3/28 Noni +8~36+8.50~68 +10~70 skipping- breathing heavy

Status
Not open for further replies.

asoolty

Member Since 2010
Good Morning,

Last Night

+12~124
+12.50~106
+13 PMPS~131
+0.50~140
+0.75~146
+4~86
+5~94
+9~70


Just got back home, so exhausted its hot and dusty outside too, and Noni is still breathing the same, although X-Ray and doctor examination shows nothing, no liquid and she was saying that this could be due to the discomfort of the operation cuz its only been 48 hours. nothing to worry about so far unless she started to get worse.

stitches are clean too, although she peed in the car on the dippers mat and sat on it, so I had to clean it when we got home with petadine solution.

thats all, I will keep testing as she seems low today. AMPS due in less than 3 hours.


Previous Condo

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=91926&p=986066#p986066
 
Re: 3/28 Noni PMPS~131 (Follow up)

I'm glad she got a good report from the vet. I hope she continues to heal quickly and feels better.
 
Re: 3/28 Noni PMPS~131 (Follow up)

I'm glad everything looks good and the vet visit went well.
 
Re: 3/28 Noni PMPS~131 (Follow up)

I didnt shoot her AMPS , she is breathing heavier, her BG is 95 after giving a drop of honey.

I called her doctor she finished her time. the other doctor is the surgeon is the only one available now. I called and waiting for him to call me back as he was busy with patient . I told them it's an emergency I don't know what else to do ??

do you think it's the pain causing her this . or one of her meds ! her stomach keeps pushing to breath !
 
Re: 3/28 Noni PMPS~131 (Follow up)

When you brought her in to the vet did they run any labs? I'm concerned because the the Metacam. It can cause acute renal failure.
 
Re: 3/28 Noni PMPS~131 (Follow up)

No only X-ray

I'm taking her back now , I will ask for blood test , I cant wait for him to call
 
Re: 3/28 Noni PMPS~131 (Follow up)

(((((((Aseel)))))))) Praying Hard that Noni is okay, and she can breath easier again, soon.
 
Re: 3/28 Noni PMPS~131 (Follow up)

we just get back home

they preform blood work and CBC, everything is almost normal. the breathing as doctor said could be from discomfort of the pain, but I think it's more than that , she hardly walk, very weak. she makes noises when she eats and drink , he injected her with Dolorex 10mg. and asked me to come back tomorrow for IV it she still breathing bad.


I'm really worried, she just try to vomit and when she couldn't get anything out, she fall down on her side of dizziness ! I don't know whats going on and why anyone can help us ! I'm about to break down !
 
Re: 3/28 Noni PMPS~131 (Follow up)

I had to go look it up. I hope her breathing issues are all because of the pain and it helps her.

but in cats it is used as a pain reliever and to relieve nausea from chemotherapy.
Side Effects
The most normal side effect is drowsiness. Call the vet if the cat vomits, loses all appetite or develops diarrhea.

She's had a rough few days here, hopefully she can get feeling better if her pain is addressed.
Still praying.

Hugs!!!
 
Re: 3/28 Noni PMPS~131 (Follow up)

she tried to vomit but nothing came out ! then she fell down on her side unable to stand up for few seconds,
vet now is already closed :cry: I hope this night just go fine on us
 
Re: 3/28 Noni PMPS~131 (Follow up)

Poor Noni. What a rough time for both kitty and mama. Praying for you both and hoping things are better.

Karen
 
Re: 3/28 Noni PMPS~131 (Follow up)

it's a drug that's a lot like morphine which can make one feel yucky.
I would give her food in small increments so she can hold it down.
like spoon feed...
they gave shadow morphine for her surgery and it tends to make her a nervous wreck so I'm always glad when it's past.

Noni's surgery probably gave her lots of pain to deal with.
 
Re: 3/28 Noni PMPS~131 (Follow up)

yea the doctor mentioned that the drug is like morphine, she seems weak to stand up again, I fed her little bit with the spoon, her BG is low too, he told me not to give insulin now.
 
Re: 3/28 Noni PMPS~131 (Follow up)

O poor Noni! I hope she can work through this tonight. Gardens of vines headed your way!
 
Re: 3/28 Noni PMPS~131 (Follow up)

Hang in there Aseel. I can only imagine how difficult this is for you and Noni. Give her lots of love. And get some rest yourself.

Karen
 
Re: 3/28 Noni PMPS~131 (Follow up)

yes I have, but I prefer not to shoot too, because with food it was also dropping down. or I should give ? I don't know
 
Re: 3/28 Noni PMPS~131 (Follow up)

I am not the expert on the insulin.
But your vet told you not to. Noni isn't in high numbers and I think the drug may lower her....

hopefully Sienne or someone will pop on...


change your subject... to skipping ???
 
Re: 3/28 Noni PMPS~131 (Follow up)

Hi Aseel. I'm very sorry to read that Noni is having problems. I hope she has improved during the night. I can only imagine how you are feeling. We have you and Noni in our Prayers.

Thank you for your visit yesterday.
 
Re: 3/28 Noni +6~36+6.50~68 skipping - still breathing heavy

I just checked and she was very low without insulin +6~36 I gave some honey in her mouth, as she refuse to take food I tried to give with my finger little bit of high carb . I added some FortiFlora but still no interest in food, when she walks she breath worse. its like oink oink voice coming out of her chest ,

do you think is it possible the anaesthetic causing her this ?
 
Re: 3/28 Noni +6~36+6.50~68 skipping - still breathing heavy

I see you changed to 911.
low numbers... breathing heavy...
68 is okay, just keep trying to get her to eat some....
I would think the medication would also contribute to breathing heavily since she's in pain but the medicine isn't the best.
I don't know how many hours you are away from the vet opening again

edited.. we cross posted .
 
Re: 3/28 Noni +6~36+6.50~68 skipping - still breathing heavy

Sending lots of healing vines and prayers for Noni. Can you call your Vet? I don't know what time it is there.
 
Re: 3/28 Noni +6~36+6.50~68 skipping - still breathing heavy

morphine is a pretty heavy drug. not everyone reacts well to it... human or cat.
and they gave you a different one...
hard to say if your vet even gave the appropriate dose.

the 68 is okay... 36 or lower needs honey rubbed on the gums if she won't eat. Praying!
 
Re: 3/28 Noni +6~36+6.50~68 skipping - still breathing heavy

Sending speedy recovery vines to you and Noni and lots of comforting hugs.
 
Re: 3/28 Noni +6~36+6.50~68 skipping - still breathing heavy

Sending a zillion breath easier and feel better vines to Noni.
 
Re: 3/28 Noni +6~36+6.50~68 skipping - still breathing heavy

Aseel

She hasn't had anesthesia since her surgery right? So it should not be causing her low BG. If she's not eating, that would definitely account for it. I think it is wise that you skipped the shot. She can't hypo if she didn't have insulin this morning and the longer she is without it, the more her depot will drain and the less effects from the insulin. It's fine to give her food for the low numbers.

Morphine can cause the BG to decrease so I''m wondering if that is what you are seeing. It can also have alot of the other side effects....dizziness, etc. The breathing, though, concerns me. Did he xray her chest this time to be sure there is no fluid in her chest? That's what worries me with her history.
 
I checked her BG its 10 hours without insulin she's 70 so I'm trying to give food but she doesn't take it again, I'm adding little water to eat make it like a soup and rubbing it on her gum . She's drinking water, walking a better and breathing is noisy but not too much pushing on her stomach. she was like trying to fill a ballon with air few hours ago when I took her to them vet, and even when we came back, but now I can see her stomach is still pushing but not hard as she was before. hope that just go away !

I told the doctor that this issue was after 12 o'clock last night after giving her Metacam, he said it could be, but after checking the blood results he said her kindly is little low, just very little low in performance. that could be due to the many medications she's on. cuz before operation results where normal. also he was saying the protein is high a little.

Chest X-ray looked even better than the one we did in the morning. no fluids, heart is normal and all other organs. the good thing as doctor said is the liver looks all healthy.


I'm trying to sleep and set the alarm every hour so I wold be able to drive again if emergency, today I was sleep driving 4 ways back and forth one hour each with only 1 hour sleep so, I will be checking here every an hour or so..please keep praying for us, I'm horrified.



edited: she saw me eating some skimmed yogurt and she wanted so I gave a small spoon , she ate it. hope its not bad
 
(((((Aseel))))) We are hoping to hear soon that Noni is improving. I know how frightened you are. We are all praying for your girl.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
((((Aseel))) Sending all the prayers and vines i have for you and Noni. Keep getting better sweet Noni! Stay well Aseel. Breathe well Noni. prayers and prayers. mary and oliver
 
asoolty said:
edited: she saw me eating some skimmed yogurt and she wanted so I gave a small spoon , she ate it. hope its not bad
I would think if she eats the yogurt, then let her have some. She needs the energy from whatever food she'll eat.
I hope you are getting some sleep and she is breathing easier now.
 
I agree with Dyana, Aseel. I'd let her eat what she'll eat. If it causes her BG to go up, we can always adjust the dose.

Sending prayers and healing vines. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Oh Aseel. Hugs to you. And may the sleep you get be restful so that you too may have energy.

I'm with Dyana and Marje. If Noni will eat, let her eat. That's encouraging and hopefully the drugs are wearing off and she will feel better

Hang in there. :YMHUG:
Karen
 
I hope she is doing ok. Last time she had surgery she had major breathing issues too and it was the pain. Once she got one dose of meloxicam it got better.
 
It's 7 in the morning here, I was awake for testing at 6 am and I saw her eating a little from her plate (knock on wood) breathing noise is still there but her stomach is little less pushing. I left the door open for her so she goes out every now and then to check around and see that all her water fountains and bowls are still in place and come back to my room. her ears and hands were too cold so I turned the AC off. I syringe her with little water, giving drop and count to 10 between each. I don't want to cause the breathing to get worse again. fingers crossed.

I will give some yogurt when ever she refuse to eat, she likes it so much hope it will enhance her appetite.

I think I had a good sleep, even with the alarm on every 1 hour.

you are right Wendy she had the same breathing issue in her last operation, but this time I felt it's worse, her wounds are smaller this time. not a long big cut like last time. I came on to something, I don't know if that could be the reason, but could it be the anaesthetic of the breathing tube the insert in her mouth during operation (I'm not sure if there is a tube but I assume like humans they need something to breath during surgeries ? am I correct?) could that be the reason. also last time she started to have the breathing issue just the same , after 48 hours from her operation. maybe after the anaesthetic starting to kick out) ! just a thought...

thanks for all your prayers and healing vines we really need it ..
 
Get well soon Noni!
Yes Aseel, they do have the plastic tube inserted in their mouth while operation. If Noni is eating, it's not too bad. Dont worry too much & take good care of yourself too,K? We need all the energy to take care of our little ones. :YMHUG:
 
ohh, thank you ..it's good to see you again, she's 8 hours passing her PMPS ~ 299 .. she took few licks from the back of the spoon HC FF only some gravy. now I'm afraid to shoot, she seems very weak and shaking. I might need to take her to the vet for some IV ??
 
Dont worry about the insulin shot first. If Noni is not eating, it's wise to skip one shot. Is she eating, a bit? If she has just come out from the anesthesia, she'd be shaky & weak. Keep her warm. Give her a bit more time to recover. Why would she need IV? Can you call your vet if you are worried about Noni's condition?
 
If she's weak and shaking, I would probably want to take her to the vet before they close for the day, or at least call them. I'm glad she is eating a little bit. Keep eating Noni. Did she get some sleep, too?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top