3/26 punkin +3/234 +5/175 PMPS 118 +2/185 +3/265 +10/315

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
happy caturday! all well here . . . gotta make a daughter birthday cake this morning, but for the moment, i'm gonna try to go back to sleep.
 
Re: 3/26 punkin amps 220

Morning Julie and Punkin! Happy Caturday! Very nice amps for you Punkin - aiming for some blues later on?

Good luck with the BTB, and the cake. Sweet - a birthday party! Have a good time. :-D
 
Re: 3/26 punkin amps 220 +3/234 +5/175 Dosing Question

I'm unsure what's happening with Punkin's BG - can someone look at his SS and give me advice, please?

He had 2 dose decreases a couple of days apart, then it seemed like the last decrease failed and i went back up .25. But he seems very flat in his numbers now, and i don't know if i'm supposed to wait longer if this is a bounce, and see if he starts dropping back down into greens again, or if i should call it a failed decrease again and go back up to 7.25.

Anyway, I"m going to be gone the rest of the day and having a vet tech give it to him tonight, so i guess i'm asking for tomorrow's am shot.

Also, he has a dental on Tuesday and this is only his second ever, so i'm wondering if that's affecting things or if i need to ask for a test to see if he's insulin resistant. Is there one? Thoughts on that? I think it's likely he has some gum/teeth things going on.

Thanks for the help!
 
Re: 3/26 punkin amps 220 +3/234 +5/175 Dosing Question

I think you have room to increase the dose again, back to 7.25, to get Punkin back into the blue/green. Possibly he just wasn't ready for two reductions in a row. Sometimes they lose momentum and you have to go back up to get them going back down again.

Needing a dental can definitely affect Punkin's dosing needs, especially if there is any infection or pain going on. Sometimes we see cats run down the dosing ladder quickly after a dental. Sometimes they don't, but it's always exciting to see what each cat will do!

You asked about tests for insulin resistance. Here is a link in our High Dose group that explains acromegaly and IAA. Those are conditions that we see fairly often here among cats that are on higher doses of insulin. It certainly wouldn't hurt to run those tests if you are having blood drawn anyway. The information on how to submit the tests are linked in the post. Usually we do suggest those tests when cats start getting up to the 7-8 unit range, but because Punkin didn't reach this dose in the usual way I still think there is a chance he is just one of those cats who needs a bit more insulin than most, and that he is about to race down the dosing scale on his own. Still, having the test results is helpful if you're able to do them. It helps us all understand how to deal with your cat's numbers better, when we know what we are dealing with (acro, or IAA, or regular diabetic cat with a higher dose). If he does start needing a lot of reductions, the test results will help us know how to get him there safely.

Here is one of my favorite spreadsheets, Randi's Max. Max went up to 6 units before he turned around and charged full-speed down the dosing ladder all the way to OTJ!
 
Re: 3/26 punkin amps 220 +3/234 +5/175 Dosing Question

It's certainly possible that dental related issues are driving the numbers up. Gingivitis or an infected tooth or pain from a dental problem can certainly raise numbers or make it harder to bring numbers down. Did your vet advise you about how s/he wants to handle Punkin's insulin dose and food the day of the procedure? Some vets prefer no insulin others suggest a reduced dose. Also, if it ends up that Pumkin needs extractions, it won't hurt to have some baby food (Beechnut Stage 1 or Gerber Stage 2 both contain only meat and broth) in the house. You do not want to feed in large quantities after anesthesia despite the fact that Punkin may be hungry. Anesthesia slows the GI track and if your cat eats too much, you'll have scarf-and-barf. Also, get a test as soon as Punkin gets home. Anesthesia can also lower BG. You'll want to know if numbers are dropping at shot time so having a test to compare will help. Also, please ask your vet to not administer either Metacam for pain (it can cause renal failure) or Convenia, as an antibiotic. The latter lasts 2 weeks and if Punkin has a problem with the drug, once it's in, you can't get it back out! We recommend buprenex (buprenorphine) for pain.

There are two tests that can be run to see whether there are conditions that explain why a cat needs higher doses of insulin. One test, IGF-1, assesses for acromegaly. The other test, IAA, tests for insulin autoantibodies, which cause insulin resistance. Here is a link that discusses high dose conditions. Knowing whether or not Punkin has a high dose condition will help you make decisions about how aggressive you want to be with respect to dose.
 
Re: 3/26 punkin amps 220 +3/234 +5/175 Dosing Question

best of luck with the dental...and isn't Max's SS an eyeopener??
 
Re: 3/26 punkin amps 220 +3/234 +5/175 Dosing Question

Hi Julie & Punkin,
Sounds like you got the terrific advice that you need. Good luck with Punkin's dental.
Have a great evening, and if Punkin can come with the gang to visit Rusty in the city on Monday, Rusty would like that. Mannie will pick him up.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/26 punkin amps 220 +3/234 +5/175 Dosing Question

Good luck with the dental Julie. I think several of the kitties go up and down the dosing scale inc "you knowwho" little brown girl of mine. Good idea to have him checked for acro just to put your mind at rest. Hope you are having fun with birthday celebrations!
 
Re: 3/26 punkin amps 220 +3/234 +5/175 PMPS 118 +2/185 +3/26

thanks everybody! I'm going to look at those links and decide if we should have him tested further. i may wait to see if the dental makes a difference.

we had a great time with the family gathering. All 4 kids and my in-laws, plus the birthday girl's boyfriend and some dorm friends.

The vet tech called to tell me his BG was 118 and ask if i still wanted her to shoot 7.0, which i did, but then i sure felt like i needed to get home. We were just leaving and we made it home in 2 hours, in time to get a +2. Surprisingly, he'd gone from the 118 to 185 in 2 hours, then to 265 at +3.

I heard some rattling around in the laundry room and discovered Anya had knocked down the old dry food container and it was on the floor, lid off, mostly empty. I don't know how much it had left in it, so don't know how much got eaten, but given that punkin is punkin, if there was food available I'm sure he ate it. sigh. I was all prepared for a late night and low numbers after the 118 PMPS, but I guess not. that part is a good thing, right?!
 
Re: 3/26 punkin amps 220 +3/234 +5/175 PMPS 118 +2/185 +3/26

wow, max's SS is kinda incredible! what a wild ride. I would love to go on that ride with punkin!!!! ;-)

I looked at the link on higher dose conditions. I don't think he has a single one of those factors - no behavior or physical changes, no delicate skin or difficulty healing, no weight gain, really none of them for Cushing's, IIA or Acro. Without a single one of them, and recognizing his dose increases happened inappropriately, I think I'll wait to see how he does with the dental and go from there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top