3/29 Pumpkin AMPS 359 +10 312 PMPS 338 +2 309 +3 315

Good plan on the increase. Look like a little action tonight. That's what a +2 lower then preshot can indicate. Hoping for more yellows tonight.
 
And we're already fizzling out with a 315 at +3.

Regular vet is on vacation, the one who replied is counseling patience and taking things super slow (2-3 weeks between increases, no rush on the dental). Once we get to 5U though, that's the threshold in the AAHA guidelines to start investigating possible causes of apparent insulin resistance, and my rate of increase is within their guidelines as well, even if it's on the higher end.

I'll see how things go through the weekend and then I'm going to push on them to re-evaluate, or else take her to a dental specialist myself. I wish I felt like I was more of a team with the vets, but I don't really know how to find someone who gets it.
 
Unfortunately, vet specialists, including dental, typically need a vet referral. I was lucky that I'd gone to my vet for many years and had a history with her. Though nothing as complicated as Neko was. The vet didn't know FD that well, she was thrilled I actually wanted to treat Neko, many pet parents didn't. We butted heads a few times on some diabetes topics, but she was great on all the other kitty conditions, and willing to learn, so I stuck with her.

When a cat gets to 5 units dose, we typically move to 0.5 unit increases, unless tweaking a mostly good dose that already has some greens. When a cat gets to six units without being regulated, there are some additional blood tests we suggest, though bad teeth can definitely make a difference. Keeping paws crossed you'll see movement before then. Insulin is a hormone and it's a matter of getting to that fitting dose. Sometimes it's like a light switch went on.
 
Unfortunately, vet specialists, including dental, typically need a vet referral.
Even if they take self-referrals, it looks like veterinary dentists in my area currently have 2-6 month backlogs. I really hope the regular vet can handle the procedure. I’ll be especially annoyed if I need a specialist and we waited three months just to start the clock on a consult. Water under the bridge, I guess.
 
Back
Top