3/28 Morlei AMPS 315 Dose increase question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Becky & Morlei

Member Since 2012
Ugh...I hate getting pinks when starting the day.

Started a new pen last night just in case the first one was pooping out. We were almost done with it anyways because I was overdrawing a lot when we first started.
We can hope she'll drop into the high blues today, sometimes when she starts out in the pinks she'll drop to the blues at +6 but if she starts out in the yellow she'll be there all day. I don't get it. I'm very happy that she doesn't sit any higher but I don't understand why she's not dropping at all...I was re-reading the protocol and it said you can up the dose by 0.25-0.5 depending on if the cat is on a low or high dose of insulin...should I try a 0.5 increase on Friday rather than 0.25? Current dose is 3.75 so it would go up to 4.25. I've been testing for ketones as often as I can, I found a trick that seems to work for her, after I'm done scooping the boxes I put her in right away...she must like being the first one in a clean box because she usually does her business and I can get a test.
She eats only FF Classic Chicken, 9 Lives Chicken Dinner, Sophisticat Turkey & Giblets and the 3oz Sophisticat Chicken. Only treats she gets is the freeze dried chicken ones. I don't really ever see her drink water now, litter box use seems to still be a little on the high side but with four cats it's hard to tell, could be all the extra water I add to the food, they seem to like it better when it's really soupy.
Julie brought up that maybe Morlei needs her teeth cleaned...I don't necessarily want to go that route yet, I know that the cats should have it done like once a year but I'm scared. I looked at the links and info that was posted and wish I could go to the office that was on the website! What I was thinking is if Morlei's numbers don't start dropping when we reach 5 units then I'll take her in for a checkup and dental exam and ask my hundred million questions about the procedure.
How much does an "average" dental cost?
 
Since that's my vet that had all of that info, what I can tell you is that they are expensive! My vet does give an estimate for a dental and I'd encourage you to ask for an estimate. Costs seem to vary by location, what needs to be done, and whether you're using a board certified veterinary dentist.
 
i sometimes wonder why I came home to Idaho...but when I see that we have about the lowest vet rates in the nation, I'm glad!

our dental estimate was hundreds of dollars less than some of the members mentioned...

Hi, Guys!

celi & binks
 
Teeth should be checked every year but dentals don't usually need to be done that often. If you want some encouragement check out the spreadsheets of Vyktor and Mikey (misoo). We all get terrified when our kitties need an op but sometimes you just have to bite the bullet and on the plus side, once it's done it won't be weighing on your mind anymore :smile:

I see that you are planning to wait the full three days (6 cycles) since your last increase before increasing again. At that point, if you haven't seen any blue I would say that a 0.5 increase is a definite option, on the proviso that you monitor carefully afterwards. However, if Morlei has a dental issue you are unlikely to get her regulated before that is resolved :sad:
 
Hi Becky,

I know it's frustrating to see those flat cycles, but all that means is that Morlei isn't at a good dose yet. Since she didn't see much movement when she was on 3.0u of PZ, I'm not surprised that she needs more Lantus than that....usually cats need a higher dose of Lantus than they did with PZ.

I think a 0.5u increase makes sense. You're doing a good job....she just needs more juice. It's not terribly unusual to see flat, flat, flat and then one day, you see blue and green. I would keep doing what you are doing, increase every 6 cycles until you see a response.

Dentals vary from place to place....I've seen a wide variation in prices. I would call around to a few clinics in your area and see what sort of price they quote you. It's typically a flat fee for the dental, and extractions are extra. I would say $400-$500 is a pretty average starting fee....but it could be more or less depending on your area.
 
Karen & Smokey(GA) said:
Becky,

You need to check your thread on Community about the two cats needing a home, here:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=66745

Do the cats have a home yet ?
The young one found a home last weekend, the mama cat wasn't so lucky and the owner ended up putting her down which I'm so mad about, she said she was going to wait until the end of the month...I was depressed and didn't want to see if anyone responded to the post, but thanks for reminding me to go look.
 
The young one found a home last weekend, the mama cat wasn't so lucky and the owner ended up putting her down which I'm so mad about, she said she was going to wait until the end of the month...I was depressed and didn't want to see if anyone responded to the post, but thanks for reminding me to go look.[/quote]

I will notify Patricia....she might have taken them, if only...
 
Thanks Karen, I posted on that thread so people would know. If you can't commit at least 15 years to a pet then don't get one!! I'll be ignoring her at work unless I absolutely have to talk to her, she's not a good person in my eyes anymore.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top