3/26 Billie AMPS 201 +3.25 172 +6 82 PMPS 333

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Hello LLL!

Last condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-24-billie-pmps-221.135121/

Billie is doing pretty well - still holding strong with the flat cat theme, which is fine, because she has been mostly blue with some low yellow. I am going to hold this dose a little longer and see how she does. Her appy isn't great today, but it was pretty good yesterday. In the middle of the night after I posted my last condo about an exciting lack of diarrhea, she had some diarrhea, but I blame the beef. She's not used to eating beef, and I gave the beef FF a try that night. She had a lovely normal poo early this morning.

I am wondering if any kitties take multivitamins? Since switching to FF, Billie's appy has been much better, but her coat seems a little greasy/clumpy, not as fluffy and smooth as usual. I know that could be from her being sick if she is sick with underlying IBD or lymphoma, but I am also wondering if it could be from the food switch. She was eating Instinct before which had a lot more "enhancements" than the FF. I was looking at the multivitamin powder that Vitality Science offers and wondering about giving that a try, just to make sure she's getting the nutrients she needs. I'm curious if anyone has thoughts/experience with vitamins. This is the one I was looking at: http://www.vitalityscience.com/v/AllProducts/super-cat-food/feline-supplement.asp

Thinking of Rusty on his IM trip today, and sending lots of vines to all the other kitties and beans needing vines!!
 
One thing that might help in regard to supplements is Omega 3. Marje suggested Nordic Naturals, Wild Anchovy and Sardine Oil which didn't seem to bother Max when added to his food. I started very conservatively. I bought mine from Only Natural Pet and they have free shipping today. Another thing suggested by the vet on the lymphoma list is Cell Advance 440. The gelcaps seem big to me and I haven't tried it yet.
 
Thanks Elise and Marilyn! Adding Omega 3 makes sense. I'm not seeing any good Omega 3 source in the FF ingredients. The chicken flavor has "fish" but who knows what that means. The Instinct Billie used to eat had flaxseed.
 
I was told by my vet to get Omega 3 for Callie to help boost her immune system. Yay for normal poo this morning.
 
Thanks Carla! It sounds like Omega 3 is the way to go. I'll check out our holistic pet store tomorrow. Billie actually hit green today for the first time in weeks! 82 at +6. I had to head off to work but I had DBF check on her and encourage her to eat. I am assuming she didn't go much lower than the 82...then she bounced right back up. Normal poo in the litter box tonight too! Hooray for normal poo :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top