3/28 punkin amps 213 +3/198 +5/239 +7/139 PMPS/165 +3/227

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
Yesterday following a .25 dose increase in the am:
amps 278
+2 245
+4.5 145
+6 105
+8 97
pmps 152
+3 150
+4 99
+5 77
+6 80
+7 92

Getting ready to test him for his +3 in 20 minutes or so. I gave him his shot and went back to bed. staying up til 2:30am - OY!
 
Re: 3/28 punkin amps 213 +3/198

wellllll, the vet's office uses both metacam and convenia, but they marked on punkin's chart not to give him any -said he didn't have any conditions that they would use either of those for anyway.

sure hope the dental goes well in the morning. they also said regular dose of insulin, 1/2 amt of food given as early as possible. I'm a bit nervous about the whole thing.
 
Re: 3/28 punkin amps 213 +3/198 +5/239

Good luck with the dosecrease and especially the dental. Good for you for looking into those drugs and making sure they don't use them.
 
Re: 3/28 punkin amps 213 +3/198 +5/239 +7/139 PMPS/165

another uneventful day - i guess we'll be all wonky tomorrow with the dental anyway. hoping he doesn't keep me up all night!

thanks for all your good wishes.
 
Re: 3/28 punkin amps 213 +3/198 +5/239 +7/139 PMPS/165

Hi guys - not too bad today for punkin - i see blues in there!

Good luck with the dental tomorrow. I am assuming that there will be anesthesia? As an FYI: it can lower BG's, so be sure that you monitor punkin when he gets home, and be prepared for lower numbers. No guarantee. We have been through two dentals with Mannie since the FD thing: first one had no effect on his numbers, the second one sure did - quite the drop, and it took alot of work to keep his numbers up. Just a FYI for you. I hope all goes well - I am sure that it will. :-D
 
Re: 3/28 punkin amps 213 +3/198 +5/239 +7/139 PMPS/165

Hi Julie, I would suggest that you post your +11 in the morning, or at least your AMPS before you shoot....you may want to shoot a reduced dose tomorrow for the dental, depending on what his numbers are. Anesthesia can cause numbers to drop (as Michelle said), and with the size of Punkin's dose, it might not be a good idea to shoot a full dose. It would be better to have his numbers a little high than have to fight to bring numbers up, KWIM? Most people seem to shoot 1/2 dose before a dental.
 
Re: 3/28 punkin amps 213 +3/198 +5/239 +7/139 PMPS/165 +3/22

Julie...I'm copying and pasting your question and my answer from my condo...
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
julie1220 said:
thanks for the comment in my condo, laurie. i was wondering about the insulin dose because i'd seen here that people seem to shoot 1/2 dose for the dental. I specifically asked the vet tech about it when she called for the appt reminder today and she talked to the vet and he said because of Lantus' delayed response that my reduced dose would affect him later tomorrow, post-procedure. He was adamant that i give punkin the usual dose.

I also wondered because i'm supposed to give him 1/2 the amount of the food, he usually has 1 can w/shot and 1/2 can at +3, if i reduce his food first thing by 1/2, then he has a lot less food to work with that insulin. Did i make that confusing enough? sorry!

i guess based on everything i'm reading here, and i think the vet isn't exactly right about that Lantus response, I want to reduce the dose, but i'm a little reluctant to walk in there in the am and say i disregarded his pre-procedure directions. waaaahhhhh.

the question is, what's best for punkin? would you reduce the dose? i will post in the morning, but often it seems like no one is available to respond. i also wonder about the value of the amps # tomorrow because he's telling me to feed punkin as early as possible. i assume it's shoot on time, but if i fed an hour or so earlier . . . ? won't the number then be useless?

Please do post in the morning...we were discussing this last night off board, someone will be watching for your post in the morning. Frankly, I wouldn't worry too much about the vet being annoyed....Punkin is your cat, and you have the right to make the decision to shoot a reduced dose if you want to. Whether or not you shoot the full dose does not affect his procedure. The anesthesia sometimes causes the BG to drop post procedure...so if you reduce the dose, which should cause the numbers to be higher, that helps to counteract the drop from the anesthesia....does that make sense? Even if he doesn't drop....it's safer to have him run a little high than to drop low after anesthesia. It takes time for them to recover from the anesthesia too...it isn't fun to deal with a loopy kitty with low numbers! Not to mention, if his mouth is sore, you may have trouble getting him to eat, and you don't want to feed a lot of food right after either....

I would suggest that you tell him that you were uncomfortable with giving the full dose while giving half of the food, that you were worried about him dropping low without the normal food....a legitimate concern. If you are feeding first, then shooting an hour later, the food will influence the AMPS test...it won't be useless, but it will be affected. I would test before you feed, and test again before you shoot. If he were my cat, I would shoot 1/2 dose....no question about it.
 
Re: 3/28 punkin amps 213 +3/198 +5/239 +7/139 PMPS/165 +3/22

will do - thank you for the honest "this is what i'd do." i really appreciate it.
 
Re: 3/28 punkin amps 213 +3/198 +5/239 +7/139 PMPS/165 +3/22

Julie --

I agree with Laurie. I do think that even with the "delayed action" of Lantus, giving half will still have an effect especially if the vet wants you to give Punkin less than the usual amount of food.

Remember to get a test when you get Punkin home from the vet and to feed in small amounts.
 
Re: 3/28 punkin amps 213 +3/198 +5/239 +7/139 PMPS/165 +3/22

Julie, you could just say you gave the normal dose - they won't know. Or just say he got his shot this morning. I'd listen to everyone here.

Good luck today!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top