3/27 Malki AMPS 340, +3 97

miribluebeard

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...75-2-115-3-79-4-86-6-158.245248/#post-2767339 --- last night's thread (sorry I think I forgot this last time cause I was flustered)

Please see Malkis spreadsheet. This is a massive drop from AMPS to +3, right? Does anyone know why this is happening, is the high morning number a bounce, am I giving too much insulin? I use calipers to make sure the dose is the same each time.
And could anyone recommend what + times to do rechecks? She already had tender little ears from last night (she's 10lb but all muscle so she is TINY with little baby ears) so don't want to overdo it but also don't want to risk a hypo.
She appears to be trying to self regulate like last night by hopping up for bites of her food every 15-30 mins.
Thank you
 
Some cats just like to drop fast and early. In those cases, you might want to try giving your cat some mini meals at +1, +2 and +3 to see if you can slow her down. Have you seen this post: Using Food to Manipulate the Curve

You'll know if you are giving too much insulin if she goes below a reduction earning value. Once you select a dosing method, that'll tell you what that reduction value is. If following tight regulation with a reduction point of 50, the dose looks good. If following SLGS, she earned a 0.25 reduction last night by going under 90.
 
Some cats just like to drop fast and early. In those cases, you might want to try giving your cat some mini meals at +1, +2 and +3 to see if you can slow her down. Have you seen this post: Using Food to Manipulate the Curve

You'll know if you are giving too much insulin if she goes below a reduction earning value. Once you select a dosing method, that'll tell you what that reduction value is. If following tight regulation with a reduction point of 50, the dose looks good. If following SLGS, she earned a 0.25 reduction last night by going under 90.
I just read that feeding the curve. Very interesting!
Malki is not a full meal eater, and funnily enough it sounds like she is feeding her own curve like clockwork. She ate a third of her can just after the AM shot, some more around +1, +2 and +3 and now at bang on +4 I just saw her finishing her bowl off.
I'll definitely look into how I can further manipulate that to lessen those big bounces she seems to be having at AMPS then the fast drops.

I know I should have picked a method by now but I have a lot of other unavoidable life stuff going on I was thinking to stay with TR which at a glance seems to be what I'm already doing with the insulin dose and not reducing unless drops go under 50. (It might not be clear on her spreadsheet with the change from 1 to 0.75 but she went low the night before the change, the values were on the freestyle libre but I have "hidden" those rows on the spreadsheet to show clarity and consistency with the accucheck that I'm now using) I think I need to have another read of the two methods because it's still not super clear to me which one I should go for.

When do you recommend I do the next checks. It's currently +4 and she's in the middle of an acrobatic routine so definitely no signs of lethargy.
 
I've read that the Libre lows should be double checked, so good to go by what the Accucheck is telling you.

A +4 would be a good start, and tell you if she's still dropping fast or slowing down.
 
I've read that the Libre lows should be double checked, so good to go by what the Accucheck is telling you.

A +4 would be a good start, and tell you if she's still dropping fast or slowing down.
Ok thank you. Yes I removed the libre Wednesday night and just sticking with accucheck, hence cleaning up the spreadsheet otherwise it looked like a dog's breakfast with all the different values in there
 
Back
Top