3/27 Merlin Was 38 - Now We Bounce/ AMPS 204/ PMPS 472

Steve & Merlin

Member Since 2019
Last nigh someone mentioned he likes to bounce from greens. Unfortunately, Merlin read that and thought it would be fun. o_O So we had an active night. But at least we catch some sleep while he is cruising through his high numbers. The plus, I guess, is we know he still is good in the greens at the current dose. He got some 100% yummy high carb food when I stopped him at 38. He loved it and ate the whole teaspoon worth. But I am not inclined to say he "earned" a dose reduction after last night. I want to see how he settles off this bounce and if I can get back stable with a somewhat higher carb diet with this dose. I'm ok if he stays in the blues on it for now. He booted Tasha away from the biggest sunbeam earlier and is now sound asleep in it twitching in a dream.

I really like the new Walgreens meter. It uses such a small amount of blood it's easier to get blood from Merlin as my poke is a lot less. I tracked it for a week against his original Ariva Plus and they agreed within 5%. The test strips are really cheap too. Only $14 for 50.

Previous Post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-26-merlin-amps-456-9-356-pmps-315.212422/
 
That was a long night! :eek::D A reduction is strongly recommended for andip into the 30’s. Good to hear he had his attitude on towards he civvie.
 
I gave him his regular dose this morning. I'll see how he comes off this bounce and consider a reduction. I sure don't like dancing in the bottom of light greens. Do you have any idea why his dose requirements are declining now at his age after so many years at a higher dose? Seems counter to what you would expect. Another reduction would put him at half the dose he was on for many many years.
 
Holding the dose for one cycle to help moderate the bounce is a good strategy. However, a dip into the 30s, even for a long term diabetic is sending a strong message that the dose is too high. Like Wendy suggested, I'm encouraging you to drop Merlin's dose.

I tend to look at insulin not as a permanent/long range amount. Insulin is a hormone and is influenced by a number of factors. Notably, stress can easily have an effect on numbers as can diet, activity, illness, etc. If a cat's (or human's) insulin needs were static, there would be no need to test and we all know the importance of home testing.
 
I will drop his dose to 1.0u tonight. His bounce so far has not been too bad. We'll see if it kicks up as we move past theoretical nadir.
 
Back
Top