3/29 Gobbles PMPS 353 +4.25 383

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=91975&p=986243#p986243

Gobbles woke up in his kissy, purry mood. He didn't eat too much for breakfast but is content and went back to bed after I had to force Tylan on him. Pretty nasty stuff~on my first try, he shook his head and spit most, if not all, of it up. Gosh I wish he'd show some blue numbers today...he's been mostly flat pink these past few days.

RAFFLE UPDATE

As of 3/29 @7 A.M. the new raffle ticket sales (drumroll) --

party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat $885 RAISED!!! party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat

Today's Ticket Promo: Anyone who buys a ticket(s) gets ONE FREE TICKET!!!

There are only 9 days left to buy a raffle ticket. We're just $115 shy of the $1,000 goal. The prizes are wonderful and a ticket only costs $2 (or 3/$5, 7/$10, 15/$15 and 25/$25). For more information, see prizes and buy tickets: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=90614&p=970877#p970877
 
Re: 3/29 Gobbles AMPS 358

This morning's shot was dose #11 of his .25 decrease on 3/24. We've seen a few yellows, but mostly pink for a few days.... I am now seriously considering a dose increase. Therefore (and I'm going to type this in the very large font so Mr. Sugar here sees it) Gobbles will get an increase (well, maybe....) Anyone have an opinion on it?
 
Re: 3/29 Gobbles AMPS 358

Morning Kat, sending healing and appy vines for Gobbles. I guess the Tylan is a liquid from the sounds of it. Hope he soon gets better and slides down today. Thanks for visiting Maggie yesterday.
 
Re: 3/29 Gobbles AMPS 358

Ann & Maggie11 said:
Morning Kat, sending healing and appy vines for Gobbles. I guess the Tylan is a liquid from the sounds of it. Hope he soon gets better and slides down today. Thanks for visiting Maggie yesterday.
Sure Ann; give Ms. Maggie a belly scritch from me! The Tylan is actually a powder--I administer 1/16th t. of it 2x a day. It is a very nasty tasting medicine. I tried mixing it in his wet food, but he turned his nose up at that. So I put it in a syringe (no needle) with a little warm water to liquify it. I am going to pick up some baby food and tuna (w/oil) today and see if I can sneak it to him like that...and also see if there is a compounder in my area....
 
Re: 3/29 Gobbles AMPS 358 ? dosecrease opinions ?

Hi Kat, I wonder if Gerber chicken & gravy bf Stage 2 might help as a mixer. I use it to mix some of Maggie's vitamins, and it blends in well. I also add a little water.
 
Re: 3/29 Gobbles AMPS 358 ? dosecrease opinions ?

Ann & Maggie11 said:
Hi Kat, I wonder if Gerber chicken & gravy bf Stage 2 might help as a mixer. I use it to mix some of Maggie's vitamins, and it blends in well. I also add a little water.
I just jotted that on my shopping list. He really needs to get this medicine into him, and he has to take it for 2 weeks!!! Poor little guy is hiding under the bed now (when I tried dispensing it a second time). I am thinking that if I divided it into 2 servings and mixed it with HC (not sure how many carbs in the food you suggested) he MIGHT eat it... His BG's are somewhat high, but it is probably more important for him to get the medicine vs. higher BG's from HC...
 
Re: 3/29 Gobbles AMPS 358 ? dosecrease opinions ?

Hi Kat,
The Gerber bf is 2 carbs for the jar. I only give Mags maybe half a teaspoon, add the mix, add some drops of water, and she licks it from a tablespoon. Spacing it out to two might help. It must taste bitter (Tylan).
The Gerber bf does have cornstarch in it, but I never notice a spike with Mags.
The Beechnut chicken & broth bf stage 2 has no cornstarch. That's another choice. Mags prefers Gerber over Beechnut! Cats!! :lol:
 
Re: 3/29 Gobbles AMPS 358 ? dosecrease opinions ?

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'd go ahead and increase.

You can also purchase blank capsules and fill them with the Tylan.
You were reading my mind Sienne! Actually, I was going to call the local mom & pop pharmacy and see if they sell empty capsules :) Poor Gobby--he absolutely hates, hates, hates the Tylan. I'll let you know if they sell them (or compound)... An increase is in the works--I'm going to give Gobbles a .25 increase for his PM shot (unless he decided to come down a couple of colors...!!!)
 
Re: 3/29 Gobbles AMPS 358 ? dosecrease opinions ?

Kat

Be careful about tuna. Manufacturers are now adding broth to it which contains soy. Soy can cause anemia in cats. They don't always list soy. So if it has oil but also vegetable broth, it has soy. I'm not sure if the tuna in oil has soy but just be careful.
 
Re: 3/29 Gobbles AMPS 358 ? dosecrease opinions ?

Aw, poor Gobby...I'm sorry he has yet another yucky medicine to deal with. I hope you can find a way to sneak it in so he thinks it's a treat!

Good luck with the dosecrease...work it, Gobby!

AWESOME news about the raffle!!! I'll repost it on FB again, after Easter when there will be more activity/less distraction.

Have a great day, Kat!
 
Re: 3/29 Gobbles AMPS 358 ? dosecrease opinions ?

Hi Kat, best of luck with the new dose and the meds. I hope Gobby clears the pink floor soon! Great news on the Raffle :-D
 
Re: 3/29 Gobbles AMPS 358 ? dosecrease opinions ?

Marje and Gracie said:
Kat

Be careful about tuna. Manufacturers are now adding broth to it which contains soy. Soy can cause anemia in cats. They don't always list soy. So if it has oil but also vegetable broth, it has soy. I'm not sure if the tuna in oil has soy but just be careful.
I guess the "adding tylan to baby food or tuna idea is scratched because I was able to find a compounder in my area who sold me small, empty capsules!!! :-D
 
Re: 3/29 Gobbles AMPS 358 ? dosecrease opinions ?

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'd go ahead and increase.

You can also purchase blank capsules and fill them with the Tylan.
:-D I was able to find a compounder in my area who sold me small, empty capsules!!! :-D And he was at 104 AM+6--now I'm wondering if I should still increase him....probably not confused_cat
 
Re: 3/29 Gobbles AMPS 358 +5 146 +6 104 increase threat work

"Threats" always work ;-)
 
Re: 3/29 Gobbles AMPS 358 +5 146 +6.5 104 +7.5 130

Ha, yes sometimes all you have to do is put the idea in their heads! Glad you found such a great solution, Kat! Good luck!
 
Re: 3/29 Gobbles AMPS 358 ? dosecrease opinions ?

Marje and Gracie said:
Kat

Be careful about tuna. Manufacturers are now adding broth to it which contains soy. Soy can cause anemia in cats. They don't always list soy. So if it has oil but also vegetable broth, it has soy. I'm not sure if the tuna in oil has soy but just be careful.

Well, darn it. I checked, and the tuna we have in oil (just that one can) and in water both have soy. Chicken of the Sea and StarKist brands. Says so right on the label (at least they're honest about ingredients, lol!). Now, is it the soy that causes anemia, or does feeding a diet solely or primarily of tuna cause anemia because it isn't a balanced food for cats? I looked around on the internet and you can find tuna with no added soy, but it is pricey (of course). Just wondering whether adding a little tuna (a half-teaspoon) to a serving of regular LC food is hazardous, especially if it isn't done every day? The reason I was doing this instead of feeding the fish varieties of cat food, which my cats love, was the low quality of fish used in cat foods. Also, the FF seafood varieties are high in phosphorus (except the salmon one), and although Star doesn't have kidney problems now, I want to avoid them in the future. What's a cat owner to do . . . . Sorry to give you bad intel, Kat!
 
Re: 3/29 Gobbles AMPS 358 +5 146 +6.5 104 +7.5 130

Gosh I wish he'd show some blue numbers today...he's been mostly flat pink these past few days.
It looks like you got your wish. Nice blues today.

I'm glad you were able to get the empty capsules for the Tylan. I'm sure this will be much easier for getting Gobbles to take his medicine.
 
Re: 3/29 Gobbles AMPS 358 +5 146 +6.5 104 +7.5 130 +11.5 353

I just looked at your spreadsheet and it looks like you have room to increase the dose.
 
Re: 3/29 Gobbles AMPS 358 +5 146 +6.5 104 +7.5 130 +11.5 353

Dyana said:
I just looked at your spreadsheet and it looks like you have room to increase the dose.
Thanks for your opinion Dyana :) That's what I did!
 
Re: 3/29 Gobbles AMPS 358 +5 146 +6.5 104 +7.5 130 +11.5 353

Hi Kat,
Good luck with the dosecrease. I hope Gobbles gets beautiful numbers with it! I'm glad you could get the capsules for the yucky tasting meds. Have a wonderful night with a lovely, safe surf.. hugs and scritches to you mary and ollie
 
Re: 3/29 Gobbles PMPS 353 *increased

Hi Kat. Wish the best with the dose increase. Good luck with your endeavor to find a better way to administer the Tylan to Gobbles.

Congratulations on the new total for the raffle. Have a great night Kat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top