3/27 Tommy +3 275, +4 293, +6 289, +10 393, pmps 352

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/27 Tommy amps 320, +3 275, +4 293, +6 289, +10 393

Thanks for all the good wishes and praise everyone. He seemed a bit more "relaxed" today. I wouldn't say lethargic but it was strange to see him not hungering for food every time i got near his bowl.
Is that normal? He was still very much a love, but definitely seemed more comfortable, if that makes sense. I know there is a variance on the meters, but is it also normal for his number to have jumped over 100pts in 4 hours?
Again, it sure has been a blessing finding all of you :YMHUG:
I hope you and all your babies have a happy and peaceful evening.
 
Re: 3/27 Tommy amps 320, +3 275, +4 293, +6 289, +10 393

Tommy isn't used to being in the yellows. What you're seeing is a bounce. When a cat is used to spending time in a particular (usually higher) range of numbers, when those numbers come down, their liver "panics." It's a normal and protective function. When this occurs, it dumps stored glucose and counterregulatory hormones into the blood stream. This drives the numbers back up. Gabby used to go from an AMPS of 400 to a nadir in the 40s and be back to 400 by PMPS. (She's a show off!)

Also, as a cat's numbers come down, their appetite will decrease. This is a very positive sign.
 
Re: 3/27 Tommy amps 320, +3 275, +4 293, +6 289, +10 393

if you want to shoot early, that might help with the bounce. How about testing at +11, and if he's still in this range or higher then go ahead and shoot? There's no reason to wait for him to get even higher.
 
Re: 3/27 Tommy amps 320, +3 275, +4 293, +6 289, +10 393

O O O, I hope you are online & see Libby's suggestion... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/27 Tommy amps 320, +3 275, +4 293, +6 289, +10 393

ps... that isn't a suggestion that I would make for most kitties in most situations, but I see a little bit of an opportunity to grab onto Tommy's resistance and try to hold it down a little, so why not go for it? It might not help, but it won't hurt to get the insulin in a little earlier.
 
Re: 3/27 Tommy amps 320, +3 275, +4 293, +6 289, +10 393

sorry guys, getting ready to go shoot his pm shot. Wasn't online then. Would it be ok to test and shoot at +11 tomorrow night? Or even tomorrow morning before his normal time. shoot an hour early?
I'll keep you up to date. I'll try to get some night time numbers. Sleep has been a luxury i've not been able to take advantage of lately.
 
Re: 3/27 Tommy amps 320, +3 275, +4 293, +6 289, +10 393

shooting early depends on the circumstances. Tonight I suggested it just because he is at the beginning of a bounce - he was going up pretty fast and usually that means they will just keep going up fast.

If you need to move the time for schedule purposes, then if he is red or high pink (and not dropping) it is usually ok to shoot 30 minutes early, or sometimes an hour. You can always post for advice.
 
Re: 3/27 Tommy +3 275, +4 293, +6 289, +10 393, pmps 352

Just tested and he is back down to 352. Schedule isn't a problem right now. I'll continue with 12-12 for now unless something changes.
Sorry i missed your post for the +11 shot.
 
Re: 3/27 Tommy amps 320, +3 275, +4 293, +6 289, +10 393

no problem. It was just a suggestion, and it's nice to see Tommy coming down on his own anyway. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top