3/29 Chester AMPS HI (600+) +6 216

Status
Not open for further replies.

MaryB & Chester

Member Since 2012
So could he be bouncing from the swings he's making? 216 isn't a really low nadir, but it's about 400 points lower than his AMPS. Could that be part of the bouncing?
Can't wait until he gets his teeth fixed!
 
It's hard to tell what's going on with little data. On your ss, there are no numbers for the pm cycle; any chance you can get a before bed test to see if he's going low at nite?

Also, when will you be able to do a full curve - test every 2 hrs between two shots? I would guess bouncing from numbers too low for him, so maybe too much insulin?

Next thought is food, if he's getting dry food or something..... or if he's being fed before his ps numbers which would cause you to see higher numbers when you test.

Do you have an idea when his teeth will be done? Do you think they are really that bad? With seeing some low numbers, I am not sure if the teeth are the cause of the HIs.

I think if you are able to do a curve to find out just what's going on, it will help you and others a great deal. Nadir can be at any time, so you may be missing his nadir which could be as early as +3 or 4 and the numbers you see at +6 are already coming up high from a low earlier. One of my cats had a nadir close to +10 or later so his curves were like a mountain with his +6 being higher than 5hrs later.

I don't think you can say he's clearing a bounce quickly; it's more like something is causing him to bounce because it's a daily thing in his numbers. That's why I keep coming back to the insulin possibly being too high. I think I would consider a lower dose, maybe even back to a 1u dose and holding it for a good 3 days. .... look at how low he went mid-cycle early on with the 1.5u dose - by 1/13 you were seeing red to blue to black numbers.

If you are finding that he's dropping too fast and too soon in a cycle, you should try to split his shot meal into portions, feeding 1tbsp every hour for 4hours starting at shot time.... it will help to slow down a big early drop.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top