Re: 3/27 Star AMPS=114 +1=127 +2=72 +4=45 +4.3=49 +~5=60 +5.
Sorry, I've been in a meeting since noon. After his last test I gave him a little more LC food spiked with some extra HC (about half and half), which he ate. Luckily, perhaps, Star rarely turns down food. :lol: I'm hoping to bring him up gradually and maybe not run the risk of a rapid drop after the HC is processed. But I'm saving the gravy as my pre-emergency option if he is still low or is dropping at the next test (any minute now), which is 90 minutes after the last one. Star is napping and dreaming, if his little sounds are any indication. ;-)
So I'm thinking there are at least two ways to go here on the subject of another dose reduction: stay the course and see if he balances out over the next several cycles, or reduce the dose and follow the numbers, knowing that a small increase might be in our future once the depot levels out. I'm torn about which way I want to go. Still have a week until we leave town, but I definitely want some stability before then because there will be nobody here to do those frequent tests and feedings. If Star's pancreas has returned from its little vacation and is starting to function, I hate to give him more insulin than is absolutely necessary. I know we make the best decisions we can with the information we have, and the numbers tell part of the story, but there are chapters we can't read because they don't present themselves clearly to us (sorry, I'm a writer so I'm sort of obligated to use book imagery whenever possible, lol!). And the only discomfort Star seems to be experiencing through all these rising and falling numbers, at least outwardly, is from the testing (he's never been a very vocal cat, but he's actually started to complain audibly about the ear pricks). So just in observing him and trying to go with one of the right answers, I'm on the fence until I get the rest of the day charted.
Thanks to you both, Lisa and Sienne, for your viewpoints. Let's see how things look through the afternoon and make a decision at dinner time. I mentioned that the Lantus pen I was using had tiny bubbles in it, so I'm opening a new pen tonight. Any chance the insulin itself is responsible for the dips, as in, could it possibly be stronger than it should be? I don't know what those bubbles mean, exactly, or how they affect the insulin. The warnings I've read just say that bubbles or anything else in the vial can cause inconsistent results. Any experience with that?