3/28 Dora Update - late nadir?

Dora the Explorer

Member Since 2020
Last thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-24-dora-amps-70-1-195.245159/

So, I have decreased dosage twice, once when I started a new pen (I have never used up an entire pen before!) and then when the PMPS was 80 and I just couldn’t bring myself to shoot 4 units.

The problem I’m having is that the lowest numbers are coming at the preshot testing time. It’s making me increasingly nervous as I’m not sure if the depot might become too much during this one cycle, particularly at night while we’re sleeping.

I’ve held the 3.75 units and am fairly pleased with the numbers. Are they ok? I know under TR I’m supposed to keep raising the dose until she goes below 50 or stays in a low range for a while, but I’m anxious as I can’t always test her between work and - well, being asleep Maybe I should go back to SLGS - I’d like to be somewhere between the two.

Any thoughts? Thanks much!

Jane (and D)
 
With TR you shoot 50 and over. Shoot low to stay low. That’s when Lantus is at its best. A late nadir does not mean too much insulin. You could decide to follow TR but take reductions at a slightly higher number, maybe 70. Would that work for you?
 
With TR you shoot 50 and over. Shoot low to stay low. That’s when Lantus is at its best. A late nadir does not mean too much insulin. You could decide to follow TR but take reductions at a slightly higher number, maybe 70. Would that work for you?

I get anxious around 100. So you think her dose is too low at 3.75? Especially overnight and also I got stuck two hours late so she’s still getting her shots at 9pm since her low a week or so ago had us stall her. So a +2 means we stay up till 11 (we are old ) and then I worry about her all night. I don’t do well on interrupted sleep unfortunately! But we are working with what we have.

thanks for answering me!

Jane
 
I think she could use. touch more insulin. You want to be seeing mostly greens with the odd blues, and none of that yellow. A new pen is not a reason to lower the dose.

I had a cat with a late nadir, often at preshot time. I had to get used to shooting lower, most of the time she'd head on up after the shot. With Dora, I see a lot of her later nadirs are on the cycles she's breaking a bounce, which is a common time for later nadirs.
 
I think she could use. touch more insulin. You want to be seeing mostly greens with the odd blues, and none of that yellow. A new pen is not a reason to lower the dose.

I had a cat with a late nadir, often at preshot time. I had to get used to shooting lower, most of the time she'd head on up after the shot. With Dora, I see a lot of her later nadirs are on the cycles she's breaking a bounce, which is a common time for later nadirs.

Ok thanks- I will bump a little in the morning. Thank you for the encouragement on the late nadir. It’s time for her PMPS now and she is sitting on the couch, not at all one of her usual haunts.
 
Back
Top