3/26 Gumung’s AMPS 466/ @+2.5 280/ @+4 208/@+6.25 172/@+9 168

Dkshin89

Member Since 2022
Previous post: 3/24 (did not post 3/25)
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-24-gumung-amps-498-3-370.261111/#post-2930288

Hello, everyone, I didn’t get to post yesterday, his numbers were just too high, flat with new dose, 5unit.

His urine test had infection positive so he needs to take Baytril, tried to give him yesterday with food, he ate around it (of course). Purchased pill pocket, even though it is not so diabetes friendly, I gotta give the meds. If there is any other method, wish to share, please give me any advice.

I tried in pill, also crushed mixed with food, crushed mixed with water in syringe (been running around no luck). My last choice was pill pocket!

So if you have any advice, please give me so. I would be happy to give a try to my goofy playful little 5 year boy.

Thank you all, and have a great weekend.
 
Thank you, Bhooma, I did raise the dose to 5 yesterday, but also another flat day. As suggested by wendy&neko, tiffamaxee, Christie& maverick I will hold this 5 unit cycle bit longer. Maybe at least 6 cycle. He seems like he needs time. And also he had urine test result came in yesterday. Infection was positive so hopefully with his medication, baytril, will bring his BG level down.
So sorry that I couldn’t reply soon yesterday. I was so stress from morning, wasn’t able to test amps 5 times!! :nailbiting:
He is getting lower number today though!
Why were you't you able to get the AMPS even after 5 attempts? No blood? Do you warm his ear? Sorry if I asking these questions again and again. Here are some tips for home testing:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-9-bailey-amps-117-5-62.252712/#post-2851043

Good to see a lower number on this dose! You would hold the this dose at least 6 cycles. If you get a number below 200, then longer.

Infection and inflammation can cause numbers to rise. Hopefully taking care of the UTI will improve his numbers. How long has the vet precribed Baytril for?
 
Purchased pill pocket, even though it is not so diabetes friendly, I gotta give the meds. If there is any other method, wish to share, please give me any advice.
I think a pill pocket, even though not diabetic-friendly, can sometimes not be avoided. We have to pick our battles.

Does he like cheese? You could wrap it in cheese and see if he will eat it.
 
I think a pill pocket, even though not diabetic-friendly, can sometimes not be avoided. We have to pick our battles.

Does he like cheese? You could wrap it in cheese and see if he will eat it.

Wow, never thought about giving cheese to cat. I will try that. He is still feels excessive hunger, and going up on the kitchen island, so, will try cheese.
 
Hello Bhooma! His ear was bit swollen and also every time I pocked him he was crying and running from me,, After each tests, he would scratch his ears. With someone in this forum suggested to use Boiron Ledum Palustre 30c, with melted in the water, kept cold, after test, I would soak cotton pad and hold in few sec with his ear. But I guess I am still not a master. He does feel pain, couldn’t bare that cry yesterday morning. :arghh:
I deleted my post in your prev condo and posted it here but not soon enough :-)

Sorry you are having such a hard time with tests. Ledum does help, as does pure coconut oil. You could also take a break from tests in cycles where he is flat and and high. Like yesterday. Once his number starts moving up, you can stop testing. It is in active cycles like today that you need more tests. In other cycles, just give his ears (and yourself) a break.
 
Sorry you are having such a hard time with tests.

Hardest time to do tests are the morning amps. He is so hungry and jumping like rabbit. :cat: He is so excited, (high? I would say?) that I am awake to give him food. His breakfast is 8 am with shot. So like two hour prior to eat, he would wake me up crying. So I would draggggg myself wake up in 7 to prepare tests and play with him, I guess he doesn’t get calm like other times through out the days. (Right after he eat, he is just calm as never before.)

I just did a test, he had 172 for the first time!
 
Hardest time to do tests are the morning amps. He is so hungry and jumping like rabbit. :cat: He is so excited, (high? I would say?) that I am awake to give him food. His breakfast is 8 am with shot. So like two hour prior to eat, he would wake me up crying. So I would draggggg myself wake up in 7 to prepare tests and play with him, I guess he doesn’t get calm like other times through out the days. (Right after he eat, he is just calm as never before.)

I just did a test, he had 172 for the first time!
I give my cat a little treat to eat while I’m testing him for pre-shots (tiki cat tuna). This way he stands still and knows he’s getting food too. I know others have different methods, like giving a small freeze dried treat immediately afterwards, but this is the only way we could get George in testing mode. He used to run away at pre-shots.
 
Great to see that first blue! :cool:

I've heard of some people putting pills in a small gel cap (size 3,4, or 5 work for cats), then putting that in a pile of Churu or other liquid treat. With Neko, I tried to get either liquid meds or compounded chewable treats, but that wasn't always possible. I had to use a pill shooter with her when I had to give pills or capsules.
 
Hardest time to do tests are the morning amps. He is so hungry and jumping like rabbit. :cat: He is so excited, (high? I would say?) that I am awake to give him food. His breakfast is 8 am with shot. So like two hour prior to eat, he would wake me up crying. So I would draggggg myself wake up in 7 to prepare tests and play with him, I guess he doesn’t get calm like other times through out the days. (Right after he eat, he is just calm as never before.)

I just did a test, he had 172 for the first time!
Congrats on your first blue! YAY! :cool:

Does he get food at night? Maybe a snack at +8 or +9 would reduce hunger pangs at AMPS? Do you have an autofeeder?
 
I give my cat a little treat to eat while I’m testing him for pre-shots (tiki cat tuna). This way he stands still and knows he’s getting food too. I know others have different methods, like giving a small freeze dried treat immediately afterwards, but this is the only way we could get George in testing mode. He used to run away at pre-shots.

I kept thinking pre- shot should be empty stomach. But yes! With little treat, I believe he will stay still at least he finishes that treat!
 
Great to see that first blue! :cool:

I've heard of some people putting pills in a small gel cap (size 3,4, or 5 work for cats), then putting that in a pile of Churu or other liquid treat. With Neko, I tried to get either liquid meds or compounded chewable treats, but that wasn't always possible. I had to use a pill shooter with her when I had to give pills or capsules.

Oh! Yes, I heard about pill shooter too. If I fail again, I will consider pill shooter again!. Thank you Wendy&Neko for that suggestion.
 
Congrats on your first blue! YAY! :cool:

Does he get food at night? Maybe a snack at +8 or +9 would reduce hunger pangs at AMPS? Do you have an autofeeder?

YAY! I would like to see that blue again!
I didn’t give any food from pmps shoot and food till next morning. Should I divide what he eats at night time and give half right before I sleep?
No autofeeder since, I have another cat, she gets her food stolen from Gumung all the time, so in the regular meal time, I give other cat’s food in different room.
 
I didn’t give any food from pmps shoot and food till next morning. Should I divide what he eats at night time and give half right before I sleep?
Absolutely feed that boy before you go to bed! My girl would have chewed my fingers off if I made her wait that long. A couple things for later feeding. You can freeze some food, we call them catsicles, and put that out before bed too. He'll eat it as it thaws. Second, I had two cats and only one autofeeder. Neko would steal the other cat's food too but the other cat knew better than to try to eat from Neko's autofeeder. It was hers!! I never worried if the other cat would get in her food, they were eating the same low carb food.
 
I didn’t give any food from pmps shoot and food till next morning. Should I divide what he eats at night time and give half right before I sleep?
No wonder he is so hungry in the morning. Does he get small meals during the day? Or food only twice day?
 
Absolutely feed that boy before you go to bed! My girl would have chewed my fingers off if I made her wait that long. A couple things for later feeding. You can freeze some food, we call them catsicles, and put that out before bed too. He'll eat it as it thaws. Second, I had two cats and only one autofeeder. Neko would steal the other cat's food too but the other cat knew better than to try to eat from Neko's autofeeder. It was hers!! I never worried if the other cat would get in her food, they were eating the same low carb food.

Oh boy, so I have been very harsh on his tummy. :(
Before he was diagnosed with diabetes I was giving small meals through out days. But once he was diagnosed with Vetsulin, first vet, insist that I only give him twice. It was soooooo hard for letting this poor always hungry guy only two times a day.
I should probably look for autofeeder for my two babies. Do you put low carb wet food on the auto feeder?
 
No wonder he is so hungry in the morning. Does he get small meals during the day? Or food only twice day?

I am so bad mommy! He used to get small meals through out days, but with vetsulin, previous vet insist me to give him only twice a day so It took such a long time to adjust. But I better get back to usual small meals through out days.

He is 13.7lb. But since he was so hungry, I have giving him more that he need /per his weight. Around 340 Kcal.
 
@+9 168

If PMPS is still 100s OR 200s, should I stay with 5 unit?

also succeeded giving antibiotic pills with pill pocket
 
Unfortunately, many vets still suggest only twice a day feeding. Feeding small meals, like you used to, is much better on their pancreas. We just suggest not to give carbs after the nadir, if you can. That's when the insulin effect is fading and any carbs make it wear off faster (lose duration) and you end up with higher preshots.

Stick with 5.0 units, it got you to blue, so hold at least 8 cycles.
 
Unfortunately, many vets still suggest only twice a day feeding. Feeding small meals, like you used to, is much better on their pancreas. We just suggest not to give carbs after the nadir, if you can. That's when the insulin effect is fading and any carbs make it wear off faster (lose duration) and you end up with higher preshots.

Stick with 5.0 units, it got you to blue, so hold at least 8 cycles.

I see. I will stick to 5 unit for at least 8 cycles.
If cat’s nadirs are around 3~6 hours later from Insulin, is it better after 6 hour ? Or before 3 hour?
I do pmps shoot in 8pm and give food together. So, I was planning to give portion of food on 12 am before I go to bed.
 
Ideally snacks should be before and at nadir, not so much after nadir. With Gumung just starting to see good numbers, it's hard to say what his typical nadirs will be. Now that he's getting into better numbers, it'll be easier to spot if he has a typical nadir time. If his nadir was at +6, you could feed at both +3 and +6. Although in Gumung's case, I might feed more like +2 and +6. Sometimes (like today), he takes big dives at onset. If you can feed him before he does those dives, you can slow the dives. Unfortunately big dives can also cause bounces, so it's good to try to slow them down if you can.
 
Back
Top