3/29 Leo AMPS 437, +4 322, +8 193

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
3/28 Condo

Good Morning LL,

I went BTB after Leo's shot this morning and awoke to the autofeeder in a million pieces! Its a 2 tray feeder and both trays were out and scattered throughout the kitchen :roll: :roll: :lol: This poor cat is starving to death!! :lol:

We had a good test, shoot and feed this morning and Leo got a dosecrease as well, i hope it brings his overall numbers down. The dosecrease also explains his +4, he always stays pink for a few cycles after an increase. I did email his vetty yesterday but she hasn't gotten back to me. I think its because she was going to get in touch with a diabetic cat guru over at the university about Leo and Levemir.

I am going away tomorrow for the weekend, since Leo was dx i haven't gone anywhere other than work and i'm really apprehensive about leaving him, but i did speak to my dad yesterday and he told me he really missed Leo and was wondering when i was bringing his "cat" home :lol: So any doubts i had about leaving are gone now! :-D I am dragging my BFF to Calgary to visit my sister for the weekend and do some major shopping as well!

Have a great day everyone!
 
Re: 3/29 Leo AMPS 437, +4 322

Hi guys .. oh man, poor leo! I can't believe you would starve that little guy :lol: :lol: I think a weekend away is just what you need .. we never went anywhere when mocha was on insulin so I understand your apprehension .. but your dad takes such great care of his cat :lol: have a great day!
 
Re: 3/29 Leo AMPS 437, +4 322

Poor starving Leo! :lol: :lol: He knows there is supposed to be food in there! Have you thought of finding a lower calorie food that he could eat more of? Unless he's as picky as Tess and will only eat certain foods. :roll:

Have fun getting away for the weekend. You need a little fun time, especially the shopping! :-D :-D

Levemir is different in different cats. There usually is a much later nadir, for Tess it started out about +8 , then +10 and now is often overlapping into the next cycle. Greacie overlaps into the next cycle often too. It does make for some pretty late nights. When we switched it was because Tess hat a very early onset w/ big drops on Lantus, Lev has smoothed things out a lot.

Have you read this comparison? http://www.diabetesclinic.ca/en/diab/2treat/lantus_vs_levemir.htm There are others things you can print out and give to your vet too. Check w/ Marje, she probably has the links handy. Our vet had never used it either, but thought it worth a try. She also admits I've done a lot more research on FD than she has time for. Get the data printed out and send it to her. Lev is being used for cats more and more. As you know ECID and some do better on Lantus , some on Levemir.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top