3/26 Cargo AMPS 304, 284@+3, PMPS 329

Mel and Cargo

Member Since 2020
Good morning!

Well, my high hopes that the asthma medication would fix Cargo are pretty much dashed at this point so I'm back to climbing the dosage latter. Does anyone have a problem with my upping him to 2u? Yes, he recently had nadirs under 100 to technically per TR I'm supposed to wait 10 cycles, but it seemed to have been a fluke and was a one off. These last few days he's been feeling hungrier and hungrier and I hate seeing him regress.

Thanks and I hope all kitties and beans are well!
 
Thank Karen and Sue! I probably waited too long, but I really thought his numbers would plummet when his asthma was under control. Rookie mistake! Ha!
 
Best of luck with the increase!:bighug: Sometimes you've gotta chase those high numbers for a while and stay on top of taking the increases when earned. I've done the chase with Butters a couple of times so far. I hope Cargo comes back down soon.
 
@Butters & Lyla Ok, so this is normal? To get really close and then have to chase? How long does it last? How high did Butters go?
Yes it happens to many kitties. When Butters had a particularly bad acute pancreatitis attack back in October, she was on 1u of insulin and we were seeing greens. I had to chase her from 1u all the way up to 4.25u before getting her back into good numbers again. Then she started going down the dosing ladder and currently we are at .75u.
So try to hang in there and don't focus on the amount of the dose. Focus on getting Cargo into those good numbers. Kitties need as much insulin as they need, and their needs can change.
 
Wishing you good success with the increase, Melinda and Cargo! I also have an asthmatic - what medications does Cargo take?

Hi Margaret! He's on a twice daily single puff of Flovent and then has Albuterol for attacks. Fortunately since he's been taking the Flovent better he hasn't had any attacks so that's been a huge relief for me, and I'm sure for him! In fact, he's not been puking quite as often either I just noticed! <anti-jynx>
How many puffs does Pearl take? Sorry if that's a stupid question - maybe 1 is the only option! :facepalm::D
 
Back
Top