3/28 Max AMPS 227 +2 296 + 3 256 +5 209 +6 169 +7 152 PMPS 371 +3 180

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
Sorry for the late post today. I was catching up on some continuing ed classes so I can renew my NP certification due soon. I was able to monitor Max because I did this from home. I was trying to determine when he bounces and if very small food interventions would make a difference. Stopped feeding at nadir.

All of this time Max has spent in higher numbers has caused him to get constipated again. No poop in 2 days. Of course, he urinates a lot when he is high, but he does not drink much water at all. I rarely see him at his bowl. He has nothing to do with his new fountain. I do add water to his food. I have tried his lactulose for 2 days now. Gave him Miralax tonight. Also have been adding a little psyllium husk for fiber. He does not like pumpkin and had a bad asthma attack when he had been given slippery elm before, so those two things are not an option. He does take a probiotic daily. To make matters worse, the constipation will make his numbers even higher. He will be going to the vet tomorrow if we do not get any results tonight.

I am hoping to catch @Wendy&Neko or @FrostD to see what either of you think about this dose (even with all of this bouncing he does.) I know he has seen a few high greens, but nothing like he did before this dose. Would you increase him just a little...if not to 6.5, then maybe 6.25 just to see if that makes any difference? Thank you.

Yesterday's post https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...3-370-5-381-7-420-11-276.261221/#post-2930594
 
Last edited:
Hmm. I'd rather see where he lands after he poops - have you noticed if his BG comes down a lot after he's been constipated then poops?

That said, those 97s do leave room for an increase in my opinion
 
Hmm. I'd rather see where he lands after he poops - have you noticed if his BG comes down a lot after he's been constipated then poops?

That said, those 97s do leave room for an increase in my opinion

Yes, his numbers usually come down some after he poops. I had that same thought, but at the same time, I feel like we are spinning our wheels on this dose. I think the high numbers are causing him to get a little dehydrated causing the constipation. That's just my opinion, maybe I am all wrong in my thinking.
 
You can always increase a little bit, then if he tells you it's too much, take it down again. I agree the high 90's give you some room for an increase.
 
Threatened to take him to the vet for an enema, and to increase his dose. What does he do? He pooped then dropped from 371 to 180.
 
Back
Top