3/30 Checkers +11.5 @ 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Checkabunny

Member Since 2011
Checkers' BG is at 77 after 11.5 hours. He's been having nice days of surfing and we've been giving him bunches of food while we can't be around him during the day. Is it too soon to drop his dose to 0.25 for his PM shot?
 
Re: 3/30 +11.5 @ 77, dosing help

Please get a PMPS and post the number. We need to see which way things are going. And IMHO, I wouldn't drop the dose permanently yet. We may need to consider a BCS dose but let's see what the PMPS is.
 
Re: 3/30 +11.5 @ 77, dosing help

Hi, dropping below 50 earns a doseDEcrease, this has not happened yet.. however, if you are not home to monitor/test & feel this is a 911 emergent situation as the icon suggests, then you need to do what your comfort level is.. dosing advisors will be by to help you.. Checkers is doing really well & what we want.. nothing dangerous at this point ;-)
 
Re: 3/30 +11.5 @ 77, dosing help

Yes, dropping below 50 earns the decrease. I couldn't stay with him yesterday and his was at 57, dropping nicely, so to be safe I pumped him full of food with an added tsp of HC.
 
Re: 3/30 +11.5 @ 77, dosing help

:lol: oh, right!

Well, that was an unusual ordeal getting a blood draw to get a number -- it's gone up to 80. Hmmm, so stick with 0.5 since that's already a reduction? And do a BCS: :-D
 
Re: 3/30 +11.5 @ 77, dosing help

You've been shooting almost identical numbers last night and this morning. If you have strips and HC, I'd shoot the regular dose. Checkers is on a roll.
 
Re: 3/30 +11.5 @ 77, dosing help

Alright, gave him his shot at 0.50u -- and watch the numbers. Is it ok to let him go pretty low without giving food to keep the number up above 50? He's a big guy -- 22 pounds -- and food is the love of his life (thankfully -- sort of).
 
Re: 3/30 +11.5 @ 77, dosing help

Definitely get a +1 and +2. Depending on where the +1 is, you may want to get a +1.5. I would work at feeding the curve. (I'm not sure I understood your question about food.)

Also, you might want to put Checkers' name in your subject line.
 
Re: 3/30 +11.5 @ 77, dosing help

Yes, I'm loaded with strips, HC food, nummy low carb snacks for ear pricks. We're going to have a party! I don't mind so much when I can be here and do this -- tomorrow'll be a whole 'nother ball game since I can't be late leaving here to keep an eye on him even in the morning -- have my own doctor appointment pretty far away I'll need to be at.
 
Re: 3/30 Checkers +11.5 @ 77, dosing help

What does "feed the curve" mean?

I've found that if I give Checkers even a few bites of the Purina DM, his BG will pop up a tiny bit. His numbers seems to react to food within 10-15 minutes. So like yesterday when he hit 57 and I needed to leave soon, I gave him 1/2 can of DM and his bg popped up, even without the HC food. Checkers ate more by 11am that morning than he normally would eat in an entire day. So was just wondering if I can watch how low he'll go tonight and not worry about giving him food at the +1 or +1.5 intervals if he starts getting into the 50s?
 
Re: 3/30 Checkers +11.5 @ 77, dosing help

Feeding the curve means that if numbers begin to drop, you use food to get the kitty surfing.

The only issue can be if you see numbers dropping and you don't intervene, sometimes it takes some work to get them back up. From what you're saying though, it sounds like Checkers may be pretty carb sensitive. It's your call.

Also, how about taking the "dosing help" out of your subject line? Once you get the help your need or a question answered, it's helpful to take the request out of your subject line.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top