3/3 Chuck PMPS "HI"; 493 +2; 354 +4; 315 +6; 293 +10

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chuck and Susan

Member Since 2010
Is he bouncing again? I can't adjust his dose at this late time...

350 +11
Shot 0.1U
248 +2
144 +4
191 +6
438 +11
Shot 0.1U
508 +3
567 +5
578 +7
591 +8
597 +10
HI PMPS
 
Re: 3/3 Chuck +11 438 (AMBG/AMPS); 0.1U; +3 508; +5 567; +7

I'm sorry Chuck is so high.

Come on down, Chuck. You're upsetting and scaring your mom.

I guess you can shoot at +11, again, tonight. Let's see what others have to say about it. That will be 3 +11s in a row.

I hope he decides to turn around, soon.
 
Re: 3/3 Chuck +3 508; +5 567; +7 578; +8 591

Still climbing... How much longer can this go on? Would it be best to shoot at +11 again?
 
Re: 3/3 Chuck +3 508; +5 567; +7 578; +8 591

I'm dealing with the same thing. My cat just tested at 500, and then he was hungry so he ate, and who knows how high he'll be by shot time.. So, I know how these numbers feel to us.

I think shooting at +11 again, will be okay. I will ask for more opinions on this. Do you have to leave for work tomorrow? I just want to know if you'll be home or not, in case all the early shots bring him down, tomorrow.
 
Re: 3/3 Chuck +3 508; +5 567; +7 578; +8 591

I have to leave for work no later than 9:15 a.m. I can test pretty much up until that time, and come home at lunch time (about 12:30 p.m.) and test again.
 
Re: 3/3 Chuck +3 508; +5 567; +7 578; +8 591

You've done a really good job of getting tests the last couple of days.

My thought would be to not shoot early tonight but to increase his dose. I'd also like Jill or Libby to check in due to their familiarity with Chuck. If they don't get to your condo before +11, then you might want to go ahead and shoot early and hold off on the increase until they weigh in. Chuck got a little too dramatic on .25u before.
 
Re: 3/3 Chuck +3 508; +5 567; +7 578; +8 591; 597 +10

Susan,
He might be having these higher numbers because of the 2 early shots you already gave because they act like a dose increase and sometimes too much insulin will cause high numbers. I'm not saying that he doesn't need a dose increase maybe in the future, but we think it would be best to hold off tonight's shot until +12 and to shoot his regular dose, and let him settle.
Does that sound okay to you?

ETA: And, because of the two early shots, I would be diligent in testing tonight. If you can, get a before bed test, and depending upon that number, probably set an alarm to get a test around mid-cycle.
 
Re: 3/3 Chuck +3 508; +5 567; +7 578; +8 591; 597 +10

I was just getting ready to test at +11 and shoot, but thought I'd check here first. So, the plan is to test at +12, shoot the regular dose, and get spot checks as much as possible. I know I can get a +2 and a +4 before I crash, will have to set the alarm to get one after that -- +6 or +7, which would be better? And, should I set an alarm to get one closer to +10?
 
Re: 3/3 Chuck +3 508; +5 567; +7 578; +8 591; 597 +10

I always appreciate a +10 or +11 to help make decisions when needed.

Yes, the plan is to let him get back to normal for a bit, and shoot his regular dose at +12. He must be hungry having to wait for his supper. Sorry, Chuck :-| .

I will go look at your ss and try to see if I can tell if he nadirs closer to +6 or +7, but that could be off too, because of the two early shots.
 
Re: 3/3 Chuck +3 508; +5 567; +7 578; +8 591; 597 +10

From what I can see, I would say to do your usual testing tonight including the before bed test, and then (like I said before, depending upon that number) set an alarm for a +6. If he's not low, you can switch off the light and go right back to sleep. If he is low or questionable, then please post for advice. And a +10 or +11 would be nice if you can get one.
 
Re: 3/3 Chuck +3 508; +5 567; +7 578; +8 591; 597 +10

Hey Susan, would you mind adding the time you shot the insulin to your Remarks section of your spreadsheet?
 
Re: 3/3 Chuck PMPS "HI": 0.10U

Never, ever, ever has he read "HI" on the meter... I don't even know what to put on the spreadsheet.
 
Re: 3/3 Chuck PMPS "HI"; 493 +2

I think I'm in for a long night... +2 drop of over 100 probably means +4 drop of at least that much, followed by another drop at +6, and so on...
 
Re: 3/3 Chuck PMPS "HI"; 493 +2

Don't always assume that numbers are going to plummet -- but then again, you know Chuck better than any of us. If he really does start to drop fast and furiously, you can always give him some food (you gauge the carb level) to slow things down. Always remember, as long as you have your meter, strips and food, you can direct the cycle.

I think it's a very good thing you didn't shoot early or increase tonight.
 
Re: 3/3 Chuck PMPS "HI"; 493 +2; 354 +4

Another 100 point drop in 2 hours. Got the alarm set for 11:30 now.

He's being so good about this, even though his ears are getting poked a lot this weekend...
 
I missed the +8 (alarm didn't go off), but +10 is 293. Morning meal is 5:30 AM, I'll test then and probably shoot the full 0.1U dose...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top