3/29 Moron's PMBG 55 +13 129 +14 177 skipped shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

jgriffith

Member Since 2012
Hello again,
I could not get home early today to take +8 or later. I tested him at PMPS 10:30PM CENTRAL TIME and there it was 44 so I tested again and got 55. He is acting normal and eating. I did not give insulin. I fed as usual...oops Thanks JILL
 
Re: 3/29 Moron's PMPS 55

Whew! Glad you did not shoot!
If you want to change your Subject line to 3/39 Moron's PMBG 55, then we may prevent a few heart attacks in LL tonight. :mrgreen: The PMBG means PM Blood Glucose. It reflects no shot was given.

I have not read through all your posts. I was wondering tho, do you leave food out during the day for Moron? Just in case he starts going low...would he eat on his own?
 
Re: 3/29 Moron's PMBG 55

carolynandlatte said:
Whew! Glad you did not shoot!
If you want to change your Subject line to 3/39 Moron's PMBG 55, then we may prevent a few heart attacks in LL tonight. :mrgreen:

I have not read through all your posts. I was wondering tho, do you leave food out during the day for Moron? Just in case he starts going low...would he eat on his own?
I do leave food out. He has had diarrhea for some time. He was on Fancy feast classic chicken only. I had had some success feeding him raw in the past but then my cats started to turn there noses up at in. That was lamb. So I bought some Nature's Variety raw rabbit last night. He ate raw last night along with some NV canned rabbit. No diarrhea through the night then he had some this morning but litter box and my upstairs did not smell nearly as bad as it had been while he was eating the FF chicken. When he has diarrhea how does that effect his dose? And what if the rabbit is alot less carbs? Wonder why he is low?
 
Re: 3/29 Moron's PMBG 55 what do I do next?

I fed him so I suppose his 129 +13 is not telling us much? I have never shot this low so I do not know what to do. Do I skip or keep testing?
 
Re: 3/29 Moron's PMBG 55 +13 129 +14 177what do I do next?

Hi Jill,
I am sorry no one else has been around tonight to help you out. You are probably going on +14 now. If I were in your situation of uncertainty, I would consider no shot (or pretend it was a furshot and the insulin did not go in). You should expect Moron to probably be a little high tomorrow for AMPS.

If for some reason you did shoot his dose this evening, you will want to make sure you give insulin tomorrow 12hrs after this evenings shot time (this would NOT be your regular shot time). You will also want to make sure you get a +1 and/or +2 to see if he is continuing to drop. If numbers are steady or dropping, you keep testing until you are past nadir OR get 2-3 rising numbers that are not food induced. This link may offer you some guidance if no one is around:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147
It talks about handling low numbers
DON'T PANIC! or HOW TO HANDLE LOW NUMBERS

First, try to not panic. Post to the Lantus Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board. Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 icon to the first post in your condo. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.

It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range. ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Janet & Binky's Food Chart for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.

If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:

staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
twitching
stupor
convulsions or seizures
coma

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.

I hope you guys are ok!

I apologize, but I have to get to bed. If you post here and do not get a response, please try posting on the health forum.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top