3/30 Elizabeth AMPS 104 PMPS 94, +2 91, +4 116

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vicki

Member Since 2015
Yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...5-88-4-25-85-5-68-5-5-73.135343/#post-1395670

I have a couple questions. I conclude that for the last three shots I have been giving Liz .1u with the showing of miniscule daylight between the plunger and zero line. (decided this after looking at sticky notes and several people on the board giving me explanations, and doing my own test with colored water and syringe)

Do I now put the plunger on the zero line?

At what point does one give it a go without the insulin? These are obviously such miniscule amounts....:confused:

Thank you!!!
:cat:
 
I don't have time to figure out anything and I can't stay with you this morning, but I just wanted to say unless someone comes along to give you a hand in the next hour or so, if you have any doubt about the dosage and your ability to reduce it from what she got yesterday, I would just skip this morning and then we can talk about it later and see how she does today without any insulin. Hope you have a great day.
 
Okay...thank you for answering! I am going to skip the shot this morning, and will test her sometime later today. She and I both need a break from testing. I welcome any input and advice.....
 
Last edited:
Hi Julie,
his might allow me to move my test and shot time up since I skipped this mornings shot, correct? I will do a test in about 45 minutes from now.
 
I'm unclear from your earlier comments if you think you can get a smaller dose than you've given for the past 3 cycles. Do you think you can?
 
Is there any reason to give her a shot with 94? After last night, I don't feel comfortable.

I'm wondering if it's time to find out if she can go without the insulin? Let me know what y'all think, please!

And thank you!!!
 
I think I can give a smaller dose, yes. And after this smaller dose there is nowhere else to go. With a 94 I don't feel very comfortable, though. What do you think?

I say yes about the smaller dose because I can move the plunger to the zero mark. I was a miniscule amount above it with her previous shots.
 
Here's the thing - we know that it helps a kitty have a stronger remission if they get insulin support as long as they need it. Elizabeth has come down the dosing scale really quickly - only 10 cycles since she was 200+ and on 0.5u. She hasn't had a lot of time in normal range for her pancreas to do a lot of healing. Although we can't see inside her and know if it's been long enough or not.

Experienced people will shoot everything over 50 (human meter)/68 (AT) and the well-regulated cat will often just stay flat for the rest of the cycle. It's impossible to know if Elizabeth will do that tonight or not.

You sound really reluctant, though. She's on the verge of a trial, but I don't know if she's had enough time in good numbers or not. It's up to you. Do you want to try skipping again tonight and seeing if she holds? Or do you want to shoot the smallest amount you can?
 
I have been reading that about the healing and how to leave them on the insulin as long as possible. Surely there must be cases where you can't do that - they get to the bottom of the dose and that's that? I sound reluctant because I am reluctant. If I could give the shot and do less testing, I think I would feel better about it, but then I wouldn't know if she's safe, correct?
What's a trial?
 
I am thinking I will do it if you think that's best. Y'all have gotten us this far. :D I'm at the last possible dose, I am sure. Then how often do I need to test?
 
The trial is the 14 days without insulin before your cat is officially diet-controlled.

From the Tight-Regulation Protocol Sticky:
  • "Since 2006 we've encouraged those practicing Tight Regulation to attempt reducing the dose from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely. During a two week OTJ trial, you want to see mostly green numbers (under 100) with only a few random blue numbers between 100 - 120 to help ensure a strong remission."
Good luck if you decide to start a trial. Julie's cautionary advice is well-considered.

Ella & Rusty

p.s. I'm not sure how often you should test. Someone who knows will be along!
 
I gave her the shot - plunger at the zero line. Not sure what's that called? .1u? <.1u?
 
doesn't really matter what you call it Vicki...as long as it's consistent

Any time you're shooting a number that makes you nervous, it's always good to get a +1 and +2....that way you can see if you need to intervene sooner rather than later
 
yuppers - what Chris and Ella said.

If she goes below 68 on this dose, then that's the time to start a trial. Because cats are all so different, this is a one-step-at-a-time process. You shoot a dose and reduce it when the cat goes below 68 AT. You shoot the reduced dose until the cat goes below 68 AT. Repeat until there is no smaller dose.

Some cats do bounce all the way to OTJ - it's just variable.
 
Hi Julie!
I gave the shot at the zero line about three hours ago. I did a +2 and it was about the same as the preshot #. I am planning a +4 and if it's holding, can I go to bed?
Or should I test later?
Thanks!!
 
Very nice!! If her +4 is still pretty stable, I'd say "good night!"

That's the great thing about shooting green...they usually just surf right along

Let's see what it is first though!
 
Elise,
Ah....the kind of pj party that gets a bit crazy and then settles down! I'm glad I wasn't invited! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top