3/27 Charlie AMPS 159 +3 245 +7 283 PMPS 288 +3 260

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
Charlie's morning pre-shot was quite low, and I didn't feel comfortable shooting the full dose of .75 due to a few reasons:

- The last nights she has been doing well on the .75 units (heading in the right direction) but she has also been hovering near the lower threshold and maybe even falling below it. Last night when I tested at +6 charlie looked awful. My gut tells me she might have gone low. Her eyes were hugely dilated, she looked completely wiped out. Her breathing was rapid, and she just wasn't herself.
- Since I've been needing to use maple syrup to keep her above the threshold for the 2 night before, I was cautiously watching. Then this morning's pre-shot came in quite low and I didn't feel comfortable shooting a 159, so I decided to give her a "token dose" of .5 units.
- This afternoon we received new cat food in the mail as well. We changed Charlie's food to smilla poultry & fish pots (recommended by another FMDB member in Denmark). Supposedly this new food is 0% carb versus the roughly 7% carb food we've been feeding lately (felix senior).

So all these factors led me to conclude that I should keep her at .5 this evening as well, and hold her at this until Friday (just to get more data and see how she does on that particular dose). Saturday we will be traveling to Denmark, and Charlie will not get insulin for 2 days (Sat/Sun) so on Monday afternoon we'll need to start over again.

Trying her on the .5 units will give me more data to know what to do on Monday night.
Know this is "off protocol" since I didn't officially catch her in the low numbers via testing, but I have to do what I feel comfortable with, and the last thing I want to do is to hurt my kitty. Will post the data over the coming days so you can provide your expert opinions on which dose to give on Monday upon "restart".

Thanks in advance for all your help.
Jill

yesterday
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top