3/26 Charlie PMPS 268 +3 153 +6 62 +7 74 +8 76 +9 92

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
Hi guys,

After a drama packed evening last night, Charlie's numbers were back up during the daytime today (bounce?) and now she's starting to hit blues again.

For tonight, do you think I can go to bed now (quite exhausted from 2 nights of being awake with her)? Or do I need to test her again in an hour or so just to be sure.

Her number at +3 seems a bit higher than it was yesterday at this time.

Thanks for your input,
Jill

yesterday
 
Re: 3/26 Charlie AMPS 216 +5 277 +10 274 PMPS 268 +3 153

Please do a +4. Levemir's nadir onset is a around +4. I'm afraid you might have an active night ...ducks and runs.
 
3/26 Charlie AMPS 216 +5 277 +10 274 PMPS 268 +3 153 +6 62

Hi Dyana,

Didn't get your message before I went to bed. Set my alarm to test at +6.

Yesterday I was told that the nadir for levemir comes later (between +6 and +12) but that onset starts at +4.

I thought I was safe to wait and retest at +6 so I set my alarm.

She's currently in a theoretically safe zone, but I sort of wonder how this is making her feel. She didn't get up from her chair to greet me when I got up (was the same way a few nights ago). Breathing seems slightly rapid. Eyes look dilated. She looks wiped out completely.
 
3/26 Charlie AMPS 216 +5 277 +10 274 PMPS 268 +3 153 +6 62

Looks like her food dish had just opened before I got up, so she had already eaten her 2nd feeding just before 1am, and she's still only at 62.
Could .75 be a bit too much for her?
 
Re: 3/26 Charlie AMPS 216 +5 277 +10 274 PMPS 268 +3 153 +6

Right now the dose looks good, but time will tell.

I'm sorry I said the wrong thing before. I thought onset and typed nadir. I corrected the post. You're right onset is around +4, and I saw her going lower by +3 so thought she might have an active cycle tonight.

Levemir nadir is generally around +8 or so. So, you have a couple hours yet. If you are tired, I would go back to sleep and set my alarm for a +7. And give her a bite to eat, or she just ate?
 
Re: 3/26 Charlie AMPS 216 +5 277 +10 274 PMPS 268 +3 153 +6

She just ate. It's +6.5 right now at 1:30am. I will stay up for 30 mins, test her, and reassess, hopefully going back to bed, but knowing the way this week has been going, not sure.

Just saw from your SS that you've been doing this for 5 years with JD. Where does one get the energy to maintain all these sleepless nights?
 
Re: 3/26 Charlie AMPS 216 +5 277 +10 274 PMPS 268 +3 153 +6

actually I was just looking at Charlie's spreadsheet and thinking that she seems to really like this dose. It's great that she isn't bouncing much and has gotten back to green again already. I don't think it is too much yet, though you should be aware that sometimes once cats start to get such nice cycles back-to-back, their dosing needs might start to decrease soon. It might not be too long before she does need a reduction.
 
Re: 3/26 Charlie AMPS 216 +5 277 +10 274 PMPS 268 +3 153 +6

In general, thus far on levemir there are some good signs that I don't recall seeing on lantus with charlie:
- lower pre-shot numbers in general
- shorter bounces

Wasn't sure if that was just the insulin type that she was responding better to, or this specific dose? I wish I had those calipers people talk about. Then I could micro-dose and try out a skinny .75

I am concerned that i wont be able to stay awake with her like this every single night and sit with her each day to steer curves.

This coming weekend we will unfortunately be away again. A friend is staying at the house since the professional that we've hired the last 2 times away didn't succeed in giving tests or insulin (charlie will not let anyone get near her). So this weekend I guess she will get a dose decrease by default for the 2 days we're away. I hate leaving her without getting any insulin, but we need to go to Denmark for a family trip and cannot take the cat with us this time. It's a terrible feeling though because I can never leave her without feeling God awful and worrying non-stop. Plus we are making some progress so far so I hate to go backwards. Just gone Sat-Mon afternoon so she will get a shot sat morning and Mon night. Still, not ideal. :roll:
 
Re: 3/26 Charlie AMPS 216 +5 277 +10 274 PMPS 268 +3 153 +6

I think it's a combination of the insulin and the dose. She might have done the same eventually on Lantus too, but at this point it doesn't matter because you know Lev is working for her. :smile:

Once you're at a good dose of Levemir (or Lantus), the usual is that the cat will spend most of the cycle surfing. There would be a drop at onset, then hit a good number and stay around there for hours. Were you doing a lot of steering with food last night? Was it low carb or high carb? If she can surf on low carb that's good. If you start needing lots of carbs, then you need to start watching to see if a reduction is needed. If she is a good little surfer with her regular food, then you don't need to stay up all night every night, you just have to do it often enough to be confident in her patterns.
 
3/26 Charlie PMPS 268 +3 153 +6 +7 74 +8 76 +9 92

last night I steered with maple syrup and LC. I also tested non-stop (10 tests within that cycle alone) so by default she got lots of extra food via tuna treats that were not super small.

+7 = 74
+8 = 76
+9 = 92

Bedtime.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top