3/30 Bella AMPS 193, +3 68, +3.5 71, +5 83, +6.5 113, PMPS 393, +3 388

Bellas_mom_2020

Member Since 2024
Good morning,

I’m back here again today with Bella having lower numbers.

I know a lot will say that her +3 of 68 is a good number but it makes me nervous. Bella had good numbers yesterday (except for her PMPS of 310). This morning she was 193 and we gave her 0.75 and 3 hrs later she was 68. So we gave her 1 tbsp of a 12% carb food.

My understanding is with TR they don’t earn a reduction until they go below 50 (which totally freaks me out). Is the 0.75 to much? Or is getting numbers that low +3 AMPS okay? If this is going to be a continuous pattern during the week when I’m at work, I’m not comfortable with her going low especially if I’m not home. Also, we’ll be traveling starting Wednesday and not home till Saturday (later in the day) and I don’t want my mom to see these low numbers and panic.

Can someone also explain why on SLGS they earn a reduction if they get a number under 90, but with TR they don’t earn a reduction unless they go under 50.
 
SLGS was invented mostly for people that feed dry food and others choose to follow it for various reasons. TR is quite safe and gives a better chance at becoming diet controlled and going into remission. SLGS is less aggressive and thus higher reduction numbers. We have a thread on handling low numbers while working full time that I will link for you.

Bella is not getting too much insulin and it’s good you are home to see how she does. Regulated cats tend to give flat cycles so this is a good thing. It looks like Bella has a REALLY GOOD CHANCE at remission. Green becomes addictive I promise.

On Monday post and ask or a vacation dose for while you are away. Then when back you can go back to .75 unless a reduction is earned by falling under 50.
 
SLGS was invented mostly for people that feed dry food and others choose to follow it for various reasons. TR is quite safe and gives a better chance at becoming diet controlled and going into remission. SLGS is less aggressive and thus higher reduction numbers. We have a thread on handling low numbers while working full time that I will link for you.

Bella is not getting too much insulin and it’s good you are home to see how she does. Regulated cats tend to give flat cycles so this is a good thing. It looks like Bella has a REALLY GOOD CHANCE at remission. Green becomes addictive I promise.

On Monday post and ask or a vacation dose for while you are away. Then when back you can go back to .75 unless a reduction is earned by falling under 50.

Your response literally made me cry happy tears. Bella has had a rough 6 months and knowing she’s heading in the right direction towards remission makes me so happy. I know the green numbers are good but going below 50 just makes me nervous especially if it was to happen when I wasn’t home. Thankfully my husband works part time and currently is on work leave due to an injury and also my mom lives close by but I still get nervous. Anxiety plays a huge part in my life so I try my best to not let it control me. After Bella had her stroke I live everyday with PTSD and worry constantly about her.
I posted about the vacation dose and they told me I can give her 0.5. I want to make sure my mom is comfortable being that she’s a little nervous already.
 
The reason I suggested asking Monday is because it’s possible a reduction could be earned before then. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
The reason I suggested asking Monday is because it’s possible a reduction could be earned before then. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

okay I’ll definitely ask on Monday.

Also, I was wondering what number pre shot would you reduce or not give insulin? Like if her PMPS tonight is like 120 or even under 100 do we give the 0.75 or no insulin at all?
 
With TR you would shoot if over 50 if you can monitor. We advise not feeding and checking the bg in 20-30 minutes to see if on the way up. Will your mom be testing at all? I think I would have her skip if under 100 if still under after stalling without food. You will start the vacation dose Monday so that should prevent a preshot that low.
 
With TR you would shoot if over 50 if you can monitor. We advise not feeding and checking the bg in 20-30 minutes to see if on the way up. Will your mom be testing at all? I think I would have her skip if under 100 if still under after stalling without food. You will start the vacation dose Monday so that should prevent a preshot that low.

So wouldn’t waiting 20-30 mins to feed and shoot cause her to get her insulin after 12 hours? Aren’t they suppose to be as close to the 12 as possible?

yes my mom will be testing, hopefully Bella will cooperate. I agree with not having her shoot if under 100 just to be safe.
 
Waiting 30 minutes or under will not affect the schedule. Until you know how your cat will react to a lower than usual we do stall without food often. Because there can be overlap with doses by stalling you will often see an increase in bg as the insulin wears off and can shoot. Sometimes the bg drops too low to shoot which is why if you can monitor you will shoot if over 50. While you are away further dropping if bg would let you know she should not give insulin.
 
Waiting 30 minutes or under will not affect the schedule. Until you know how your cat will react to a lower than usual we do stall without food often. Because there can be overlap with doses by stalling you will often see an increase in bg as the insulin wears off and can shoot. Sometimes the bg drops too low to shoot which is why if you can monitor you will shoot if over 50. While you are away further dropping if bg would let you know she should not give insulin.

okay I understand. Thank you for all your help so far today.
 
Waiting 30 minutes or under will not affect the schedule. Until you know how your cat will react to a lower than usual we do stall without food often. Because there can be overlap with doses by stalling you will often see an increase in bg as the insulin wears off and can shoot. Sometimes the bg drops too low to shoot which is why if you can monitor you will shoot if over 50. While you are away further dropping if bg would let you know she should not give insulin.

sorry I thought of another question. So we’ve been giving Bella mostly foods with 3% and under, we always figure the lower the carb the better and her snacks are most of the time 0%. In situations like we had yesterday and today where her BG are more in the greens do we stay feeding her a food lower in carbs or is it okay to feed her one between like 4-6%? Especially if we plan on leaving the house.
 
In situations like yesterday I would give 6% and see how she responds. Recheck in 30 minutes. If dropping go to 10-14%. If the higher lc is working stick with it. Some cats actually do better with 5-7% because it keeps them in healing numbers for longer stretches. I’ll link a list about this.

Dint apologize for more questions. Ask all you have as often as you want. Someone will answer them. Tbere’s a lot to learn about FD.
 
Back
Top