3/28 Malki AMPS 124, +1 142, +3 104, +5 95, +9 112 PMPS 175, +3 149

Are you going to be home and able to test all day (if necessary)? Do you have medium and high carb foods, Karo/honey/syrup? Got plenty of strips?
Her retest figure is still 6.9/124
Yes I have medium carb, high carb, glucose syrup (Karo), and med and high carb dry just in case. And a billion strips haha
And yes will be home all day
 
Well your choices are to skip, to stall another 20 minutes to see if she comes up more, shoot a lower dose (which won't guarantee she won't go too low today) or just go ahead and shoot the scheduled dose and get tests at +1 and +2 to start with.
 
Well your choices are to skip, to stall another 20 minutes to see if she comes up more, shoot a lower dose (which won't guarantee she won't go too low today) or just go ahead and shoot the scheduled dose and get tests at +1 and +2 to start with.
I'm thinking I will go with a lower dose but not sure whether to do .5 or .25 have never shot when she's this low before so I'm pretty flustered
 
Just going to do a token dose because it's 45min past her AM shot time already and I need to put my big girl pants on and make a decision
 
I know it's scary at first....you see your cat drop from 350 to 100 and you think "if I shoot the same amount at 150, she'll drop to below zero!"....but it doesn't work that way. Actually, lantus works best when given at lower Pre-shot numbers.

Giving a token dose doesn't mean she wouldn't drop too low either because the depot is still going to be affecting her but I understand if you'd feel more comfortable doing a token dose....but still get the +1 and +2
 
Thank you so much for the reassurance
Hopefully after today I'll have a clearer picture of what happens when shooting at this low a number. She's keeping me on my toes that's for sure.
Have set a 1hour timer and going to snooze til then
 
I know it's scary at first....you see your cat drop from 350 to 100 and you think "if I shoot the same amount at 150, she'll drop to below zero!"....but it doesn't work that way. Actually, lantus works best when given at lower Pre-shot numbers.

Giving a token dose doesn't mean she wouldn't drop too low either because the depot is still going to be affecting her but I understand if you'd feel more comfortable doing a token dose....but still get the +1 and +2

+1 is 142 so following her normal thing so far of rising slightly after her brekkie

Should I do a +2 next or +3?
 
She's so close!!
I'm using all my self control to not mince her ears to get another reading haha

I've been so happy with the trend of her numbers lately, I'm so glad I listened to the forums advice on dose reductions because 2U would have, you know, I don't even want to say the word. It would have been FAR too much for her tiny body.
 
I'm basically a slave to her haha,
So, Malkovich is on all wet food.

* 1 can Fancy feast pate at AM after shot - it takes her usually til +3 or +4 to finish the can as she's a grazer

* Raw snacks at AM+3,+9 (if she's finished first her can and then what I put out at +3) They consist of little pieces of chicken liver, giblets, wing tip, neck, or a plain canned sardine, with a meal completer mixed in (Raw Meow Mix)

* By AM +10 she's normally finished those off which is good as I need to withdraw food at that point

* Then I do the PMPS and shot and she has 1 can of Ultimates Indulge (an Australian 1% carb wet food)

* Then Raw snacks again at PM+3 or +4 if she's finished her can

* And raw snacks at +6 when I go to bed (midnight)

* She has dried single ingredient beef liver treats before each test and shot and runs to her "spot" for them each time. Or sometimes Meat Mates treats which are 100% meat.

It's currently just before AM+5
 
Oh yeah..forgot you're on the other side of the world.

My point was just if it's a usual time that she'd get fed, you should go ahead and let her have her food at the regular times.
 
I wish every day was smooth like this!!

Patience, young Grasshopper!
e9e113e73791d8f6285eb3d5cb3ca456.gif
 
I'm back again. What a pain I am.

I have a question re what to do in the event of possible PMPS values. I am uncomfortable doing the full 0.75U if her values are as low as this morning. (I don't have a car and don't have transport options after dark as I live on the outskirts of town on a mountain)
My question is, I know you're not supposed to chop and change on glargine, and Im fairly sure skipping altogether isn't the most desirable choice. In saying that, though, what cut off values should I use to determine whether to give a .25, .5 or full 0.75 shot? I was trying to do TR but I'm still not confident on shooting at low values especially when I have no transport options.

For reference PMPS values will be checked in 2 hours time from the time of this post (we are currently at +10)
 
How would you feel about 0.5 units? If you were following SLGS instead of TR, she would have earned a reduction a couple nights ago. Note that the numbers you saw today were primarily due to the depot of the 0.75 units dose, and not the 0.25 you shot today.
 
How would you feel about 0.5 units? If you were following SLGS instead of TR, she would have earned a reduction a couple nights ago. Note that the numbers you saw today were primarily due to the depot of the 0.75 units dose, and not the 0.25 you shot today.

I think I would be more comfortable with a .5 than the full .75. unless she's in the greens or something at shot time then I'd be a bit scared...
Obviously if she's done her normal shoot for the stars evening climb I'll stick with the 0.75 just getting my ducks in a row now while I have a clear head as I tend to panic easily haha
 
Back
Top