon, just the Lantus savings card. http://www.lantus.com/considering/save- ... fault.aspx It's $25 per pen for 6.

Hi Rhiannon, thanks for the info. I don't have a membership to Costco, but it may be worth something investigating. I've wondered if they sell Fancy Feast by the bulk, too. Does anyone know?

Hi Libby, thanks so much for stopping by and putting in your two cents. The earliest we can get the new script is Monday, so he is stuck with the vial for at least 4 more cycles, and maybe more depending on how he goes. As far as the Allerplex, I thought it was responsible for the higher numbers and didn't seem to be helping much. He was only on it for about a week, and when I stopped him, his numbers came way down almost immediately before going back up. I'd thought of it too, but don't think there is any correlation. That's why I thought maybe his insulin was getting toasty, and perhaps the Aplex isn't too blame for the BG surge.


K is having a very flat, blue day. I am positive I got his full dose in this morning. He nadirs early, and I didn't get any readings between +3 and +6, so I am not sure how low he went. By +3, he is usually already green if he's gonna hit the lagoon, so I doubt he did today. Oh well, at least I got to catch up on some sleep! I might take him to .5 tonight and we'll see if that brings him down any. Thank you all for stopping by and for sharing your ideas about the pen... it's greatly appreciated! Love our FDMB family, you guys are the best! (((FDMB))) I hope everyone is having a lovely Caturday.
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet AMPS 242, +1 226, +3 135, +6 130

I've heard that for prescriptions you don't have to have a membership to use Costco or Sam's club....
but I've never called to confirm that.... I have a free sam's membership. And Shadow hasn't needed a new vial.
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet AMPS 242, +1 226, +3 135, +6 130

Hi Kizzy. I agree with the others that you are just needing to settle into your dose. Bummer. But you can get back. I don't have any advice on the insulin, but you should not need a membership to check out Sams or Costco Pharmacy.

I hope you enjoyed the nap and got rested up. :)

Have a wonderful Easter Sunday.
Karen
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet AMPS 242, +1 226, +3 135, +6 130

Good luck with the insulin search, Courtney. Now that the online Canadian pharmacies are no longer permitted to ship insulin, all of us have to pay higher prices. (You could take a vacation in Canada this summer :smile: ).

I hope the dosecrease will result in Kismet's numbers getting better again.

Have a lovely weekend,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. My local Kinney's pharmacy sells single pens ($54 for a Levemir Flexpen, probably similar price for a Lantus Solostar).
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet AMPS 242, +1 226, +3 135, +6 130

Hi! I'm just out & about passing out easter eggs and thought I'd stop in to say hello :-D
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet AMPS 242, +1 226, +3 135, +6 130

HI Courtney!

God luck with the dosing, and the insulin search. I've always bought the box of five pens, and had no issue with them. Use the one, keep the remaining in the frig.

Come on down Kismet!
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet PMPS 160

Good to know, Rhiannon! Thanks :)

Hi Karen! Thanks for the well wishes. Kiz has a decent PMPS tonight, so I hope this means a better cycle. Hope you have a lovely Easter, too!

Hi Ella, real bummer re: Canadian pharmacies. We don't have Kinney's in Florida, but I should be able to find something reasonably priced, I think.

Hi Kat, thanks for the eggs and "hello!" back at ya ;)

Hi Michelle, thanks for stopping by! Thanks for the tip on keeping the unopened pens refrigerated.

Well, the boy gave a decent PMPS. I went ahead and took him up to .5u, so paws crossed the extra drop will do the trick! Thank you all for visiting and for the well wishes. Hope everyone has a lovely evening.
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet PMPS 160

Hi Courtney. Wanted to get back to you on the Lantus "forever coupon". It doesn't have an expiration date so I dubbed it the "forever coupon". I found it on line. I thought I had the link bookmarked but can't find it. I'll look for it tomorrow and get the info to you. As for the bunk bed project it's going slow but good my oldest grandson works just about every day along with going to college so he's limited on the time he can devote to the project. But we'll get it done. Thanks for asking.

Have a great Easter.
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet PMPS 160

Courtney, I believe this is the card I used. I'll check with DW in the morning to be sure.

Coupon
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet PMPS 160

Thank you, John! Greatly appreciated :-D How neat that you're working on the project with your Grandson. I used to love to make models with my Grandpa when I was a little girl, such wonderful bonding time. Enjoy!
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet PMPS 160, +1 162, +2 166, +3 167

Flat cat surf tonight. I know I def got insulin in, so maybe it has gone around the bend? :?

I'm stumped. Getting either a pen or new vial by Monday for sure!
 
Re: 3/30 Kismet PMPS 160, +1 162, +2 166, +3 167

Talk about a F L A T blue. Good luck in the fresh insulin hunt. Come up here and visit and we'll get you 5 cartridges (the refill inside the pen) for $100.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top