3/3: Pablo's AMPS 308, PMPS 298, increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.
(No condo yesterday.)

WCR: Nothing unusual. He played with one of those pole toys last night for a few minutes before running out of energy. He was jumping and attacking it like a kitten, though. Cute.

This is Pablo's tenth cycle on 5.75 units. I've seen a lot of yellow with a smattering of blue and pink. On 2/28, Pablo would likely have it green because he was 103 at +6, but I had to sleep, so I fed him.

I think it's safe to increase him to 6 units in the morning? I also picked up R last night but have no intention of doing anything with it until this Saturday. Regarding the R...is Carolyn the one who needs to hold my hand through the process? :-D I need details on the protocol for giving it. Something like 0.1units at the same time as the usual dose of Lantus and test every hour for four hours to gauge the effects of the R?

Acro Report: I've been in touch with Dr. Lunn regarding SRT, and we're tentatively planning for May when school gets out for me. We're still discussing details.
 
Holly and Pablo said:
Acro Report: I've been in touch with Dr. Lunn regarding SRT, and we're tentatively planning for May when school gets out for me. We're still discussing details.

Hey - that's great! Glad she responded so quickly. What things has she asked you to do ahead of time?
 
Interestingly enough, she actually told me she didn't require a growth hormone level prior to treatment. She just needs to be reasonably sure that she's dealing with acromegaly. She asked me for pictures of Pablo, so I sent those as well as a list of his symptoms to date. She asked about x-rays, which I haven't done yet simply because he will probably have to be sedated. I dread sedating him.

Anyway, I'm still waiting for her second reply. I just asked her some questions about the procedure and if she thought Pablo would be a good candidate.

Other than asking about x-rays for organ enlargement, she hasn't told me anything else that is required. I'm just glad she responded so quickly the first time!
 
Re: R...yes, Carolyn is the only one "blessed" to help over in LL (she IS the most experienced available, so you'll be in good hands). You did get the basics correct, so you are ready. Really, I'm just responding to bump you again. If she doesn't stop by, send her a PM.

Did Dr. Lunn mention anything about the drug trial? I think the SRS is better for the long term, but I'm curious about the trial.
 
She didn't say anything about the drug trial. I wonder what would make someone want to do the drug trial? I guess the cost would be less if involved in the trial, but from what you said before, it's extremely expensive to maintain post-trial, right?

If I'm going to fly to Colorado, I'm doing whatever works best! :)
 
I didn't know you were considering SRS, cool!

Regarding dose, you definitely have room for an increase. 6 units sounds good to me, since Pablo has had some low blue on this dose. If that doesn't do the trick, I would probably increase every 6 cycles instead of waiting for 10 cycles like we would for a non acro.
 
You might want to drop Carolyn/Spot a PM a day or so before you're ready to try using R.

It looks like Pablo's been at this dose for 10 cycles. It should be fine to bump him up to 6.0u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top