3/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166, +6 140, +9.5 140

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily and Baby

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Good morning again :) I have started a new condo for today, although I did post a bit today in yesterdays, sorry! To recap, Zoey had his first ever shot of insulin this morning, Lantus 1.5 units at 7:40 a.m. I will be testing in about half an hour to see where his BG is at :)

Thanks Anne for letting me know to start a fresh thread :)
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey AMPS 342 - First Day

You are welcome. You are doing a fantastic job with all of the new info coming at you. Have you been able to get any more ketone tests? Also be sure to give plenty of water and food. You can add extra water to the wet food if he'll eat/drink it.
Liz
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey AMPS 342 - First Day

Hello, Welcome, and Congratulations on Zoey's first shot!
I love Zoey's story ~ he's meant to be yours (or, vice-versa, rather :-D ).

It's obvious you're a great mama to your sugarkitty cat_pet_icon .

~Josie (& Ripley)
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey AMPS 342 - First Day

Thanks ladies!! I love my Zoe, he is so incredibly sweet! (Of course I love my civvies too! :) )

I just tested Zoey's BG and he's at 293, so he's out of the pink and into the yellow! He just enjoyed 1/3 of a can of FF with warm water added in. He's not eating a lot at one sitting so I am offering him some whenever he goes to the food area (I have to keep his up because of the two gobblers). He's been drinking lots too and I was able to get a ketone test this morning. It had trace amounts, the same as yesterday so I'm pushing the fluids like you all suggested!

Here's hoping his numbers keeping coming down to a good range, nice and slowly! So far so good!!!
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey AMPS 342 - First Day

Welcome, Emily and Zoey! It seems that Zoey and Blackie both share the exact anniversary date. :lol: Blackie was also diagnosed March 13, 2010.

Hoping that the ketone issue gets cleared up pretty quick, and looking forward to seeing lower #s for you both. Have a great day!
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey AMPS 342 - First Day

Hi Emily. So far, so good:-)

I read the end of yesterday's condo where you mentioned possibly a drop might have been on the fur. Not sure if this applies, but when you give the shot, try to make sure your thumb is not on the plunger as you insert the needle. If it is, a bit of the insulin can come out before the needle gets under the skin.
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey AMPS 342 - First Day

Emily, you can update the subject of the first post with new values as you get them. Then everyone can quickly see how you and Zoey are doing.
03/27 Zoey AMPS 342;+3 293 - First Day
Liz
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey AMPS 342 - First Day

Hi Emily and Zoey,

Good job, Emily. And giving shots will get easier and easier. I hope that the next ketones test will be negative. Keep on getting Zoey to drink water and keep putting it into his food.

Have a fine day,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey AMPS 342;+3 293, +6 257 - First Day

We both just had a nice, much needed nap lol. His BG was at 257 so its dropping slightly still :) Hopefully I will get a clean shot tonight and get every drop into him! He just ate about 1/3 of FF again with lots of water mixed in. He's such a grazer!

Thanks again for all the support! We will get the hang of this!
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey AMPS 342;+3 293, +6 257, +9 204 - First Day

So we are still coming down, +6 204! I fed him what he would eat (with lots of water again) and I will feed him again in about half an hour, but then I need to not feed two hours before the next shot, correct?

Since I probably got about 1 unit it him, let's say, should I do the full 1.5 units at +12? Will it take his numbers down lower since its his second shot and are lower numbers safe?

Also, unfortunately, I have to run out for two hours MAX after his next shot, will he be ok or should I do my best to get out of leaving? Or maybe give him 1 unit to be safe?

For tomorrow I have to work so I will be able to come see him at +3, +5.5 to +6.25, +8 and then I will be home at +9.5 for the rest of the night, is 1.5 units safe when he is alone?

I am a WORRIER! I just don't want to do anything that will hurt him! Sorry for all the questions!!!!!!

EDIT to add: Just tested his ketones and the strip is mostly at Negative, with a hint of pink at Trace. Better than earlier!!

Also, I update Zoey's profile to include his brothers and Gryffin's story about his FLUTD and FIC if anyone would like to learn more about his brothers :) Gryffin's scare helps explain my fears with Zoey being sick I think, lol.
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey AMPS 342;+3 293, +6 257, +9 204 - First Day

The numbers today are looking good!! It's going to take a few days for the insulin depot to stabilize. I'm also very happy to hear that the ketones are going in the desired direction!

You'll want to keep the dose consistent so yes, give the 1.5u tonight. You don't know for sure whether you gave a fur shot so stick with this dose. You reduce the dose if Zoey's numbers drop below 50. When you have time, please start reading the starred, sticky notes at the top of the board. They are pretty much an "everything you ever wanted to know about Lantus" primer. There's a huge amount of information there. I'd suggest starting with the New to the Group sticky and the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky.

I suspect you will be fine if you have to go out for a couple of hours tonight. However, let's see where Zoey's BG numbers are at your PMPS. Remember, you can always leave some food with higher carbs if you need to. (Do you have a supply of high carb food. If not, you should get some gravy-based foods that are above 15% carb -- Fancy Feast Roasted, Marinated, or Gravy Lovers typically fall into that range.)

Don't apologize for asking questions. It's the only way to learn about how to manage your cat's diabetes. We're all here to help! And, we understand the worry. We're all worriers when it comes to our kitties!
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey AMPS 342;+3 293, +6 257, +9 204 - First Day

Great day for Zoey! And you too - great job! That is wonderful about the ketones being less. Phew! Lantus is a depot insulin, meaning it takes a while to have an effect (like 1 to 2 hours) and lasts for 6 to 12 hours (or so) so you should be fine to be gone for a couple of hours, as long as he eats well at his shot. Let's see what a dosing expert says about the dose.

The problem with a fur shot is you never really know how much insulin got in. So never give more insulin to try to make up for the fur shot. He may have gotten the full dose and more insulin could be big trouble.

We are all worriers. Except Sienne, she never worries. :lol: :lol: :lol: And we all understand completely. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey AMPS 342;+3 293, +6 257, +9 204 - First Day

Thank you ladies! I will reread the stickies and have faith in them, lol. I am much more comfortable with all your advice yet again! Thank you for being patient!! I love this forum because it is clear we all love and worry about our kitties lots! It's so nice to not feel like I'm a crazy cat lady here :P

I will give 1.5. units after testing and feeding Zoe and see where there are before I duck out. I do have high carb food, I picked up some Natures Balance pouches that are 20% so if need be he can have some of that :)

I'll test in about an hour and post again :)

Thanks again :)
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162 - First Day

Ok, we are still falling, he's at 162 now. He only ate 1/4 can FF Salmon Dinner just now (1% cabs). This is the first day I have exclusively given FF as I haven't heard back from the Lick Your Chops company (Carl and Bob emailed them for me :) the other day) so I switched to one I know for sure is low carb. He doesn't eat enough in one sitting though, little gaffer!

Should I give him some higher carb food after I shoot as I need to run out?
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162 - First Day

Hi Emily, how long will you be gone? Onset for Lantus is "usually" around +2, will you be back by then? If you think he'll eat it, maybe something a little higher carb but still under 10%.

Great day for Zoey so far.
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162 - First Day

I am aiming to be back by +2, I should be! I will give him some 9% Friskies I have and see if he eats it :)

Thanks!

EDIT: He just ate 1/4-1/3 can of Friskies that's 9% carbs. I hate to leave him though! Jeez I need to calm down and stop worrying, I know LOL
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162 - First Day

What were you feeding before the "all Fancy Feast" switch?

I wish I'd suggested that you get a +11. From what it looks like, you shot a dropping number. It's not dangerous -- it can just take some handling.

Do you have high carb food in the house? And do you have a solid supply of strips?
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162 - First Day

I was feeding Lick Your Chops Salmon and Brown Rice but I have no clue what the carbs were. I used a calculator online (http://www.scheyderweb.com/cats/catfood.html) and it says its 3.65% but that's based on percentages of protein, etc that are "guaranteed analysis" min/max values...

I just gave him one that is higher and he licked up some of the gravy and ate some. Should I stay home?
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162 - First Day

Emily --

That particular calculator isn't great. In order to accurately calculate carbs, you need the "as fed" values rather the guaranteed analysis which uses minimum and maximum values. If you call the company and ask for the "as fed" values, they may give them to you and can then do the calculations.
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166 - First Day

I lost my internet connection until now. I tested Zoey at +1 and he was still falling, he was at 148 but I got him back to 166 with high carbs.
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162 - First Day

I need to apologise. I didnt realize that there were two posts for zoey and I saw she had shot at 166 and her SS hadn't been updated for three hours and I sent her a PM and commented on her post. I may have freaked her out a little. I didnt realize you guys had it under control.

Emily - u are in good hands here. Please continue to follow their advice,

Wendy
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162 - First Day

Hi Emily,
Did you decide to stay at home or do you still need to go out? These numbers are looking good to me.
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166 - First Day

Fantastic to see Zoey responding so well to Lantus! :-D :-D Those numbers are below renal threshold, which is about 200 in a cat.
Liz
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166 - First Day

sorry for confusing you Wendy!! I had posted in yesterdays condo that I had a new condo going, but I see that bumped it up and probably caused the confusion. I'm not sure good at all this!! I'm so sorry!!!
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166 - First Day

What kind of high carb was it? Syrup? Canned? How much did you give? I will let the others advise but they might want another test in an hour or two to make sure he isn't dropping too low once that HC wears off.
Great to see blues though!!!
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166 - First Day

I gave him some food with 20% but he wasn't interested, but he did eat some (a few bites) of a 14%. I gave him a lick of honey before I saw your post that all was well :) He wasn't too sure about that stuff lol.
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166 - First Day

A +4 or +4.5 might be a good idea, just to see if Zoey drops any. The honey might boost the BG some, but it doesn't usually last long. Still looks good so far to me though.
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166 - First Day

Ok :) I will test again in half an hour or so and see where he is at :) Hopefully he keeps climbing! Or else I'm going to need coffee and some chocolate!!! (Would be wine if I had any! LOL)
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162 - First Day

Emily and Zoey said:
Ok, we are still falling, he's at 162 now. He only ate 1/4 can FF Salmon Dinner just now (1% cabs). This is the first day I have exclusively given FF as I haven't heard back from the Lick Your Chops company (Carl and Bob emailed them for me :) the other day) so I switched to one I know for sure is low carb. He doesn't eat enough in one sitting though, little gaffer!

Should I give him some higher carb food after I shoot as I need to run out?

In case you didn't see it in your other condo:
I heard back, but didn't get all of the data I asked for. ( I think it was me who "bumped" your other condo up and caused the confusion for Wendy earlier. Ooops)

Hi Carl,

The calories in our 5.5oz canned cat foods run approx 220 kcals per can. Our 3oz cans avg approx 100 kcals per can. I will find out what the % of calories are from protein, fat and carbs. Thanks

Michael F. Gagliardi
Healthy Pet Foods

If/When he sends more info, I'll pass it along.
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166 - First Day

It's ok Carl :) You meant well!! Thank you for doing that for me!!! In the meantime I'm using FF but I'm not sure how his poor skin will respond! I am going to start making my own I think, it might be the easiest thing for him!! But it will be good to know about the Lick Your Chops because I know he tolerates it and likes it until I can make some :)
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166 - First Day

Emily --

The Fancy Feast pate style foods are gluten free. If you need to use high carb, you can add any kind of syrup to a teaspoon or two of your usual low carb to avoid Zoey's gluten allergy. Gabby is sensitive to gluten (she gets diarrhea) so I add a drop or two of corn syrup (Karo) or honey to a bit of her food when I need to steer her numbers.

If you periodically lose your internet connection, I'd encourage you to print out the sticky note on Shooting & Handling Low Numbers. Having a hard copy of this information may be very useful is your connection goes kaput.
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166 - First Day

Thanks Sienne :) I didn't realize they were all gluten free, that's good! Here's hoping his skin stays sore free :) That's a good tip, I will use it with syrup if need be!

I've printed it out and have it on the fridge :) He's dropping a bit again, since he's still above 50, I should just let him hold steady there without any HC right?

Shall I test again in a little while or is he ok since he's not in the 50's? Its hard to know what he will do since he has never had insulin. Poor guy!
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166, +4.5 151

You can give him a tsp or so of LC food, this time, Emily and test in an hour.
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166, +4.5 151

Emily, the first few cycles on Lantus are impossible to predict. We know what is "typical", but it doesn't seem like the cats care about being typical.

Some kitties respond quickly. Others don't. Zoey appears to like it so far. :-D A nice string of blue numbers is very nice to look at. The 151 is great at this point.

If you are going to be up, a +6 makes sense. He might just decide to surf in these blues for the rest of the night. But we assume nothing with these kitties ;-)
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166, +4.5 151

Ok, will do. I'm really sorry about all the trouble I caused!! Thank you everyone for still being supportive with all my newbie trouble making!!!!!!
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166, +4.5 151

Now you start to see why we like to coach through Shooting low at first.

Over time you will get more data to know how he will behave and whether you need to worry and test, or not. Typically though, being cats, they like to keep us up at night ;) so break out the coffee and set the alarm. It doesn't happen every night either so don't worry it's not always like this.

Wendy

EDITED TO ADD... What trouble? This is nothing unusual to these guys. The good thing is you are able to stay up and test and keep up the momentum. Otherwise you would have had to skip the shot which isn't ideal.
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166, +4.5 151

I'm glad that he is doing well in the blues then! What's another hour lol. He ate his tsp of LC as Marje suggested and has wandered to bed lol.

I'm thankful for all the help, you all rock!! :)
 
03/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166, +4.5 151 +6 140

Hello again :) I just tested at +6 and he is still going down a bit, he's 140. Shall I test again in a bit and should he have anything to eat?
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166, +4.5 151 +6

He doesn't need food to boost his numbers, but there's no problem with giving him a snack if he's hinting he's hungry. You can test in another hour if you want to. But his numbers still look terrific at this point!
 
3/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166, +4.5 151 +6 140

He's actually trying to sleep and I keep poking him lol. I wouldn't mind heading to bed, maybe for a couple hours if you suggest I test again before +11, have to be up in 5 hours for work lol. He reached his lowest point at +12 his first shot this morning... so maybe at +9?

Thanks for responding! I'm not sure what time it is where you are, but I appreciate it!!
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166, +4.5 151 +6

I'm on (actually off) the east coast, so almost 2am here.

Yes, if you can nap now and get a +9, that would be awesome! I'm not sure if anyone will be on that early/late, but there's a good chance someone will. You know what to do if you see a low number like 50? Not that I expect that, but want to make sure you're okay with it?

Can you leave a snack out for him?
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166, +4.5 151 +6

We are in the same time zone then! Happy Thursday! :)

I have the information printed on what to do with low numbers, just in case! I will put some beside him, he's just on the floor near me on the couch, and hopefully if I give the scarffers some too they will leave his alone. I'll test again at 4:30ish (+9).

Hope you have a great night!! Thanks for staying up with me!
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166, +4.5 151 +6

You're welcome Emily! Hope you have a restful (even if short) night. :smile:
 
Re: 03/27 Zoey PMPS 162, +1 148, +2 150, +3 166, +4.5 151 +6

Good morning to anyone out there! Zoey has levelled off it seems and just gave me the same read at +9.5 that we got at +6, 140. So he must be climbing again :) We are going to go back to bed for another 2 hours of sleep before work!

We made it through the first day thanks to everyones help! Thank you!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top