carolynandlatte
Very Active Member
Well I could just kick myself for not putting karo in her food this a.m.! ohmygod_smile I have been doing it nearly every a.m. this week to slow any potential big drops she is so famous for, when starting high AMPS. Guess I was not thinking it made THAT much of a difference, but possibly it did. Karo'd the last 1/3 of food she is working on right now. Although the damage is already done...133pt drop in 1hr :YMSIGH:
Her numbers truley affect how she is feeling. I think static yellows, and 300+'s make her very lethargic and less hungry. She had a PMPS of 213 last night, which may have dropped into the blue before the pred kicked in. I suspect this because she was up and about...eating! Very unusual after pmps.
Is she feeling better? A little, I suppose. She has eaten more in the last 12+hrs, and up and about a tad more. I came home from work yesterday to find a little bit of a wet bottom and lots of litter stuck to it. I dont know how that happened unless she sat in her LB while peeing, and couldnt lift her butt?!?! After I got the initial mess cleaned up, she did spend some time last night trying to get it cleaned. Its really hard for her to reach back there, and often gives up. But she kept at it.
I again hesitate to give the bupe if she is feeling a little better this a.m. Im really nervous of it making her feel worse, like last time. If a lowered dose only means less time it is effective, than wont she have similar side effects as the higher dose? She wouldnt move from her throne all day, eyes dilated, and later was just skittish/paranoid. On the other hand, I dont doubt she has some aches and pains, despite acting a little better this a.m. If I give it, I would like to do so by 9am (1.5hrs from this post). Otherwise, I will need to wait a while until I have another full day off to monitor, and the clinic is open to call in case of an adverse reaction.
She has been fancy to the Pet Naturals Hip and Joint treats. They got dry and hard pretty quick, so I started sprinkling them on her wet food - which seems to peak her interest more than those yucky whisker lickens did. I think some of these supplemental treats are more for the humans, feeling like we are doing something. It cant hurt, tho. They say they are sugar free, but also warn about giving if diabetic. Who knows?!
I will still continue with the QOL checklist on a daily basis. I may find that she is actually having more GOOD days than bad, and Im just hyperfocused on the bad. And, it could turn out she is really only having 1-2 good days/week...with bad days getting worse. it's just too hard for me to see the whole picture right now. So the check list will be good.
Thanks for those who have stopped by to send Latte your good wishes. Its been a hectic week. The next few weeks should be more mellow and regular, work-wise for me. That will be helpful with our overall routine and my ability to be around LL a bit more.
Hope everyone is expecting wonderful weather for the weekend, and great plans to get out and enjoy some of it!
ETA: yesterday - viewtopic.php?f=9&t=10265&p=101114#p101114
Her numbers truley affect how she is feeling. I think static yellows, and 300+'s make her very lethargic and less hungry. She had a PMPS of 213 last night, which may have dropped into the blue before the pred kicked in. I suspect this because she was up and about...eating! Very unusual after pmps.
Is she feeling better? A little, I suppose. She has eaten more in the last 12+hrs, and up and about a tad more. I came home from work yesterday to find a little bit of a wet bottom and lots of litter stuck to it. I dont know how that happened unless she sat in her LB while peeing, and couldnt lift her butt?!?! After I got the initial mess cleaned up, she did spend some time last night trying to get it cleaned. Its really hard for her to reach back there, and often gives up. But she kept at it.
I again hesitate to give the bupe if she is feeling a little better this a.m. Im really nervous of it making her feel worse, like last time. If a lowered dose only means less time it is effective, than wont she have similar side effects as the higher dose? She wouldnt move from her throne all day, eyes dilated, and later was just skittish/paranoid. On the other hand, I dont doubt she has some aches and pains, despite acting a little better this a.m. If I give it, I would like to do so by 9am (1.5hrs from this post). Otherwise, I will need to wait a while until I have another full day off to monitor, and the clinic is open to call in case of an adverse reaction.
She has been fancy to the Pet Naturals Hip and Joint treats. They got dry and hard pretty quick, so I started sprinkling them on her wet food - which seems to peak her interest more than those yucky whisker lickens did. I think some of these supplemental treats are more for the humans, feeling like we are doing something. It cant hurt, tho. They say they are sugar free, but also warn about giving if diabetic. Who knows?!
I will still continue with the QOL checklist on a daily basis. I may find that she is actually having more GOOD days than bad, and Im just hyperfocused on the bad. And, it could turn out she is really only having 1-2 good days/week...with bad days getting worse. it's just too hard for me to see the whole picture right now. So the check list will be good.
Thanks for those who have stopped by to send Latte your good wishes. Its been a hectic week. The next few weeks should be more mellow and regular, work-wise for me. That will be helpful with our overall routine and my ability to be around LL a bit more.
Hope everyone is expecting wonderful weather for the weekend, and great plans to get out and enjoy some of it!
ETA: yesterday - viewtopic.php?f=9&t=10265&p=101114#p101114