3/3 Jake PMPS 202 New Member, +10=264 3/4 AMPS=126, PMPS=134

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda & Jake

Member Since 2013
Hello.

My name is Amanda and I recently found out my cat, Jake, is diabetic. I believe this was caused by the prednisalone he is currently taking for hypercalcemia.
His numbers are relatively low, 147 at +9. I gave him his first dose this morning when his BG level was 209.
I recently switched him from a half canned/half kibble diet to an all wet food diet to decrease the amount of carbs he is consuming.
My vet is not a fan of home testing or adjusting dosages according to his numbers. She has prescribed 1.0 unit 2x day. Dr. Lisa Pierson suggested I join
this board in order to in order to gather information and ask questions as I proceed with Jake's treatment.

I'm very tentative about managing Jake's insulin since I don't have the support of my vet so I will be extremely grateful for any input. I will be doing a +3 on him before I go to bed tonight
and a +10 when I get up in the morning.

Many thanks.

cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/3 Jake PMPS 202 New Member

Hi Amanda & Jake welcome to LL! This is the place where you can get all the help & info on managing Jake's diabetes. I read from your SS, that the PM dose is 0.75u? Whereas, your've said the dose is 1u 2 x day?
As you've switched Jake to a all canned diet, please take caution that his bg might be slipping especially around the nadir time when the Lantus is in full force.
 
Re: 3/3 Jake PMPS 202 New Member

Welcome to Lantus Land!!

I see you figured out the glitch with your SS. Jake's numbers are looking good. It's going to take about 5 - 7 days for the Lantus depot to form. Usually, you want to hold the initial dose until the depot has stabilized. However, if you get a pre-shot number in the neighborhood of 150, we suggest you post and ask for input before you shoot.

I wouldn't worry about the pred. Jake's insulin dose can be worked around the pred if necessary. It would be useful if you could note on your SS when you give the pred.

Please let us know if you have questions. The people here are incredibly generous with their time and knowledge. We're here to help.
 
Re: 3/3 Jake PMPS 202 New Member

Sienne,

So I should give Jake the 1.0 dose for 5 -7 days am and pm unless he's 150 or below?
I'm not able to monitor him during the day - I'm usually gone from 8:30 am to 7:30 pm.
I was worried that 1.0 might be too much based on his ps numbers.

I just did a +3 and it was 187.

How do I post his numbers in my subject line without having to do a new post each time?
 
Re: 3/3 Jake PMPS 202 New Member

Right Amanda, you go back to the top of the post & press the "edit" button, then you can update the bg number tested. If you have question, you can also put it on the topic line too. Remenber the edit will only revise the topic, if you need immediate attention, you will need to post a reply to your post to bump it up to the top.
 
Re: 3/3 Jake PMPS 202 New Member

To edit your subject line, you go to your first post in the thread. Above the text box, is an "Edit" button. Click on that button and make whatever changes you want. Then, click on "Submit" below the text box. Only the subject line from the first post in the thread is visible on the Board.

Depending on what Jake's numbers look like, yes, you'll want to hold the 1.0u dose. That amount is around the usual dose most cats start out on. There's a formula for calculating the initial dose of Lantus:
initial dose = 0.25 x ideal weight in kilograms​
Unless Jake is considerably under or overweight, in which case you use the kitty's actual weight, this formula will give you a good ballpark estimate for a starting dose.

If Jake's numbers are low at pre-shot, depending on your schedule, etc., there are options as to what you can do. If it looks like you're needing to skip shots due to low numbers, then it may make sense to reduce the dose since Lantus really needs to be given twice a day.

You may want to think about a timed feeder since you're gone for most of the day. It's a great way to insure there's food available throughout the day. An alternative is to make "catsickles." You mix Jake's low carb food with water so it's soupy. You then freeze the mixture in portions. I've used an ice cube tray to freeze the food. You can then leave several of the catsickles out for Jake while you're away.
 
Re: 3/3 Jake PMPS 202 New Member, +10=264

Thanks Sienne and Tortie58. I was able to add my +10 to the subject line.

Sienne, Jake isn't overweight, so unless he's at a 150 or below I will continue with the 1.0 dosage.
I will also pick up an ice tray from the grocery store tonight so I can make him a batch of
catsickles. Doesn't sound appetizing to me but I'm sure he will love them ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top