3/26 Gobbles PMPS 323 +4 316 +8 303

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=91742&p=983605#p983605

Gobbles is in a good mood this morning. Ate a little (though food was mostly gone from last night) and is camped out here in the LR with one of his toy mice. There was a small pee clump in LB and also a medium-sized lump of diarrhea (I assume it was from him but can check the trail camera if I need to). I missed the call from his vet last night (darn it!!) but the vet left a VM and said he would call be this morning. He started on the Amforol and Metronidazole this past Sunday at 1PM, so at 1 PM today it will be 48 hours that he's been on those 2 meds. I am concerned about the diarrhea; it was once yesterday early afternoon at 1:48 p.m.and then once early this morning at 1:31 a.m. (For those of you who wonder how I can be so precise with his "time of delivery"--the deer cam sees all...LOL!!!!

Should I still be giving Gobbles' the Metoclopramide (Reglan) syrup? I thought it is just for vomiting (the label says: Give 1ml..3x day as needed for vomiting) and he is not vomiting, so I didn't give it to him yesterday at all. I am confused as to if it is also an A/B and I should be giving it to him even if he isn't vomiting.

RAFFLE UPDATE: As of 3/25/13 at 10 p.m--
party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat $740 RAISED!!!! party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat

Our goal is $1,000 in ticket sales to raise money for FDMB! We are only $260 away!!! There are only 12 days left to get your ticket (ends 4/7/13). Please consider buying one soon. The tickets are so reasonably priced and the prizes are so awesome! You can buy one ticket for only $2, 3/$5, 7/$10, 15/$15 or 25/$20.

Direct link to FDMB BASKET RAFFLE FUNDRAISER for more information and ticket purchase. There are links in that post to see pictures of all the fabulous prizes: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=90614
 
Re: 3/26 Gobbles AMPS 458 ? Reglan

Sienne and Gabby said:
Reglan is not an antibiotic. It is a drug that slows gastric motility.
OK; thanks Sienne. That's what I thought. Since he is not vomiting, at all, since Sunday; I see no reason to give it to him. Eureka! The intelligence fairy just smacked me on the head: Just to get this straight then: The Amforal & Metronidazole are the antibiotics...???? I still have a few days till those are all gone.
 
Re: 3/26 Gobbles AMPS 458 +4 394 paitence pants...

BG high; decreased on 3/24 AM Cycle; so today's AM Cycle would be Cycle #5 on the dose decrease. I really don't like these high numbers for him, but last time I didn't wear the patience pants long enough (held only 4 Cycles), I increased by .25 and then he went so low for so many hours by the time he got his shot it was +22 and he was at 557.... Perhaps I should wear the patience pants for at least 8 Cycles (unless he breaks before that)?
 
Re: 3/26 Gobbles AMPS 458 +4 394 paitence pants...

Yep, we all have to get used to how those patience pants fit....the protocol does work, but we have to stick with it! I've actually found that Trix usually needs even more than 5 days to truly settle in to a dose. That was a recent discovery that really just happened by accident...I was extra busy and wasn't able to do the increase at the end of the 10th cycle. Lo and behold, a few days later, she really started working the dose and flattening out much better. Of course, though, it took me nearly 2 years to reach that realization ohmygod_smile :roll: !

And, of course, it's possible that Gobby's numbers are a bit high because of the meds, so really hold tight to those patience pants.

I totally don't know/understand/get the technical aspects of some of these meds, but if the Reglan slows digestive motility, wouldn't that help with the runs? If I remember correctly, I think there is another med (the name of which escapes me) that is for vomiting. So maybe Gobby does need the Reglan for another day or two? Like I said, I'm iffy on my knowledge here...but it could be something to think about and/or ask someone like Marje who really really knows all this stuff well.

Have a great day, Kat. Oh, and awesome numbers for the raffle :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT !
 
Re: 3/26 Gobbles AMPS 458 +4 394 paitence pants...

Hi Kat. Glad that Gobbles is feeling well and his appetite is good. I hope your vet can help you get his diarrhea stopped.

What a great idea...using a trail cam at the LB! We have 3 cats and we find ourselves taking turns on LB watch to see who did what. We actually only have to make a determination on two of the 3 most times because Katie, our NFC, NEVER buries her deposits. Good reason for a trip to Bass Pro Shop :lol: .

Congrats reaching the $740 (74%) mark with the raffle. Thank you for all the work you are doing.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 3/26 Gobbles AMPS 458 +4 394 paitence pants...

Amy&TrixieCat said:
Yep, we all have to get used to how those patience pants fit....the protocol does work, but we have to stick with it! I've actually found that Trix usually needs even more than 5 days to truly settle in to a dose. That was a recent discovery that really just happened by accident...I was extra busy and wasn't able to do the increase at the end of the 10th cycle. Lo and behold, a few days later, she really started working the dose and flattening out much better. Of course, though, it took me nearly 2 years to reach that realization ohmygod_smile :roll: !

And, of course, it's possible that Gobby's numbers are a bit high because of the meds, so really hold tight to those patience pants.

I totally don't know/understand/get the technical aspects of some of these meds, but if the Reglan slows digestive motility, wouldn't that help with the runs? If I remember correctly, I think there is another med (the name of which escapes me) that is for vomiting. So maybe Gobby does need the Reglan for another day or two? Like I said, I'm iffy on my knowledge here...but it could be something to think about and/or ask someone like Marje who really really knows all this stuff well.

Have a great day, Kat. Oh, and awesome numbers for the raffle :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT !
I noted his SS for the 8 cycle....the problem is, the patience pants either shrunk or I've gained a few pounds... :lol: Gobbles' vet called and said there is sugar in the reglan syrup, however, it leaves the system quicker but if he's not vomiting, to just not give it to him. He also said to finish out the A/B's and give them a few more days to work (and that if he is still having symptoms in 2 days--to give him a call. He also said to give him cypro as needed and just hold off on the denamarin until other meds are finished. As for probiotics--he suggested to get the fortiflora in him, even if I have to force it and that yogurt in addition to that (no more than 1 tsp) could be beneficial as well (he said there has been studies done that suggest using 2 or 3 different probiotics at the same time). So for now I'll follow that course of action. The fortiflora repels him, so I am going to go to the grocery store and get one of the stinkier varieties of LC, then mix the fortiflora in with it; I'm just not sure how much to use...will post a ? re: same in my subject line... Thanks for all your support and advice; I really appreciate it Amy :-D
 
Re: 3/26 Gobbles AMPS 458 +4 394 ? how much fortiflora

I'm going to sneak some fortiflora in Gobbles' food (hopefully he eats it)--getting ready to go to store and buying a few cans of the stinkier varieties of LC. How much fortiflora should I mix with 1 T. LC--maybe just a small pinch (approximately 1/4 tsp)? He will not eat the fortiflora willingly; tried that already. I don't want to try this with a larger amount of catfood, in case he hates it and thus I'd be wasting the fortiflora. I am also going to get some lowfat, plain yogurt and try that as well. The vet called and said I could use the 2 together, but to give just no more than 1 tsp. of the yogurt per day....
 
Re: 3/26 Gobbles AMPS 458 +4 394 paitence pants...

Frosty said:
Hi Kat. Glad that Gobbles is feeling well and his appetite is good. I hope your vet can help you get his diarrhea stopped.

What a great idea...using a trail cam at the LB! We have 3 cats and we find ourselves taking turns on LB watch to see who did what. We actually only have to make a determination on two of the 3 most times because Katie, our NFC, NEVER buries her deposits. Good reason for a trip to Bass Pro Shop :lol: .

Congrats reaching the $740 (74%) mark with the raffle. Thank you for all the work you are doing.

Have a great day.
I came up with the trail cam idea the other day when I knew "someone" had the squirts, had suspected it was Gobbles, but not knowing for sure as we have 3 cats here. Works like a charm! And pretty darn funny to watch (just for the heck of it, at Carl & Bob's suggestion, I posted a few of those pics...a little twisted, but flippin' hilarious...it's either in his 3/22 or 3/23 condo)! And a trip to Bass Pro Shop--I'm jealous as you must live nearby. Trail cams come in handy for so much! It is interesting to watch footage from it; not just deer, but other critters as well...raccoons are cool to watch on them.

The closest "real" outdoor store we have here would be Cabelas--which is about 1.75 hours away...we go there from time to time, but do most of our Cabelas/Bass Pro shopping online... Thanks for the paw on the back re: Raffle! Give yourself a paw on the back as well, as you are one of wonderful donators and am really promoting it with your posts :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/26 Gobbles AMPS 458 +4 394 ? how much fortiflora

I generally use 1/2 of a packet of the FortiFlora spread out over the AM meals and the remaining half packet spread out over the evening meals. If the FortiFlora repels Gobbles, you have other options. Pearls are pills. You can get them at most pharmacies. As long as you can pill Gobby, you'll be able to get the probiotic down or you can use a pill pocket, a hunk of chicken, etc. ReNew Ultimate is available at most Whole Foods in the refrigerated supplements section. It's a capsule -- you mix 1/3 of a capsule into food twice a day. It is a very potent probiotic -- more potent than FortiFlora.
 
Re: 3/26 Gobbles AMPS 458 +4 394 ? how much fortiflora

Sienne and Gabby said:
I generally use 1/2 of a packet of the FortiFlora spread out over the AM meals and the remaining half packet spread out over the evening meals. If the FortiFlora repels Gobbles, you have other options. Pearls are pills. You can get them at most pharmacies. As long as you can pill Gobby, you'll be able to get the probiotic down or you can use a pill pocket, a hunk of chicken, etc. ReNew Ultimate is available at most Whole Foods in the refrigerated supplements section. It's a capsule -- you mix 1/3 of a capsule into food twice a day. It is a very potent probiotic -- more potent than FortiFlora.
I put about 1/2 t. fortiflora in 2 T. of FFLC--he ate most of it. I offered yogurt--he sniffed it and walked away. I could probably get him to eat the yogurt, but it would have to be forced on him... I am going to get Pearls this week and look for the ReNew at GNC as I don't think we have a Whole Foods store nearby.
 
Re: 3/26 Gobbles AMPS 458 +4 394 ? how much fortiflora

FDMB BASKET RAFFLE FUNDRAISER - UPDATE!!!!

As of 3/26/13 at 4 p.m:

party_cat party_cat :RAHCAT $765 RAISED!!!! :RAHCAT party_cat party_cat

Our goal is $1,000 in ticket sales to raise money for FDMB! We are only $235 away!!! There are only 12 days left to get your ticket (ends 4/7/13). Please consider buying one soon. The tickets are so reasonably priced and the prizes are so awesome! You can buy one ticket for only $2, 3/$5, 7/$10, 15/$15 or 25/$20.
 
Re: 3/26 Gobbles PMPS 323

I hope Gobbles continues to get better with all the meds he is taking. I hope his appy stays good.
 
Re: 3/26 Gobbles PMPS 323

It's a shame Gobby doesn't like FortiFlora. Leo goes back and forth, but often just LOVES it. He hates to be pilled so it works for us. Cool Gobby decided to eat the yogurt AND the can of food! Good kitteh!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top