3/3 CRYSTAL AMPS 310 - dosing advice for tonight please

Status
Not open for further replies.

suki & crystal (GA)

Member Since 2014
yesterday

Following Crystal's brilliant start yesterday morning I knew it wouldn't last - this morning's AMPS was 310, + 3 324 but she has just come down to 288 at +4.5. As Peg said last night, "if she got one blue there must be some more in her somewhere" I guess we just have to keep on plugging away. I have held the current dose for 6 cycles now and would be glad of some experienced eyes on her SS just to confirm that a 5u increase tonight is okay?

I'm getting a bit ahead of myself but next Monday I have to go into hospital as a day case so apart from T/F/S before I leave home, she will be at least 12 hours without any tests. DH will be there but I can only really rely on him to feed her until I return early evening when I can do her PM shot. My query is what would be the best course of action just to keep her safe, I was even thinking of letting her have some normal cat food to run a bit high. Any thoughts or suggestions? Unfortuantely, the most obvious one of getting DH to test is not an option as he can't handle needles or blood (great backup eh?)

Suki and Crystal
 
Right now, your nadirs appear to be in a very safe range. You might hold the dose over the 3 days leading up to, plus the day of your hospital visit if you see much blue between then. That way, it would be stable over that period and maybe less likely to have anything surprising happen.
 
I don't know whether I did the right thing but went ahead and gave Crystal a 5u increase at PMPS, she was at 261. She has been mostly in the yellows today, hoping for a good second cycle.
 
I'd hold onto this dose for a couple more cycles yet. Sandy gave you a very nice pair of pink handcuffs yesterday to help you hold the dose. ;) Typically we suggest that you hold the dose for at least 8 cycles when cats first see blue.

ETA: Evidently I type too slow. If she's near her preshot value when you go to bed, I might set an alarm for +9 or +10 to get a spot check.

BJM has a good suggestion on holding the dose. For kitties that are running a lot of greens, we'll typically lower the dose the night before and day away so you'll know they are safe.
 
@Wendy&Neko, oops looks like i've gone and done the wrong thing here. Didn't realise the significance of the pink handcuffs, stupidly. Also I thought BJ was talking about the dose for next week, not tonight. Okay, I'll check the bedtime number and if it's similar to the 261 I'll recheck at +9 or +10? Am I looking out for very low numbers at that time? Do I lower the dose back to 40 or keep it at 45 now? Sorry for so many questions, am really annoyed with myself for putting Crystal at risk.
 
You just saw one high blue, so Crystal's likely not at risk, but your sleep might be. If you can get a +4.5 or +5 before bed (seems her onset is +4 or later), that'll give you a good idea of how the cycle is going. She could see some New Dose Wonkiness after the increase, which would mean a quiet night. I'll try to be on in 4 hours if you have questions. I don't think you'll see very low numbers (below 2.8/50), it's just that we use a little more caution once they start to see blue. Yesterday morning was a surprise and we don't know if that was her nadir or she was on her way up from a lower number.

You can stick with the new dose for now, unless the numbers tell you otherwise.
 
Thanks Wendy, I'll test her as you suggest and stay up as necessary. See you in a couple of hours, (she is just coming up to +1.5 at the moment).
 
am really annoyed with myself for putting Crystal at risk.

Number one: you test; Crystal's not at risk. If she drops low, you'll bring her up. (You may lose sleep, though!)

Number two: If so many of us didn't do things we later felt annoyed about we wouldn't need this little guy: :banghead:.

You're doing great! Look at the your progress.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Thanks Marilyn, that's kind of you. I get your point, I suppose we all make errors along the way. Next time I'll wait to get the go-ahead on dose increases. I've just done a +4.5 test and she's at 301 (AMPS = 261). I'm staying up for a while and will test again in an hour or so.
 
Unless you get anything a lot lower, looks like Crystal will let you sleep the night through. :)

Marilyn makes a good point. At some point Cyrstal will find her inner greens (hopefully sooner) so it'll be good to make sure you have some high carb or syrup around. And I used Mr. :banghead: yesterday too, he's popular around here.
 
Last edited:
Thanks Wendy, I'm staying up for another hour to get a +6 just to see how she goes, if there isn't much change, I'll go to bed but think I'll set the alarm early just for peace of mind.
 
I did mean with regard to the day trip. I think you want things nice and stable then so you aren't concerned about her.
Up until that hold period starts, continue as advised. You're starting to see blues, so you get to be patient a couple cycles longer, to help consolidate the progress.
 
You may have pinks, but they're low pinks. I call the 301 a PEACH! Almost yellow.

Given that you haven't seen that much activity on the 40, I don't think the 45 was a mistake. Resistance is tough - and once you really start seeing yellows with occasional blues and NO pinks, then you'll just keep on fighting back the resistance. I wouldn't recommend dropping back at this point. 3 weeks ago you were all pink. You are getting closer. Sometimes you just need to zoom your screen out and squint at your SS to see how far you've come.
 
at some point i realized this is all one great big learning curve . . . you learn as you go - everyone does.

Let's see how she does on the 45u. I'm kinda thinking that now that you're there, perhaps you should stick with the dose, but let's see what others say. Hmm, I can't seem to get the tagging feature to work. I'll shoot messages to Sandy & Suzanne & see what they think. Wendy's already following this post.

ah, good. I see Lu-An weighed in.
 
how funny. when i tried to click on their names when they popped up, it wouldn't add the rest of the name - so it just said@ Sandy (no space) - I clicked on the pop up and nothing got added.
 
Hello there :cool:

oops looks like i've gone and done the wrong thing here.
You never know, after all is said and done it may have been exactly the right thing.
If not, you make a course correction and continue on your expedition to find the illusive magic dose.
Keep in mind you really are still cutting a path through uncharted territory.

You can stick with the new dose for now, unless the numbers tell you otherwise.
I agree.
 
Hey Suki,

I also agree with everyone to hold this dose for a little while. It doesn't hurt to be extra safe at these doses! I found actually with Cobb, when I refused to go higher and gave him a little extra time to work the dose, it started working. Could be that his IAA was starting to break coincidentaly, but that's the frustrating thing about the resistance, it can break at anytime. As Sandy used to tell me, it breaks at inopportune times.

FWIW, over the Christmas holidays I went out of town and Matt confused the R and Lev...he was shooting 7uR by accident for several cycles. :eek: Being the good high doser that he was, Cobb weathered the mistake very well. But no lie, we were all pretty worried! (And I was 8 hours away!)

One other thing I want to add...say you see some movement in cycle 6 of this dose. I would take that into consideration when deciding on your next increase. You don't want that cycle to overlap with your being unavailable to test next week. Does that make sense?

~Suzanne
 
BJ, Lu-Ann, Julie, Wendy and Sandy - it certainly is a big learning curve for us, I just get to grips with one thing and then along comes something unexpected. At least I know I can call on you guys for solid advice. So, I've just done a +6 at 306 and I think she's okay to leave now but I'll probably get up early just to make sure.

All being well I will hold this dose now for 6 cycles but will check before I contemplate any increase. Hopefully there will be a few more blues. Sandy, are will still on for R on Thursday night or do you think I should postpone?

I'm off to my bed now, thank you all once again for your continued support, I'll check my post at AMPS if there are any further comments. Night night ......
 
Hi Suzanne, sorry I missed your post while I was slow typing on my tablet. What a frightening experience you had with Matt mixing up the insulin and what a trooper dear CoBb was to go along with the mistake - no chance of my hubby getting that involved (see my comments in first post) although he loves Crystal dearly she is my sole responsibility. Good point about not increasing prior to my hospital visit, I don't want to be worrying all day about her so it's best to play it safe. She's gently snoring now so I think I'll go and join her. Catch up in the morning.
 
Hi Suzanne, sorry I missed your post while I was slow typing on my tablet. What a frightening experience you had with Matt mixing up the insulin and what a trooper dear CoBb was to go along with the mistake - no chance of my hubby getting that involved (see my comments in first post) although he loves Crystal dearly she is my sole responsibility. Good point about not increasing prior to my hospital visit, I don't want to be worrying all day about her so it's best to play it safe. She's gently snoring now so I think I'll go and join her. Catch up in the morning.
Matt didn't like doing the shots. He was always scared he was going to mess up. I'm not sure he did it after that, to be honest. I brought Cobb into our relationship so he was ultimately my responsibility as well, but I didn't min. I'm sure you don't either!

Depending on how the next few cycles go, I think you'd be okay to use some R, but I always defer to Sandy on R decisions! :-)
 
Well we got through the night okay, apart from lack of sleep, and I checked her at +10 and there was no change. This morning her AMPS was 326 so waiting to see what this cycle will bring. back to bed for a couple of hours.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top