3/30 Bella AMPS 148, +4 61, PMPS 72, +2 68

cecile & bella

Member Since 2021
yesterday
A little higher this morning. She was starting to rise yesterday evening but I did not test her after +4. She had some milk, I wonder if that's enough to rise her BG?
 
I was wondering about the rules for reduction. If I "prevent" her from going to hypo, I also avoid a reduction, right? Is it better for them to stay on a dose longer then go down slowly, rather than having a hypo and then lowering the dose?
 
If it's a good dose for her, it's okay and even encouraged to use the occasional high carbs to prevent them from dropping below 50 (or 68 or 40, as the case may be) and earning a reduction. What you don't want is to prevent a reduction by propping her up with carbs. You will see the difference as you go along :-)

Btw, we do not call it hypo unless it is symptomatic. Asymptomatic low numbers are just that - low numbers.
 
Oh, OK! Low numbers, then. The lowest she's been was 29 (on the AT), and she was acting normally. She was just lying down somewhere weird for her, so I checked. When she was first diagnosed, my vet told me to shoot the insulin, then wait one to 2 hours for the insulin to "kick in" before I fed her. I never did that, I was too scared she would go low. She gave me all the instructions about how to treat her if she was in hypoglycemia but without testing regularly, it's kind of hard to know. She said to test her once a week. I think we lost time with all those less than accurate recommandations!
 
Back
Top