3/3 Tom nadir~99, 3/3 AMPS ~296, +5.5~217, +8~33, +8.5~75

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ilkka and Tom

Member Since 2010
In case I had any notions that he was not responding to Levemir, let them be dismissed.

PM dose is coming in about 2 1/2 hours. Not sure what it should be (I have a figure in mind, but why tell you guys what I am thinking.. ;) ). Of course the +11.5 is not in yet.

Ilkka
 
Re: 3/3 Tom nadir~99, 3/3 AMPS ~296, +5.5~217, +8~33, +8.5~7

Sorry - missed this. What did you shoot? I would have gone back to 1.75u or 1.5u, I think. Looks like you may be raising the dose too fast.

He might only need a short course of insulin to get him back in balance. Beau had to have an assist after 3 months when he got into some dinner rolls. It sent him into the 300s and he brought himself down from there, but then climbed right back up again. Over 9 days he got 9 shots as needed of just that bittiest amount he was on last (.05u).

Tom's gonna keep you on your toes!
 
Re: 3/3 Tom nadir~99, 3/3 AMPS ~296, +5.5~217, +8~33, +8.5~7

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Sorry - missed this. What did you shoot? I would have gone back to 1.75u or 1.5u, I think. Looks like you may be raising the dose too fast.

He might only need a short course of insulin to get him back in balance. Beau had to have an assist after 3 months when he got into some dinner rolls. It sent him into the 300s and he brought himself down from there, but then climbed right back up again. Over 9 days he got 9 shots as needed of just that bittiest amount he was on last (.05u).

Tom's gonna keep you on your toes!

I shot 1.6 at +13. He was at 321. Tom's just fine... the numbers make sense... now I know where he is dose wise. I su8re hope you're right about the short course of insulin.

Ilkka
 
Re: 3/3 Tom nadir~99, 3/3 AMPS ~296, +5.5~217, +8~33, +8.5~7

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Sorry - missed this. What did you shoot? I would have gone back to 1.75u or 1.5u, I think. Looks like you may be raising the dose too fast.

He might only need a short course of insulin to get him back in balance. Beau had to have an assist after 3 months when he got into some dinner rolls. It sent him into the 300s and he brought himself down from there, but then climbed right back up again. Over 9 days he got 9 shots as needed of just that bittiest amount he was on last (.05u).

Tom's gonna keep you on your toes!

Sheila,

thank you -- I agree with what you are saying. It is really true that I was pushing the dose, and breaking the rules in terms of how long to hold before raising, etc.. but I was very uncomfortable -- distressed -- by the 400s and 300s he was in. So I made quick adjustments to find "where he is" -- well I think I found him, a big hello from low greens.

If you look at today's (3/5) numbers -- and I still haven't shot -- I think it says that now is the time for some delicacy about dosing. I could have given him a full 1.6 to a ~226 -- no problem at all -- but I want to see where that bg is headed. If it turns back up, sure.. he gets a decreased dose late.

Interested in your view on this, though.

Ilkka
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top