3/28, Falafel, AMPS 250, +2 220, +6.5 179

thornmallow__

Member Since 2024
Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-26-falafel-amps-181-2-221.288110/

Just spoke to the vet. BUN went from 37 to 42 (should get the full updated labs from them soon so I can update the SS). They want to wait and see before confirming a CKD diagnosis since she's still on the Clavamox - we'll be restesting next Friday. I also got a ketone meter, it requires so much more blood than the FreeStyle Lite I'm using! Good news on that, her reading was 0.1 but I swear she still smells weird (her spit just does not smell normal to me).

I got permission to WFH today because I'm not feeling well. Still struggling to get enough sleep since Falafel's DX... some part of me is just convinced that she's going to die while I sleep so I wake up every couple hours to check how she's doing. Last night she also wouldn't eat unless I kept bringing the food bowl to her, so I did that every couple hours (I think this could be an attitude issue since I worked late on Monday and Tuesday this week, but who knows). Today I gave her a reduced dose of the Mirtazapine (~1.8mg) since the Cerenia on its own didn't seem to help. It seems to be working... she's always been a slow eater/grazer but I wish she was a food motivated fatty so I could watch her finish off a can in peace! :P

Based on her BG levels tomorrow for the AM cycle, I'm most likely going to up her 3/29 PMPS to 0.25U. I want the extra monitoring time over the weekend to see how she's doing on the dose, and that's what the vet recommended (last visit I was told to go back to 0.25U but I chose to do 0.1U according to SLGS).

The different mannerisms of each vet is so interesting. The clinic we go to now has a few - I didn't like the first one I met much but she was okay, I liked the second one a lot more, and this third one (the owner) I liked on a personality basis but did not like on a medical basis. She was surprised at Falafel's tiny insulin dose and thought I should stop the insulin altogether... I told her I'm sticking with the 2nd doctor's regimen and we can look at the results in the next couple weeks before I stop the insulin. I'm so glad I'm on this forum and have additional resources to turn to!
 
Great result for ketones. Have you had a good look at the teeth. Maybe an issue with the actual teeth causing the smell of the breath.
Definitely don’t stop the insulin with the BGs still above normal … some vets surprise me with some of their suggestions.
 
Back
Top