3/26 Daniel AMPS 129 +6 50 +11 125 Dose advice plz?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kurai & Daniel

Member Since 2011
Quick rundown since I haven't updated my sheet.

AMPS 129
50 @+6 Gave 3 small HC treats
55 @+6.5
56 @+6.75 little bit of LC food with small bit of syrup
55 @ +7
71 @+7.25
89 @+7.5
91 @+7.75 Puked
116 @ +8 little bit of LC food

I'm most concerned about him vomiting. I'm wondering if it was from the syrup in his food. I really need internet at home. I'm afraid you can't expect constant updates from me. I really want to get back home for +8.5 which is in 10 minutes.
 
Re: 3/26 Daniel AMPS 129 +6 50 +8 116 Help!

Thanks for the bump, running home to get +8.5, I will be back.

At least I'll get some exercise today.

I'd like to note he was a bit limp at +6. Acting normal other than not really curling as usual when I picked him up. He was very interested in food. No physical signs of Hypo at all.
 
Re: 3/26 Daniel AMPS 129 +6 50 +8 116 Help!

+8.5 120

Brought him back with me so I could be online and check on him at the same time.
 
Re: 3/26 Daniel AMPS 129 +6 50 +8 116 Help!

Hi....I don't think I have posted in your condo before.
You did great with Daniel. He was low but not dangerously low.

A couple of questions.
I saw a note in your ss that you shot an hour late last night. Did you shoot 12 hours from the time you shot last night or were your AMPS at the usual time?

What treats did you give Daniel at +6? Just curious because if it were dry food it takes longer for the food to get into the system.

It looks like he is in very safe numbers right now.
 
Re: 3/26 Daniel AMPS 129 +6 50 +8 116 Help!

Thanks Miriam. I was just worried that he would start dropping again after he puked up his food. He's kept the new food down so far. I'm guessing that the syrup didn't settle well with his tummy.

I gave him about 3 pounce dry treats. I know they are high carb. I was hoping I could just boost him a bit.

I did 12 hours from the last shot for AMPS, I didn't revert back to his regular time.
 
Re: 3/26 Daniel AMPS 129 +6 50 +8 116 Help!

Kurai & Daniel said:
Thanks Miriam. I was just worried that he would start dropping again after he puked up his food. He's kept the new food down so far. I'm guessing that the syrup didn't settle well with his tummy.

I gave him about 3 pounce dry treats. I know they are high carb. I was hoping I could just boost him a bit.

I did 12 hours from the last shot for AMPS, I didn't revert back to his regular time.


You did great....especially since you could not get input right away......it certainly would be easier with the internet but obviously you did your homework and read how to treat low numbers. :-D

There is always the chance that food can bring the numbers up temporarily only to have them drop again so it was good you kept up with the testing.

Do you have any HC food with gravy? The dry food will not bring him up very fast if he is low. It also stays in the system too long.
The syrup may have bothered him but what is often suggested when there is no hc gravy food or if a cat cannot tolerate the gravy.

As far as dosing tonight I am not sure Daniel will get a reduction but let's see what other's think. If you can please post your +11.

Also could you please remove the 911 so it won't look like you have an emergency now...thank you.
 
Re: 3/26 Daniel AMPS 129 +6 50 +8 116 Help!

Oh no problem! Sorry about that. I forgot to take the 911 off.

I really need to grab some gravy lovers FF from the store next time.

I'll definately post my +11. Thank you for your help.
 
Re: 3/26 Daniel AMPS 129 +6 50 +8 116

Thanks Celi and Binks!

+11 is 125 guys! I am off tonight and can be up with him. What do ya'll think, dosecrease? Should I stall a bit? I might be able to get back on after his dose, which is in about a half hour. But I won't be able to get online much after that.

Sorry it took me a bit to get back... I had to bury a baby bird ;-;
 
Re: 3/26 Daniel AMPS 129 +6 50 +8 116

I wasnt home all day but Just look at these numbers!!! You did a really great job & got some help, which is great!! He surfed the 50's!! JUst keep posting, asking questions, and do your best--
Just understand, that you are in control--you have lc, mc & hc foods, you have strips, you have a meter, karo strup, honey, or maple syrup--You are all set--BTW, Moonie likes that FF gravy lovers when she goes low & it works well..also FF elegant medleys are almost all mc or hc..
Hope you have a good evening--Good job today! :mrgreen:
 
I'm inclined to suggest you hold your current dose tonight. I just get this funny feeling that Daniel is going to drop tonight. If not, you can raise the dose in the AM.
 
Thanks guys :3

I just need to know whether he gets a dose decrease. The protocol says below 50 for new diabetics, but he didn't go below to my knowledge. It's actually time for his PM shot now. So I'll be heading home here in a minute.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
I'm inclined to suggest you hold your current dose tonight. I just get this funny feeling that Daniel is going to drop tonight. If not, you can raise the dose in the AM.
I hope you did NOT raise the dose this morning. (I assume that it was a typo and Sienne meant to say reduce the dose.)

A BG of 50 or below earns a DECREASE for newly diagnosed kitties. And you guys are brand-new.
I see that you don't have internet at home and I hope everything is ok for you today. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top