3/29 Oren; amps-313;+8.5-371;pmps-326;pm+5-390;

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oren sure is running high - sending "come down" vines your way. At least the blacks are gone. I'm wondering if we should be fast-tracking him every 4 cycles, but with your schedule i'm not sure if that's a good idea or not. I think I'll get some other eyes on Oren and see what other experienced folk think.

Have you ever looked at Toby's spreadsheet? It might be helpful for you to look at the earlier section of it until he started seeing blues.

edited to add: how is he feeling overall? Is he playing and seeming like he feels decent? The 5 Ps that are helpful to hear about: playing, purring, preening, pooping & peeing.
 
@julie & punkin (ga) ; i'm a little confused why am/pm shots were different doses w/ Toby in the beginning? half unit more at PM then AM. also, when he switched to Levemir the dosage really rocketed? is it dosed the same as Lantus? Oh, and what is 'R', I see that on other kitties pages too, is that another kind of insulin?
 
I think the differing shots am/pm may have been before Peg got to FDMB or at least to this board.

When switching from Lantus to Lev, we suggest people reduce the dose to 70% of the Lantus dose. Then shortly after that Peg began "fast-tracking" Toby, increasing every 4 cycles when she could, sometimes holding a little bit longer, until she got to a dose that was getting him into better blood sugar control. When Toby was controlled by a dose, she held the dose. When he lost regulation at a dose, she increased.

When a cat gets to about 6u per shot we usually start thinking about getting the cat tested for a high dose condition. Oren's not to 6u yet, but he's likely got something going on. Toby hasn't been tested so we don't know if he has acro or iaa, but obviously he has something causing a need for a high dose.

Yes, Lantus & Lev are dosed the same, it's just when the switch is made typically we reduce it and increase if needed. Some cats don't need as high of a dose on Lev.
 
as for how he's feeling, I'd say pretty good. definitely 5 pees in place (peeing overall reduced), no poop today yet, but since adding the mirilax a few days ago he's doing better w/ that. LOT's of purring and he usually gives himself a bath after breakfast, and at other times too. I can pretty much guess when he'll be in 300s by his demeanor these days, although even in the lower 400s he doesn't act very subdued.

What is R?
 
R is a secondary insulin used as a bolus, meaning additional, to the Lantus/Lev insulin. It's a faster acting insulin that's in and done in about 4ish hours in most cats. People use it to bring down higher numbers so that the Lantus/Lev can work better. They do a great job of holding lower numbers flat - so when you see people's subject lines and the tests are mostly flat because they they started lower, that's Lantus or Lev at its best.
 
Definitely worth something when they start ditching some of those blacks and reds. I see on the SS that he was chasing around with his sister too. :)

I like Julie's suggestion of fast tracking, but I think I'd modify it somewhat so that you'd only fast track if you can get 4 cycles worth of tests in. So for example, this weekend because you weren't working, you got a total of 5 tests at this dose and that's enough to see it's not doing anything, so I'd increase in the morning. On the days when you work, we'd wait for four cycles when you can get that mid cycle test in to tell us how he's doing, and after 4 of those then do the increase.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top