3/29 (late) - Scooter - PMPS 97, +3 36, +6 49

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ry & Scooter

Member Since 2011
Hypo currently in progress :( No symptoms other than rabid hunger. I gave him about a tb of 6% with a dab of corn syrup mixed in. He's laying on the floor cleaning himself now.

Retesting in 15.

Look at all the pretty greens on our SS though!! Woohoo Scooter!
 
Re: 3/29 (late) - Scooter - PMPS 97, +3 36 gah!!!!

Do you have any food with gravy, like the HC Fancy Feast or Friskies varieties? Sometimes just a spoonful of the gravy without the food will boost them up. You don't want him to get too full that he doesn't want to eat anymore, as you may be testing and feeding for a while. Please keep posting his numbers, so we can help you.
 
Re: 3/29 (late) - Scooter - PMPS 97, +3 36 gah!!!!

No gravy food right now :/ he only has one can of food left actually. Going to get some more this afternoon, Friday is our shopping day.

Scooter is really good about consistently eating though... I'm not too worried about filling him up, I think his stomach is a bottomless pit :-D

+3.5 56
 
Re: 3/29 (late) - Scooter - PMPS 97, +3 36 gah!!!!

Please keep testing every 20 to 30 minutes for a while, a the syrup will wear off at some point, and he could go back down. He has a couple of hours to go before the nadir of the insulin.

I always keep a few cans of HC food (which mostly gathers dust) in my pantry next to the Karo. I would pick up a few cans of HC to stash away like that. I hope he has enough food to last him through this morning.
 
Re: 3/29 (late) - Scooter - PMPS 97, +3 36 gah!!!!

Have you gotten another test, yet?
I am going to have to leave, but others will be around to help you. Please keep testing, like I said the syrup can wear off.
 
Re: 3/29 (late) - Scooter - PMPS 97, +3 36 gah!!!!

Good catch.

Like Dyana pointed out, stashing a couple of cans of HC isn't a bad idea and, in a pinch, using syrup (corn syrup, maple syrup, honey) works just fine. FWIW, because cats are masters of Murphy's Law, I'd suggest keeping a few cans of LC in reserve. I always figure that Gabby would arrange to drop into really low numbers on a day when we're having a blizzard and getting out to get her food would be challenging.
 
Re: 3/29 (late) - Scooter - PMPS 97, +3 36 gah!!!!

I fell asleep!

+5 43.

I normally do have HC food but if you read my last thread I've been struggling a lot with money lately and I haven't been able to get any more. My mom is sending me some money tomorrow to help me get by. I dont need to feel any more guilty about it than I already do. :sad:
 
Re: 3/29 (late) - Scooter - PMPS 97, +3 36 gah!!!!

Ry,

NIce catch! Here's the link to your last condo. (I'm sure you were so concerned with the 36 that you were not worrying about that! ;-) )

I sincerely doubt that it's anyone's intent to make you feel guilty...Dyana and Sienne are just making suggestions to try to help you handle the low numbers. I know it's stressful when $$ is tight, I'm sorry you have been struggling! However, since Scooter seems to be working on earning reductions pretty frequently lately, I hope you will see the wisdom in their suggestions. In the meantime, you have karo, it's fine to add a bit to the LC to boost the carbs and bring Scooter up. I hope you gave him a bit more LC/karo with the 43.....any further tests?

I didn't know about your last thread (and probably neither did Dyana or Sienne) because I don't spend much time on Health, what time I have to spend on the board is usually spent here in LL. I hope the growth/abscess(?) on his leg is improving.

Can you please update your header when you can with the most recent tests so we can keep an eye on Scooter? Thank you! Congrats on the reduction!
 
Re: 3/29 (late) - Scooter - PMPS 97, +3 36 gah!!!!

My intent was to not make you feel badly. I wasn't on the board much the last 48 hrs since I'm recovering from surgery. I'm not sure which brand of food you're using. People will sometimes have coupons for cat food they are giving away. If you check in the Supply Closet, people may post if they have coupons or other supplies. Also, if you check the manufacturers' websites, they will often have links or coupons for their products. (I know Wellness has links that work for both the US and Canada.)

Again, I'm not sure which brands you use but if you are able to buy the largest size cans possible, at least for LC, they are the most economical.

FWIW, I don't use HC food since it upsets Gabby's GI track. Using syrup is just fine if you need HC to bump up numbers.
 
Re: 3/29 (late) - Scooter - PMPS 97, +3 36 gah!!!!

I feed him Special Kitty Select, it's more or less Fancy Feast (ingredients are identical) but even cheaper ($5 + tax for 12 cans - still pricy, Canada is just like that). He just didn't do as well on the plain SK/Friskies pates. I wish it came in bigger cans! I would stock up on a big amount but hauling home a hundred cans of cat food on the public bus isn't easy @-)

He is surfing in the 40-50's now, I can't get him up any higher even with syrup/HC treats. He is completely unconcerned about all the fuss I'm making... he's just lounging in his chair, watching my rat Bernard intently. :lol:
 
Re: 3/29 (late) - Scooter - PMPS 97, +3 36 gah!!!!

I would try adding more syrup to the food, try to get and keep him up above 50. Surfing in the 40s doesn't allow much margin for safety, and he has nothing further to prove this cycle. He already earned a reduction. Also, since he's still low, I suggest testing every 30 minutes until you get his numbers stabilized in a safe range.

Please do not become complacent when your cat is in low numbers.
 
Re: 3/29 (late) - Scooter - PMPS 97, +3 36 gah!!!!

+7.5 59.

IMG_3421.jpg
 
Re: 3/29 (late) - Scooter - PMPS 97, +3 36 gah!!!!

You're welcome! :smile:

Here are the tests from your SS....it would help if you updated your header, but I will list them in the condo so others can keep up on his status.

PMPS 97
+3 36
+3.25 49
+3.5? 56
+5 43
+6 49
+7 43
+7.5 59

You were concerned about Scooter being hypo at 36, 43 should be just as concerning...that's within meter variance, so it's basically the same number. Cats can go from seeming to be fine to full blown hypo literally in minutes, so allowing him to surf in the 40s is risky, especially if you are not testing frequently.

Ry, I'm glad he is lounging and looking happy....but I always put safety first, and I make no apology for that. There is no benefit to putting him at risk...please try to get his numbers up and keep them there. Aren't you planning on leaving to go shopping at some point? I would not recommend doing that until he is stable in safe numbers.
 
I understand about meter variance, but isn't it just as likely that he could be 20% higher than 43? I don't think that is a fair argument.

I could have tested him more, yes. I already knew this.

I don't know if I will be able to go out today. It's raining and storming pretty hard. It wouldn't be for another 6-7 hours anyways. Buses don't run consistently until 2PM.
 
Are you willing to put your cat at risk? I am simply giving you information, Ry. It's your choice to put your cat at risk.

What is the benefit to allowing him to surf in the 40s? I see only risk, no benefit.
 
I'm not trying to create conflict, my intent is twofold...to make sure you understand the risk, and to make sure others who are lurking/reading also understand the risk and don't copy what you are doing. I'm not trying to upset you Ry, but I can't let situations like this go without commenting or it puts other cats at risk as well. I hope you understand.
 
I'm just posting real quick from work, and didn't have time to read every post, sorry. I just wanted to check in to see your Scooter was doing.
I'm sorry, I didn't mean to make you feel uncomfortable this morning, if I did. I had to type quick and get off the computer to get to work and wasn't sure how big the can of cat food you had was. And I was just trying to tell you what I do.

That's a beautiful picture of him. I always love pictures of Scooter. Take more :-D
 
Its fine, I got a bit of money from my mom today and I managed to find some good sales at a grocery store doing mass renovations. I got 2 weeks of food plus a few cans of HC gravy for $10 :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top