3/3 Angel AMPS 104, +2 113, +8 299, PMPS 203, +3 50, +4.5 41, +5.5 40, +6 50, +7 45

Lisa and Angel

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-27-angel-amps-157-3-95-6-92.287130/

Hi all,

Angel's been a little all over the place today, I'm thinking she was being a little bouncy ball this AM from last night's lime. Now we've hit another lime at PM. And I'm wondering what to do with tomorrow's dosing? We already earned a reduction yesterday, and I know no back-to-back reductions with TR unless she goes under 40.

I just got that 41 so I'll be testing again to see if she'll go up or down. If she goes down I know we'll have to reduce, but if she doesn't? That 41 has me doubting. Advice welcome!
 
Also, she's still drinking tons of water some days. Is that normal? It's like she's fine when she's below about 120-ish, but above that, even for a few hours, and she's back to drinking and peeing enormous amounts.
 
The yellows could be from the limes as well as the dives. In the last 2 PM cycles she was clearing the bounce and the extra downward momentum saw her drop 150+ points in 3/4 hours. That kind of dive can also contribute to bouncing, so you want to see if you can use food to flatten the curve.

Tonight's lime could still be the 3U depot at work, so yes you would not take a back-to-back reduction, but allow 4-6 cycles for the depot to adjust to the reduction.

Also, she's still drinking tons of water some days. Is that normal? It's like she's fine when she's below about 120-ish, but above that, even for a few hours, and she's back to drinking and peeing enormous amounts.
Yes, I've seen that with Bandit. In lower numbers, she isn't drinking and peeing as much as in higher numbers. The renal threshold can vary from cat to cat.
 
The yellows could be from the limes as well as the dives. In the last 2 PM cycles she was clearing the bounce and the extra downward momentum saw her drop 150+ points in 3/4 hours. That kind of dive can also contribute to bouncing, so you want to see if you can use food to flatten the curve.

Yeah, I'm not sure if you saw the notes but she puked right after PMPS, so I think that contributed to the big dive she had. She ate small amounts of HC at +1 and +2 and +3 though. Would a bigger quantity of food help? I didn't give her as much as she normally gets as I didn't want to overwhelm her tummy and cause her to puke again. I'm not sure why she puked in the first place as that's very rare for her.


Tonight's lime could still be the 3U depot at work, so yes you would not take a back-to-back reduction, but allow 4-6 cycles for the depot to adjust to the reduction.


Yes, I've seen that with Bandit. In lower numbers, she isn't drinking and peeing as much as in higher numbers. The renal threshold can vary from cat to cat.

Thank you! I'll stick to 2.75U then barring any surprises. And thanks for sharing Bandit's experience! Here's hoping for more time under the threshold:cat: but not too low Angel!
 
Wow! This is after HC at +3 and +4.5? You might need to test and feed every 20-30 mins in cycles like tonight.

Yes! She sure does like keeping me on my toes. Although she's beginning to protest the numerous testing we've had to do recently... But I'll test again in 5 minutes and see where she's at.
 
We're up to 50 again:cat: if I test again in 30 minutes and she's still climbing, is it safe for me to go to bed at that point? And continue with the 2.75U tomorrow, or reduce anyways since she hit 40?
 
Although she's beginning to protest the numerous testing we've had to do recently..
If you can't test as often as 20-30 mins, you want to feed HC/MC every 20-30 mins and try to test every hour at least. I understand that some cats just don't cooperate with testing as much :-)

We're up to 50 again:cat: if I test again in 30 minutes and she's still climbing, is it safe for me to go to bed at that point?
When was the last time she had HC? She might dip again after the carbs have worn off - which is typically 2 hours after the meal.


And continue with the 2.75U tomorrow, or reduce anyways since she hit 40?
She would have earned a reduction if she had dropped below 40. Since she didn't you would hold the dose.
 
If you can't test as often as 20-30 mins, you want to feed HC/MC every 20-30 mins and try to test every hour at least. I understand that some cats just don't cooperate with testing as much :)


When was the last time she had HC? She might dip again after the carbs have worn off - which is typically 2 hours after the meal.



She would have earned a reduction if she had dropped below 40. Since she didn't you would hold the dose.

Thanks for that tip! She's normally super patient but I can tell she's getting fed up with the frequency. I can't say I blame her! We've had a lot of frequent testing cycles lately.

She had HC 45 minutes ago after the 50 test. But she always has HC dry food available (though she prefers wet).

Hold the dose, got it! :bighug:
 
Why do you feed HC dry if she prefers wet? Feeding carbs and giving insulin is like trying to putting out a fire while throwing gasoline at it! We have seen cats go off insulin once the caregiver took out the HC dry from their diet.

I will elaborate further later but in short, the meds she's on make her bowels extremely sensitive and she can only tolerate vet-grade gastro intestinal dry food for the majority of her food intake right now. Any more than a small portion of wet (any wet) or other dry food causes explosive and unyielding diarrhea. I have a thread on over general with more info. If all goes well, she'll have a surgery somewhere in the next couple of months that will hopefully eliminate the need for these meds, meaning she can finally go back to an all wet diet as we all prefer.

I'm sorry I haven't posted sooner since this morning, it's been a haze of naps and waking up for testing every so often. I've decided to skip her shot as she's still quite low and flat, and I desperately need to get some uninterrupted sleep. Looking at her past data, I don't trust that she'll climb up enough to be safe without monitoring.
 
Angel had a PMPS of 146, not bad after a skip! :)


Edit: I'll make a new thread tomorrow, hopefully she takes it easy tonight with her depot depleted.
 
I would take the reduction for safety. While yes, ordinarily back to back reductions following TR, are not usually recommended, I have shared with you in the past that since you have dry food in the mix, it becomes more difficult to offer specific advice since you aren’t following TR.
 
I would take the reduction for safety. While yes, ordinarily back to back reductions following TR, are not usually recommended, I have shared with you in the past that since you have dry food in the mix, it becomes more difficult to offer specific advice since you aren’t following TR.

Yeah, I think I will go for the reduction tomorrow, since the +2 already indicates another active cycle... And that's with little to no depot.

I want to keep her tightly regulated, but keeping her safe is more important. And as much as it's killing me to admit, I can't take many more nights like the last. I have a chronic illness myself, and insomnia on top of that so I already don't get as much sleep as I need. This has been really hard.

On top of that, all the wet food she's getting during these lows is causing diarrhea again. She's not thrilled with me atm with all of the testing and butt washing.
 
Back
Top