3/28/13 Rags 8 Hou Testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

yo hon

Member Since 2013
Carl, Hope, BJM, I sat last night waiting for someone to respond about testing Rags at 9:00, did not get any responses. Something is wrong with computer or time or something. I even kept rtefreshing my computer.

I just found your post, just now at 6:01 a.m. I had to go to bed early as I have to work today. I haven't been all week. Up at 5:00 a.m.

Yes, I can dose him every 8 hours. I work 9-1 p.m. home by 1:30. What or how many units and when ? What about testing? How Often, every two hours ?

I have to leave here by 8:15 a.m., so I'm hoping you will be able to get back to me in time. I'm sorry about not testing him last night, as I said one post said not til AMPT. That's when I got confused, so mI asked three times, but me and 6 guests were on.

Sweetie Pie is home. She came home around 8:30 p.m. Thank you so much for all the prayers and best wishes!!!!

I really need to know if I can go to work today.

Carl, my Vet does not feel comfortable about changing the insulin. I did try and can't go to new Vet.
 
7:00 a.m. eastern BG 561

7:05 a.m. 1/2 can ff with water so far.

Am i giving 1.5 units this a.m. ? Should he be tested in two ? If he does i will not go to work, so i need to know if anyone is around yet ? I know it's early and I'm sorry,

1.5 units is really hard to measure in the needles that I have.
 
Good Morning,

I'm so happy to hear Sweetie Pie is home :-D

I cannot give you dosing advice, however, I will give you my advice re: your vet Rags is YOUR cat; not his. If it were me, I would fire that vet in a heartbeat and I would call around and find a vet that will prescribe a better insulin--perhaps Prozinc or Lantus. You can go to another vet; just be sure to get copies of Rags' vet records & lab work to bring to the new vet. If you want to help Rags, you should get him on a better insulin. I believe there have been several people responding to your posts who agree with me and have given you great information re: other insulins. And you would get way more help on dosing (as you know, there are very few people here who use Insulin N).

Why did you post that you can't go to another vet? Aren't there others in your area?

We really are trying to help you. You need to be proactive about managing Rags' diabetes. I know it is scary and a learning process. There are just so few people here who use the insulin Rags' is on....a better insulin = more help :smile:

I hope your day goes well and Rags numbers come down. cat_pet_icon Please keep us informed. You need to do what is best for Rags as I can tell you really love him and want him to get better. We are here to help you in whatever capacity we can, but as I stated above, you really need to get his insulin changed.
 
Goodmorning, I cannot go to another Vet because I have No money. Live alone on a fixed icome and am disabled. I also have my Care Credit Cards maxed to $5400.00, which I pay $200.00 a month on and the balance goes up. I hate poor mouthing. My friend paid for Rags insulin and food, meds, etc. She is 77 years old with alhzheimers disease that I also take care of. She just lost her husband one year ago with dimentia, who I also took care of. he was 91 when he passed. I have no family or friends besides her. I have to move and don't know how ,where, when, or where the money is coming from for that. As i've said, I am sooooo overwehlmed and stressed that half the time I don't know what I' m doing !!!

Gotta go give Rags his insulin, but thank you for everything,.
 
Your tests yesterday showed that up to 2 units when starting above 500 should be safe.

Its OK to give Rags 2 cans of food; he will finish them before 6 hours is up.

Test @ +8 this afternoon and he'll need some more insulin then.
 
If you go back to this page of posts, I tried to write up some schedules you might follow.

There are 2 draft schedules:
1 for when you are not home
1 for when you are home and if you need to, can test.
Where need to might mean - Rags doesn't look right, and it might be the glucose level, so I'll check
 
It's now 8:49 a.m. and I just received your 8:12 and 8:20 posts.

As I stated i only gave 1.5 units, should I give him another .05 units ? HE already ate 2 cans before his shot.

No, I did not see post for when I work and am home. I printed out 36 pages yesterday of posts, it's not there. Since I only gave him the 1.5 units as my post on my sheet said to give and don't know if I can give him anther .05 units, do you still want me to only test him at 4:00 and shoot ?

Please Advise !
 
Good Morning Becki,

You did fantastic with all that testing yesterday on Rags. Sending {{{hugs}}} to you. Give yourself a pat on the back for the great job you did.

We have some good data now and can advise you better. TID dosing for now is the way to go.

I bet Rags was in 7th heaven with all that extra food he was getting yesterday. He'll want to eat lots until his BG gets under control, so go ahead and stuff that lovable, long furred boy of yours!

What are his two favorite flavors of Fancy Feast? Does he like some particular flavors of Friskies too?

I'm very proud of you for all your hard work yesterday.

Let me know when you get down to only two boxes of test strips for that Relion Prime meter you have. Consider me your sponsor for now on providing those test strips for you. We all have rough patches in our lives to get through and this is one small way I can help.

So glad Sweetie Pie is home. That is one less thing for you to worry about.
 
yo hon said:
It's now 8:49 a.m. and I just received your 8:12 and 8:20 posts.

As I stated i only gave 1.5 units, should I give him another .05 units ? HE already ate 2 cans before his shot.

No, I did not see post for when I work and am home. I printed out 36 pages yesterday of posts, it's not there. Since I only gave him the 1.5 units as my post on my sheet said to give and don't know if I can give him anther .05 units, do you still want me to only test him at 4:00 and shoot ?

Please Advise !

No exra - he might be a bit high because we're still learning what works for him.
Layering doses can be dangerous, so never add, even if you find part of the shot did not seem to go in.

Just wait til 4 pm.

Note: it can take us some time to respond; if you don't get answer, think about what you know, and when in doubt, be cautious.
 
Becki,

I sent you two private messages (PM's). Check your message box.

The first one is only the instructions for "When you are home to test"
The second one is only the instructions for "When you are working/away can't test as much"

Print them out.

p.s. It's no wonder you could not find BJM's instructions buried in those 36 pages you printed out from yesterday. This should make it easier.
 
Carl, Hope, BJM, I sat last night waiting for someone to respond about testing Rags at 9:00, did not get any responses. Something is wrong with computer or time or something. I even kept rtefreshing my computer.

I think I know why...
All of the replies made to your last posting were on "page 3" of the thread. You were on page 2, hitting "refresh" and didn't see the next page. It just kept showing you the bottom of page 2 where your last post was made.

I think the same thing may have happened on other days, which is why you might not have seen replies. A "page" of a thread will only include 50 messages. When it gets to #51, it starts page 2. When it gets to #101, it starts page 3.

The easiest way to see that replies are there is to go back to the forum index page, that shows everyone's threads. If you hit refresh there, if there have been any replies to you, the icon on the far left in front of your thread will be "red". If no replies are there yet, it will be blue. Just keep hitting refresh until it turns red.
 
1:46 p.m. BG 221 I just got home. He hasn't eaten since 9:30 and that was less than 1/4 can ff. I'd like to feed him now, but you want me to give him ? units at 4:00. I don't know how many units either.

Please Advise
 
no, i wii not give him insulin until you tell me how much and when, ok ?

I will take his BG @ 3:00 and let you know.

he just ate a little over one can with alot (soup, ha) of water in it. he is actually FULL !!!! YEAH!!!!
 
Carl, thank you for the information about the computer ! As I've said in the very beginning, I am not computer smart. I've had to teach myself what I do know, which isn't much ! ha !

I really thought it was very strange that no one would get back to me. I said to myself "where are all my eyes ? " ha,ha this has happened alot on here, you guys thought I wasn't posting and I post everything as soon as it happens. I thought you all weren't posting and I would see it the next a.m.

Thank you again !!!
 
I often keep hitting function key 5 (F5) to refresh my display of the site and then press Ctrl-End to go to the bottom.

If you go up to the very top of the page (Ctrl-Home takes you to the top of the page when you're not editing a post) and look a bit to the left, you'll see the text links User Control Panel (# New Messages) * View Your Posts

When you have a moment, click on each of these to see what is in there. In particular, View Your Posts will list all the topics where you have posted, and the name of the last user who posted on that topic. Clicking on the little square next to that person's name will take you right to that post.
 
I would give him 1 1/2 units now but you may have to change schedule to do him a wee bit later tonight. Time will tell. I would also test in 2 hrs. from now after you have shot him.
 
When he's high like this, its OK to shoot earlier.

Just keep in mind we're trying to work out a schedule where you can shoot Rags roughly 8 hours apart. This can require adjusting the dose up or down to reflect both how high he is and how much time the insulin has to cover.
 
Becki, which would work better for you if we dose him every 7 hrs.?

Test and feed at 7:30 a.m..........shoot at 8 a.m.

Test and feed at 2:30 p.m.........shoot at 3 p.m

Test and feed at 9:30 p.m........shoot at 10 p.m.

or

test and feed at 7 a.m............shoot at 7:30 a.m

test and feed at 2:30 p.m........shoot at 3 p.m.

test and feed at 9 p.m...........shoot at 9:30 p.m.
 
3:12 p.m. 1.5 U given, will re-test at five.

His ears look sooo sore. I've been putting neosporin oint. with pain relief on them, but they look sooo sore !!! My Poor Boy is going thru hell and I hate it !!!! I want him all better.

Did you see the post about getting insulin from Craig's List ?
 
Becki, are you applying a little pressure on the ear poke after each poke? It minimizes bruising plus the ear will toughen up. I've been sticking Mishka's right ear only for over 9 years and more than just normal a.m. and p.m. tests. No vet would be able to tell which ear I use.
 
We know it may be possible to get Lantus off of Craigslist.
- You have to check the expiration date.
- You have to check how it was stored - unopened, in the refrigerator (preferred) or a cool location, not moved around much.

http://jerseyshore.craigslist.org/
 
Yes, I do apply pressure. I just feel so bad for him, ya know ?? he has been so good thru all this !!! I just wish I could get the insulin I need for him, but right now I can't.
I don't know anyting about Craigs List that's why I asked. Someone posted that to me.
 
Craigslist is an online shopping site, for various local regions (New Jersey is divided into a couple sections, but not Vineland specifically).

You can sign up for a free account and post things you wish to sell or respond to posts of interest to you.

The link in my prior post is for the Jersey Shore area, which I hope is near you. Click on the link and look. If you right click on the link, you can open it up in a new tab or window.

If there is a purchase or sale, always meet in a public place that has people around for safety.
 
Becki,

What is Rags favorite flavor of Fancy Feast today? Or is it Friskies? Kitties can be so finicky sometimes in what they will eat so I hope you have a second flavor he likes.

I know you have used a couple of vets. What animal hospitals have you gone to and who did you see there?
 
Re: 3/28/13 testing times schedule

Becki, when you can please respond to this.....

Becki, which would work better for you if we dose him every 7 hrs.?

Test and feed at 7:30 a.m..........shoot at 8 a.m.

Test and feed at 2:30 p.m.........shoot at 3 p.m

Test and feed at 9:30 p.m........shoot at 10 p.m.

or

test and feed at 7 a.m............shoot at 7:30 a.m

test and feed at 2:30 p.m........shoot at 3 p.m.

test and feed at 9 p.m...........shoot at 9:30 p.m.
 
Sorry, just saw your post, my little girl Miki was sitting on my keyboard.

The first schedule looks good to me. Really don't want late nite cause I'm up at 5:00 a.m. But if late dosing is better for him, I'll do what it takes.

Getting ready to get his BG. You'll let me know when and how much, right ?

Thank you !
 
what does that mean ? yes I can feed him now ? Follow what schedule ? Just gave him insulin 1.5 units @ 3:12 p.m. Do I still give him 1.5 at next dose ?
I don't know what time !

Sorry, this is just confusing me because I'm reading a dosing sched. to figure out which one is best. I said the first one, but now I think the second one is earlier at nite.
 
The +8 is a good number. Is he looking for food or are you thinking he needs some? You can give him some now, but not later till it will be his normal even test time, okay?

Is this the schedule you want to follow? He will be dosed every 7 hrs. Doing 8 hrs. makes it too long a day.

test and feed at 7 a.m............shoot at 7:30 a.m

test and feed at 2:30 p.m........shoot at 3 p.m.

test and feed at 9 p.m...........shoot at 9:30 p.m.

If you want it earlier, it can also be done. Let me know and remember to post his amps test number tomorrow before shooting insulin. I think we should stick with 1 1/2 units each shot time, for now UNLESS in the a.m. he is at a much lower number than the HI he usually gives up.
 
Re: 3/28/13 Rags 7 Hour Testing

YES.....you can feed him now. No insulin though. Now, below is an earlier schedule for dosing.......do you like it better?

test and feed 6:30 a.m...... shoot insulin at 7 a.m.

test and feed 1:30 p.m.......shoot insulin at 2 p.m.

test and feed 8:30 p.m.......shoot insulin at 9 p.m.

This is the third schedule I have sent you. Which one works better for you?
 
You can feed Rags up until 2 hours before his next shot pre-test.

Some folks just leave food out all the time; thats what I did. That way, if the cat needs to eat, it can eat.
 
Just making sure this is the one you want.....

test and feed at 7 a.m............shoot at 7:30 a.m

test and feed at 2:00 p.m........shoot at 2:30 p.m.

test and feed at 9 p.m...........shoot at 9:30 p.m.


Please do not give more than 1 1/2 units at each shot time for now. If in doubt and no one responds and you go to work, give only 1 unit.... unless he gives a real low reading. At that time you could retest him right before shooting and make sure food has spiked him up. Always leave food down for a snack if not home.
 
I will be offline, probably until sometime tomorrow morning, as I am working a convention.
 
Becki,

It's supposed to be the sugarkitty, Rags, up on your keyboard looking at what you are typing about him. ohmygod_smile Guess Miki couldn't stand to be left out of the action. Our kitties love to kibitz and tell us what to write in the posts. They are after all, superior beings to us poor beans (human beings)

Just wait until Sweetie Pie, Whiskers, Freeway, Rags and Miki all get into the act at the same time. That will be quite the show. :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Correct schedule for testing and shooting

Becki, I made a mistake in the schedule time and corrected it. Please print this one off so you can keep it handy. It is a shot every 7 hrs. Let me know you have this one. I messed up the middle afternoon times on the previous one.

test and feed at 7 a.m............shoot at 7:30 a.m

test and feed at 2:00 p.m........shoot at 2:30 p.m.

test and feed at 9 p.m...........shoot at 9:30 p.m.
 
yes, i got the new schedule. problem with leaving wet food down, my other kitties will eat it because he now HAS to be served on the window seat. It takes him an hour to eat 1 and a quarter cans. I can leave the 'DIABETIC DRY' food down, they all love that !! That won't last long cause I cannot pay $54.00 for a six lb. bag of high carb food or any other food.

ok, so even though he got his last shot at 3:12, will he still get his shot at 9:30 tonite ?

Do I have to test him anymore tonite ? From 6:19 to 6:42 he was eating. his last check was at 5:12 p.m.

Please Advise !
 
Why wouldn't he eat if you aren't loading him up now with food? He should be hungry. Let me know if he eats and what his 9 test is. We can then go from there and maybe reduce dose if needed. Please don't let him have that dry.
 
Hi Becki,

Sent you a PM with a couple of questions. You probably missed them in the post because there is so much going on here.

Don't think you will make it to 36 pages of printout tonight. Do you even have any paper left to print with? You can always crumple up a page or two and toss it to the kitties. Cheap, inexpensive cat toy that my kitties love.

Don't know if we have taught you the print view which takes up less paper.
Go to the upper right of the screen.
Click on the little icon of a printer.
New window pops up with all signatures, ads at top of page, etc taken out. Lots less to print.
Print in normal manner by Selecting File Print from the Internet Explorer menu bar.
 
Yes, he can eat and then at 9:30 give him 1 1/2 units and we will now be on schedule.

It is only 6 hrs. since his last shot but that is okay. He is HI so feed him and then 9:30 shoot.

Watch out......I don't know when we will start a new page on this thread.
 
where do I put this on spread sheet, and do I have to test him again ?

this makes page 49, yours will make 50, then new page

He only ate 1/2 can ff
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top