3/3 Crush hypo this am now fine (+8.5 103-ER/amps 466 +6.5 305)dosing help please

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Andrea and Crushy Carran, Mar 3, 2021.

  1. Andrea and Crushy Carran

    Andrea and Crushy Carran Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Had a dental last Wednesday. Had a Libre attached. Awoke at +8 to moaning and panting and walking in circles. Scanned Libre and saw Crush had been hypo for 2 hours. Brought her up with food, but she was still moaning, panting, and pacing. Took to ER - said vitals are fine. Took to regular vet - said she was fine. Reduced dose from 1.5 this morning and shot her around 10:15 a.m. (1-1/2 hours late).

    Do you think I should reset? Stay at 1.0?
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1arIWRdfGS81lwijc8D8G8FJQx6i41rNnpoa0lFj8Ruw/edit?usp=sharing
     
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    After an symptomatic hypo some cats become very sensitive to insulin. Please post the pmps and ask for dosing advice then.
     
  3. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    I'm sorry you went through that with Crush. That must have been terrifying but I'm so glad he is okay!

    I don't know how often you're checking the Libre but a good rule of thumb is to always check at +2, as that's when Lantus onsets for most cats. If the +2 is lower than the preshot it means numbers will very likely go lower so you will want to get more BG checks in so you can catch him if he goes too low again.
     
  4. Marj & Djoko

    Marj & Djoko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    I am wondering if you have tested with a strip as well (I assume so but wanted to check). Was it a big gap between the result on the freestyle and on the strip? (sometimes the libre shows me Djoko is in hypo where he is at 4.8 on a strip). I am glad he is well then!
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2021
    Wendy&Neko and tiffmaxee like this.
  5. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Like Marj said, I've heard (and read in the research) that Libre lows should be double checked manually with a BG meter.

    The 40's you saw mean that the 1.5 unit dose should be reduced to 1.25 units. FWIW, some cats not on insulin test in the 40's on a human meter. We just don't want a cat on insulin to test that low so reduce the dose when we see those numbers.
     

Share This Page