3/3 TomtheCat PMnadir~99, 3/4 AMPS @+11~296, +8~33 +8.5~75

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ilkka and Tom

Member Since 2010
Well, that broke the ennui of the afternoon.

He dropped on 2u from 217 at +5.5 / +6 or so, to 33 / 37 (repeated within seconds) at +8. My guy. I fed him some FF Gravy Lovers, which he enjoyed, a bit of treats, kept an eye on him, and appeared quite calm. Half hour later, he was at 75. I had the karo in the syringe, resting with the plunger fully retracted, in the cool white porcelain of my favorite coffee cup.

Now am wondering about tonight's dose. Of course the data is not in on the +11 and PS.

Ilkka
 
Re: 3/3 TomtheCat PMnadir~99, 3/4 AMPS @+11~296, +8~33 +8.5~

Those numbers that are below 40 earn a dose reduction for a longer term diabetic kitty. So, congrats! It's your call whether you want to reduce a full 0.25u or if you want to shave the dose.
 
Re: 3/3 TomtheCat PMnadir~99, 3/4 AMPS @+11~296, +8~33 +8.5~

ahhh, this green looks more like the Tom I remember. :mrgreen:

He does need a reduction. It's hard to say whether a 0.25 reduction or a shave would be better, since you worked up to this dose pretty quickly so we don't know for sure that the previous doses were too little. You can either go to 1.75 and hold it for a few days to see where he ends up, or shave to 1.9 and monitor like crazy. Up to you. Nice breakthrough!
 
Re: 3/3 TomtheCat PMnadir~99, 3/4 AMPS @+11~296, +8~33 +8.5~

Libby and Lucy said:
ahhh, this green looks more like the Tom I remember. :mrgreen:

He does need a reduction. It's hard to say whether a 0.25 reduction or a shave would be better, since you worked up to this dose pretty quickly so we don't know for sure that the previous doses were too little. You can either go to 1.75 and hold it for a few days to see where he ends up, or shave to 1.9 and monitor like crazy. Up to you. Nice breakthrough!


Thanks guys..


I shot a 1.6u at +13. Now that I know where he's at, as they say, it is easier. I actually appreciated the guidance he gave me today. It was as if we were going in different directions, but only for a moment. And Tomorrow is another day. ;)


Ilkka
 
Re: 3/3 TomtheCat PMnadir~99, 3/4 AMPS @+11~296, +8~33 +8.5~

Sienne and Gabby said:
Those numbers that are below 40 earn a dose reduction for a longer term diabetic kitty. So, congrats! It's your call whether you want to reduce a full 0.25u or if you want to shave the dose.


You're right, of course -- although, considering how often I raised the dose in the first six days, doubling it in effect from 1u to 2 in quick raises until I found where the "too much" point was, it is hard to say what the earned dose decrease is a decrease from. Two units? he was barely on it.. and the numbers to the 2u could have been layering the preceding days. That's why I went to 1.6, which seems like a big decrease, but isn't in view of how recently he was there. The bg this morning, a 226, his lowest PS since we started, seems to confirm that. It is now +13 and I have not shot since he is still falling. As I said in my condo of this morning I don't ever have a problem shooting full dose into yellows, blues or even greens -- but in this case, because he is recently out of remission, the data is still not entirely clear.

Ilkka
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top